Malik 'engaged' to Indian girl

Re: Malik 'engaged' to Indian girl

...called "Moon" for his good looks?
Thats news to me.

:p

i heard in GEO TV program [AIK DIN GEO KAY SATH]
Shoaib Malik told that "Mera Nikkah (or Magni, I don't remember) ho chuka hai, larki Jeddah, Saudi Arabia may hoti hain"

Re: Malik ‘engaged’ to Indian girl

Cricket’s cross-border love story
By Omer Farooq
BBC News, Hyderabad

Malik remained in touch with Ayesha through the internet
At a time when the flowers of friendship between India and Pakistan are blooming, an unusual love story involving a Pakistani cricketer and an Indian girl has caught everybody by surprise.

When Pakistan’s cricket team arrives in Hyderabad next week for a practice match, it will be an extraordinary occasion for one member of the team.

This is because the bowler, Shoaib Malik, will be meeting his in-laws.

His wife is Ayesha (aka Maha Siddiqui) - a Hyderabadi girl brought up in Saudi Arabia. She is an administrator in a Jeddah school, and is currently doing an MBA course.

But the two are yet to be formally wedded as they had performed their nikah (marriage) nearly two years ago over the phone.

Accidental meeting

Ayesha told the BBC that the two had met for the first time in Dubai in 2000 where Shoaib had come as a member of a Pakistani team and she was there with her family shopping.

Ayesha recalled that they first met accidentally at a hotel where she had gone for a meal and had left behind her keys.

A young man came to return the key and he later turned out to be Shoaib.

The friendship which started with that meeting ended with nikah over the phone (which Islamic Shariah law permits) on 2 May 2002.

Families’ disbelief

Ayesha said a brother of her friend was a witness from her side and Shoaib’s brother-in-law and friends acted as witnesses from his side.

The nikah was performed when she was in Hyderabad and he was in his hometown Sialkot.

It was much later that Ayesha broke the news to her parents through her cousin and - after initial surprise and disbelief - the family gave the consent.

It was ditto in Sialkot and now both the families are getting ready for a formal wedding in August after Ayesha is settled down in Pakistan.

This is a conspiracy to supress a budding talant by a ‘wedlock’ phanda,:smack2:
15 degrees angle rule was not good enough,:bukbuk:

Best wishes and Good luck to the couple.

this is ooooooooold news :stuck_out_tongue:
anywayz ppl thanx for remembering me :smiley:

Nikema Bhai :bailan:

Bhai bhol kar bilkul Nikema kar diya uss ko. :smiley:

^^:hehe:

its the turn of afridi now as another india girl is waiting:D

shivangi, tumhara kya kiya jaaye :frusty:

Humara Afridi bechara happily married hai :bummer:

Afridi ki girl - fans ko ban kar diya jaye :smiley:

** No hiding under my desk **

Being called moon for your good looks
hahah how random is that
PS for anybody who is interested it looks like Malik has been ok'd to bowl off spinners only, no doosra or top spinner so I dont think he will be allowed to bowl in the upcoming ODI series
I suspect he will play as a speacilist batsman - Most likely as an openor

I’ll ask afridi and tell ya all.well afridi wont mind having me as second wife nither do i.well well well jab miyan biwi raaji to kya karega kazi:D

:mad: dont even think of it.then afridi will stop playing for pakistan and i mean it:D

Cricket diplomacy goes further as Pakistan star weds Indian](http://news.independent.co.uk/world/asia/story.jsp?story=624461)
By Justin Huggler in Delhi

29 March 2005

With Pakistan’s cricket team touring India, Pakistani fans staying at Indians’ homes for free, and Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf due in Delhi to watch one of the matches, the subcontinent is abuzz with talk of cricket diplomacy. But one Pakistani cricketer appears to have taken it further than everyone else - he has married an Indian woman.

Yet the story of the Pakistan off-spinner Shoaib Malik’s marriage to Maha Siddiqui reads more like a south Asian Romeo and Juliet. The two married in secret almost three years ago, because they were afraid that Maha’s nationalist parents would not allow her to marry a Pakistani. So fraught is the issue of cross-border marriage that the two recited their wedding vows to each other down a phone line, which is allowed in Islamic marriages. Malik was in his home town of Sialkot in Pakistan, while his wife was at her home in Hyderabad in India. Each had witnesses standing by the phone.

