Lobster

why would anyone eat or drink anything really?

refer to my earlier post about what was teh guy thinking who was the first to drink cow/goat milk ...and also what was the cow/goat thinking.

Like NYAhmadi said, it's a delicacy food. I guess unlike staple foods like rice, wheat etc., delicacy food is something that if people don't find it abhoring, disgusting, and on top of that if it taste good to them, they will go for it regardless of what others think of it.

Ok, this one is interesting, I heard this from a colleague of mine.

Apparently, there is this guy who lives in CA and he's travelled all around the world. He wrote a book on different kind of foods he had been severed with in different parts of the world. He had a radio station interview recently in which he recalled the most unusuall meal he had.

He was visiting a tribe in some pacific rim country and he was served with this weird dish which was basically a bowl of thick, dense soup that looked like boiled mud. When he tasted it, it kinda tasted even more weird. He noticed these dumplings in the soup and wondered what it was. Anyhow, he inquired the people what was the soup made of. It was revealed to him then that that soup was actually animal boiled blood (cow or goat, I don't remember), and those dumplings were blood clots.

Obviously, those people considered boiled animal blood to be quite popular and tasty dish that they liked to treat their guest with it!

I don't know if anyone explained this..but if you kill the lobster and boil it..the meat isn't that good..the meat stays much more tender when boiled alive.

Ok, a thought comes to mind. How would it be like when people started eating Lobster?

I mean not only people looked at the thing and the thought crossed their mind 'hmmm, looks something edible', but also in early attempts they must have tried to eat it without boiling it alive and there must have been cases of sickness/food-poisoning from it. But they still persued to find a way to pervent the food poisoning??? Why???

I mean, you try something couple of times, it makes you sick, you don't try it anymore... forget about it, you know. 'Aur bhi seafood hai zamanay meiN lobster kay siwa'. But no, they had to come up with the ingenuity to boil it alive to finally be able to eat it. I say that's heck a lot of persistence right there.

Roman

I think it must be some earlier version of the "politics" or "religion" section regulars here... some of them have that "murghay ki aik taang" approach...and just dont back off or give up no matter what :>

It was that same sort of spirit that is responsible for the lobster's fate.

speaking of seafood...anyone tried crawfish. ugly as heck but is tasty.

Kashmirigirl
dinn you read what i just said..

if you don;t boil the lobster alive you are going to get toxins in your body which would either give a very upset stomach, food poisoning or even hospitalization..

so don;t even try killing the lobster then boiling it.

This has got to be one of the most nostalgic posts I've read on this forum... even though I've never been to lahore, it's nice to know that there are people out there with fond memories of the pakland... sniffle, I love you guyss!!!

Anyhoooo, all this talk of food is making me really hungry and it really sucks that I have to eat a miserable sandwich for lunch. I wish I could cook all the above mentioned, it's actually making my mouth water, but realistically, the only thing I CAN throw together is a good Unday kaa khagheenaa... I guess I'll do that tonight, it will blow my begum's mind.

OK, i'm gonna go munch on some lunch.

so ummmmm what was the verdict?

anyways, this chapta told me today that they have something like lobster qeema that they eat. anyone else heard that?

ahhhhh Lobster :slight_smile:

btw i have never never eaten a boiled lobster

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/mad.gif

dad used to bring two lobsters once a month i remember they used to sit out in a bucket filled with water with their poor hands tied

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/frown.gif

kher then on the weekend he used to sit with the live lobsters and clean them

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/confused.gif

since my mother runs a mile away from any seafood …
so my job was to create the masala that is fry onions add tomatoes green chillies and coriander along with namak mirch and haldi and just stir the lobster meat for five min and nosh farma with tandoori naans and raita :slight_smile:

–<–@ In Life there are no problems, only solutions waiting to be found @–>–

Anchal,

Do you mean to say that you guys used to 'kill' the lobster before cooking it instead of boiling it live? How did you use to 'kill ' it?

In regards to blackzero's response, you never got sick?

Roman dad just used to twist the body and that used to do the trick no boiling it or anything and never got sick :)

--<--@ In Life there are no problems, only solutions waiting to be found @-->--

anchal your dadwsqueezed them like a laundred towel? maybe it was to get water out of them...

allright, boiled alive vs being twisted to death, how would the lobster like to go?

Fraudz i am a little weak at heart so i avoided the killing the lobster part
i just got the white meat and cooked it in a desi style

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/biggrin.gif

i will ask him and let you know he is a big seafood fan

desi style?

lobster qorma?
lobster qeema?
lobstr bharra karelay?
lobster pulao?
lobster ki bhaji?
lobster samosa?
karahi lobster?

?????

hahah

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/biggrin.gif

actually no
just like prwan masala
its called lobster masla :slight_smile:

Ok, another point to ponder here. How would you grab a lobster and simply twist it to kill it? Does its skull/shell makes any noise when you twist it?

What kind of noise would that be?