Loudspeakers For Adhaan: An Unneccesary Annoyance

:bism:and

:salam2:

And the best thing that I adored about loudspeakers was, when we would be awoken about four to five hours before the Sehri time… Roza daro, sehri ka time khatam honay mein 5 ghantay 1 minute baqi hay, sehri ki tayyari keni shuroo kar do…I mean it would come in so very useful to those who would be like suffering from illnesses that would have fatgued them out…like MS or Hypothyroidism or Myasthenia Gravis…they would all get plenty of time by this early morning call…time say sehri bhee tayyar…exams kay liyay book ki revision bhi time say ho jati thee…

Conclusion: …

Sunnenay aur samajhnay mein bara farqa hay ji
:wink:

:juggle:

Re: Loudspeakers For Adhaan: An Unneccesary Annoyance

There should be only one azdan in a given area. The problem that exists before the azdan is the idea that there are two or more masajid trying to grab the locals.

Voice will be loud also if done from a minaar and the distance the voice carries should be the limits for that masjid and it should be big enough to accomodate the people.

If loud speakers are used then the masjid should be big enough to accomodate the area the sound covers, but we see some masajid in Pakistan where the speakers are bigger than the prayer area (exaggeration) .... lol

Don't think it is mosque loud speaker problem only, though it plays a big part in the overall problem of "noise pollution".

Those of you who are settled in the West are keenly aware of "noise laws/ordinances" in residential areas. These laws set the limits on the maximum noise that can come from any source. Thus between certain hours of night (and in some cases days), your neighbor cannot play very loud music , or cars cannot honk their horn, or airplanes cannot fly too low etc etc.

Us poor folks however belong to "developing world", where such laws may be on the books but nobody cares. Thus we have mosque loud speakers, cars, iscooters, motorcycles, mini vans etc are all competing with each other to see who can cross highest level of noise.

Noise pollution not only disrupts sleep, but also raises blood pressure, and messes up with ear drums. It impacts every age group even though younger people may be able to tolerate higher noise level a bit more than older people.

The original poster or his granny have a right to peaceful existence. However it is too much to expect from bunch of uncouth tribals who also carry religious powers.

Thankyou to those who agree with my viewss.

To the rest of you, well what can I say... If this is the response I'm getting from educated Pakistanis, I can't expect any better from the uneducated sheepherds of Punjab and Pashtunkhwa, God help us.

I'm not saying loudspeaker in itself is bid'ah, it becomes a bid'ah only when the Mullah's insist it is a Farz Rukn of Azan. Like someone said, one Adhaan given through the loudspeaker might be managable but nowadays Deendaari is Dukaandari (religion is bussiness), every Mullah has his own "dedh inch ki masjid" and they compete.

I agree with the person who said civilised countries have limits on noise pollution, we could do with that here. I agree with the blood pressure thing, Maghrib is a depressing time anyway and when all the Muezzins start screaming at the top of their lungs I have to grit my teeth.

There's this Mullah who likes to read Qur'aan, Naats, Khutbahs on the loudspeakers at night, it's soo annoying. Molvis can sleep during the day (Qehloola) because they fill their big bellies for free, atleast let the rest of us who earn Halaal Rizq by working on farms and in offices rest at night.

To the person who said there's more noise nowadays so we need loudspeakers, I don't agree, the answer is not to create more noise pollution in return, we have clocks, watches and timetables in every house. The Muezzin simply has a duty to maintain the ritual of Azaan, it will reach a natural distance, further than that people can use clocks and timetables, no need to give high blood pressure and burst ear drums of those closer to the Mosque.

The problem with our people is they'll defend and let everything go on in the name of their religion even if it's actually against the principles of that religion, anyone who questions such practices gets shutted up by the crusaders.

Whether it's Naarra-Khol Peers, bombers, money grabbing-Mullahs or loudspeakers, our ppl are too brainwashed to oppose them.

When I visit Muslim countries I love hearing the adhan on loudspeaker from the neighbourhood msoques! Especially at Fajr time, its so peaceful and uplifting. Even non-Muslims I know who visit Muslim countries say what a beautiful experience is it.

Well I pray to The Almighty that your mother or grandmother develop the same medical condition as my grandmother then we'll see how humerous the ear-plugs suggestion is. :)

Even non-Muslims I know who visit Muslim countries say what a beautiful experience is it.