But there is a happy ending. Next week, when the Pakistani cricket team travels to Hyderabad for a practice match, Malik will meet his parents-in-law for the first time. Kept in the dark about the marriage for almost a year, they have finally given their consent. Although the couple are already married, they are planning on throwing the lavish wedding ceremony they missed out on, and are leaving for Pakistan together as soon as the cricket tour is over.

Their story tells a lot about the difficulties young Indians and Pakistanis can face if they want to marry across the divide between the countries - and the extent to which politics enters everything where India and Pakistan’s troubled relationship is concerned.

Although arranged marriages across the border are not unheard of, because of the extended families that live on both sides love matches are rare, simply because it’s so difficult for Indians and Pakistanis to meet each other.

Only those with genuine business across the border or relatives to visit usually get visas - and thousands of Pakistanis have taken advantage of visas to watch the cricket just to get a glimpse of India.

Malik and his wife met because she was living outside India at the time, in Saudi Arabia, where she was working as an administrator at a school in Jeddah. The Gulf has a huge population of expatriate south Asian workers there on short-term visas, and gives Indians, Pakistanis and Bangladeshis a rare opportunity to mingle.

Ms Siddiqui travelled to neighbouring Dubai in the United Arab Emirates with friends for a shopping festival, and the Pakistan cricket team happened to be in the country at the same time for a tournament. The hotels in Dubai were full so Ms Siddiqui and her friends went to stay in Sharjah - where the cricket competition was being held - and ended up in the same hotel as the Pakistan cricket team.

“One day, my friends and I had just finished our meal at the hotel coffee shop and as we were leaving he came up to me with a room key that we had left behind,” Ms Siddiqui told the Indian press. AlthoughMalik was already becoming instantly recognisable to millions of south Asian cricket fans, Ms Siddiqui did not know who he was. “I was quite rude actually,” she said. “I thought he was trying to get to know us.” But the two started talking over the hotel’s internal phone, and when she returned to Saudi Arabia, kept in touch over the internet. Eventually they decided to get married, but Ms Siddiqui kept the marriage secret from her parents.

“My father is very pro-India and he always believed that we should marry Indians,” she said. “Shoaib said: ‘Let’s get married and make everything legal first. Then you can tell them.’ His parents knew about it though, and they were fine with it.” Because marriage is a contract between two people and not a sacrament in Islam, they were able to make their wedding vows over the phone. Eventually, with the media full of stories about Malik’s Indian wife, whose identity remained a secret, Ms Siddiqui decided she would have to tell her parents - but got her cousin to break the news while she was away in Saudi Arabia.To her surprise, they accepted the marriage.

**Now Ms Siddiqui’s only problem is which cricket team to support. “I am very pro-India,” she says, but adds: “If Shoaib is playing I want Pakistan to win as he is so passionate about his game. Otherwise India.” ** :biggthumb

================================================

main tu piya ki thi
piya ki rahoon ge
main tu sada apney pia ke rahoon gee :slight_smile:

awwww !

mailk sahib having fun…allah ussay happy rakhay

Malik attends feast hosted by in-laws

From our correspondent

HYDERABAD, India: For Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Malik and Indian girl Aisha Siddiqi it was love at first sight when they met for the first time in Dubai in 2000. It was an unusual bond that took place between a Punjabi from Sialkot and a Hyderabadi girl.

But it was not for the first time that a Pakistani cricketer had fallen for an Indian girl as the 23-year-old Malik was simply following in the footsteps of his peers Zaheer Abbas and Mohsin Khan and countless other untold episodes of a union between two nationalities.

After their first meeting the two youngsters decided to enter into Nikah on April 2, 2003 but the hectic lifestyle of particularly Malik has kept the Rukhsati on hold since then. “It has been a long time since the Nikah and we both feel it is time to settle down. But she is a dentist and I am settling down as a member of the Pakistan team,” Malik said on Wednesday.

The shy and soft spoken Malik rarely speaks about his Nikah to Aisha with whom he keeps in touch on phone and the internet almost everyday. On Tuesday night he and his Pakistani teammates were the guests of honor at the house of his father-in-law Ahmed Siddiqi at Bunjori Hills in Hyderabad, the hometown of Aisha. The entire Pakistan team mingled with some 50 members of Malik’s Susraal and enjoyed some spicy and traditional Hyderabadi dishes.

“We are now planning to have the Rukhsati sometime in August this year but a date has to be finalised,” Malik confirmed but was willing to give out no further details.

omg its true :smiley:
i saw the news on TV yesterday gosh :hehe:

If he doesn't play well in this series against India he should go and start living in India.

Rona bhai rona.