Re: making chapatis
ok, i have finally accomplished the art of making round rotis, but WHY my rotis are like rubber :S so as to speak
Korn, two things might be affecting the roti :
1- Are you using very fine milled flour? which is more like maida ?
When the flour is very fine and maida-like … the roti’s come out like rubber … normally what i do when that happens is , that I buy a heavy bran flour … and mix it in the aata … that way the rubbery feel of the roti goes away. The finer the ata , the more rubbery the roti gets …
2- If you aata is finely milled, then if you goondo is too much , the dough texture feels like rubber ! so you have to knead it lesser then the usual aata ![]()
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
its veryyyyyyyyyyyyy fine, thats why its like rubber, acha to ye baat hai
chalo ab kum goodhoun gi aata mein
CB ur great
my roti is never round ... my paira is round lyk a tennis ball ... but the roti is dodgy ... help me
Korn ![]()
Rabzzz , if your paira is round and has no cracks then do this :
press the paira flat using a balanced hand … then hold it in your hands , and using your thumb and index finger start rotating and pressing the corners … do this for a minute … finally lay it down and start rolling it out .. when you roll it out, try making one large sweep rather then small sweeps …
A larger sweep creates balance in the roti shape… smaller sweeps just leave the roti thicker in some places , thinner in the other and the shape can get out of control.
Plus keep an eye, on the roti shape.. with the first one or two sweeps the roti should turn oval … then when you flip it , start in the middle and give a sweep until the roti is round.
Let me know if you have questions ![]()