We had a Brit visiting us, may Allaah forgive me for repeating what he said, "it sounds like the howling of wolves", he wasn't being disrespectful because dogs are not considered a filthy thing in their culture but we felt offended even though it does actually set of my aunty's dog howling.

If it was only one Adhaan in every area from the loudspeaker then it'd be manageable, it would be nice and act as Da'wah if it was in a melodious voice but the voices of the Muezzins in my village are strained and balghum-filled.

Even our Mosque Imam agrees with me, and he's a Deobandi-Hanafi-Sunni-Muslim scholar.

I've also seen a net Fatwa website run by an Arab Salafi(Ahle Hadees in Pk)-Sunni scholar say that the use of loudspeakers is not neccesary.

If not outlaw loudspeakers all together then atleast there should be a limit on the volume of the loudspeakers so that only one Adhaan can be heard in any one given area.

Or maybe only the main Jame'ah Masjid in every village, town, city or locality should be allowed to use loudspeakers, but then every Mosque in my village however small claims to be a Jami'ah Masjid.

Peace burqaposhx

Your post was going fine until you blamed all the noise problems on a section of the people you call uncouth tribals who carry religious powers. The secular politicians make enough noise also and the irreligious music listeners too as you mentioned, but didn't quite follow through.

The difference in the 'noise' of azdan is that it is harmony for the soul. It awakens it with a wisp of a reminder of our purpose in this world and the reason why some people may dislike it is because they have not conditioned their hearts to accept it. The problem I have with loud azdan is not that it loud rather many are out of tune and they seem to compete with one another and start about the same time. There needs to be some sort of law on ONE AZDAN per auditory catchment area.

Psyah,

You have to realize that burqa cannot formulate a bad argument without the use of the word "tribal".

Nosherwan Bhai…you raised a very important Issue…

and there is a “VERY SIMPLE SOLUTION”

This problem can be completely eliminated…:slight_smile:

All azan should be on FM radio…:k:

and only Vocal sound Azzan with no amplification be allowed in the Masajid!

all those who want to listen to broadcast azan because they live far from Mosque can keep their FM radio’s on and that way no one gets Loudspeaker noise in any neighborhood…simple

We should fight technolgy with technology instead of calling each other names..

Now who will let our Govts know their is a simple solution? :desia:

Akhy/ukhty that is a wonderful idea but impractical, you can't be partial to one Mosque or the rest of the Mullah Hazraat will start moaning and crying and blame the chosen Mosque for being a goverment agent.

One of the main reasons I don't like Adhaan on loudspeaker is BAYHURMATI, because between them they last a good 15 minutes and I don't like to do anything disrespectful (music, sex, toilet) whilst I'm hearing Allaah's name being mentioned.

Adhaan should be given from a Mosque or Mussalla at a natural volume (not amplified a million times).

It is also BAYHURMATI to give it on TV or Radio, I'm very sinful myself but I respect my religion and don't like it mixing with Fahaashat, just hate it when they play a pop song then Aadhaan and Durood and then some Tawaaif starts dancing right after it. Adhaan belongs to the Mosque not to the Kanjarkhaneh (TV/Radio)

That's another thing I hate, I hate it when Allaah's holy words are mixed with Naach Gaana (singing and dancing). So big NO! to TV/Radio Adhaan.

The other day Tilaawat was going on over loudspeaker because it was some kid's Khatam, some boys in the street had bhangra or nazia iqbal songs playing on their phones, I told them to turn it off, they said "yara these Mullah's never shut up so we can't". Now dats wrong but the loudspeaker is responsible for making ppl more gunehgar.

Good point. In the Gulf they have synchronised all the masjids to have azaan at the same time. So the azaan is only given at the central mosque and the rest of the mosques in the entire city are hardwired to it. Problem solved..

i kindof agree with the poster, not about azaan but about the other stuff, like naats, tilawat, azadari on loudspeaker. it is very annoying, not to mention disrespectful.

it has to do with the ostentatious nature of some people, who wish to practice a very public religion, for what might be, one suspects, the wrong reasons. These are the people who put naats/qurani ayaat on their mobile phones as ringtones and whatever it is u call it now in pakistan when you call someone up and instead of a dial tone you hear a naat.

we get it. you're up at 3 am and you you wish to praise the Prophet. Allah doesnt need a loudspeaker to hear you.