KSE's frequent orgasms !

Re: KSE's frequent orgasms !

Currently tou its in its Bearish mood :)

8353 ... So... Lets hope Soon.. BULL will Dominate the BEAR ;)

Re: KSE’s frequent orgasms !

rotfl

i think the OUCH phase has started now :smiley:

Just heard it on GEO.....there is a riot ensuing outside KSE due to the market crashing.....in excess of 2000 points....

:eek:

yeh tau hauna hi tha lekin is dafa da impact was more on sum of da barray barray investorz frm panjab then chautay mautay ppl like us :smiley: , i hv heard FNEL sold 25 million sharez of OGDC 2 AKD @ 130 :eek: let’s c yeh rumor kya asar dikhati hay :smiley:
n let’s hope k da decision of revivin group accounts wipes out sum of da tearz

Is it not something like a 26-27% decline from the highs? This is not a correction, this is a mini crash. People hoping for a rebound are most probably retail investors which will be left holding the bag while the institutions bail out and lock some profits.

IMHO this is just the ibteda e ishque, more heartaches to come as people will try and average down their losses.

that not humour sis that private matter kahir
130 to odgc ho gaa he cuz muj ko jo layeenay haan :smiley:
INSHALLAH i will buy @around 120.. figure :smiley:
just pray PTC 65 ho gaye phir to :bhangra:

the mini crash word is not appropiate as my view u rise the market from 5000 to10556.67 without correction if the market now down 2000 to 3000 pints that geniun correction as SECP (ICAP) director said :wink:

Pewasta Resh Shajar Se Umeede Bahaar Rakh... :D

Bacha... Stable HO jayegi Market... JOGI BAWA WALA ICON

I agree

Went down again, almost back to where it started from and you call this a correction?

yaa some where but i see more gap in ogdc psso pol etc
i think its goes down 2 or 3 days more

exactly. It was very evident from the speculative buying prior to the sell-off that people dont really understand market mechanisms. i guess no one knew that stocks would be halted each day if the price drops by a certain percentage. All those who were buying a ticket to the moon are now itching to sell at any cost. The first two to three days they were even lured into this being a buying opportunity, not understanding that the chain reaction has begun. I see more than just 2/3 days of selling, unless of course some steps are taken at the official level by some organized buying to turn the tide. if not I just see more heartaches.

For people who hold good companies, I will advise them to hold on if they are in the red. The excellent yields offered bu pakistani stocks will surely payoff in the long run.

defenetly those who have power of delivery of shares they will earn more as they think but hose who havent power they have no place now a days really … i saw the people who were and r crying
they deposite 5lack and made lose of 25 and more lose ALLAh help all those kahir
its market and any thing is fair in stock market :smiley:

Several words that dont fit into the current situation...."index, market, investor, trader, economy"

The people who lost out in this market backlash deserved it 110%, dare I say. All those working wiht borrowed money never let out a voice when the market climbed from 8000 to 10000 in a matter of days, yet they are smashing car windows, now that the reverse is happening. Theyd be stupid if they didnt see this coming. Gamblers roamed the exchange over the past couple of months, and yesterday, on a sunday of all days, the KSE had a 10 hour badla session, only to bailout these idiots.

I would personally like the market to fall another 1000 points or so, but unfortunately, what that would mean is offloading of a lot more prized stocks for people, apart from the gambled assets, which would constitute a short term crash.

Now after such a big jolt, the board is thinking of abolishing COT, something which should have never been started to begin with.

Bottom line, do not watch the market right now. There is none to speak of. Wait till it settles down completely. And yes, if you have access to funds, this is a great time to invest in some of the sleeper stocks, that have gone down a lot in the past few days because of massive sales that gamblers did in order to cover up their margin calls. So grab up as many big names as you can.

Hi and Salamz to all.

I've been reading this thread for a few days now, after coming across it at random. Was searching for a decent forum to chat about the mkt. Google pronounced 'kse's frequent orgasms' and here I am. :)

I made my first trade when I was 17 years old. My 'eidi' and pocket money savings went into Hubco. :) I'm a doctor by profession now, but over the years I've spent a lot of time delving into the KSE. The rise to 10500 was obviously a mix or manipulation, greed, speculation and some more manipulation aided by some distant light of fundamentals and growth in certain sectors as well as the current fav word for investors, 'privatization'. I agree with Akif. Anyone who was stupid enough to buy anything when the mkt was at 10000 plus deserved to get burnt. In a mkt that defies most technical analysis and sometimes even basic fundamentals, I followed a simple RSI calc. after the mkt crossed 9000 pts. I sold everything I had at 10200 pts. and even made some short sales. The mkt went to 10510 the same day then crashed. But it was so obvious that it would, that I had to scream literally to the traders at Arif Habib and a couple of other brokerages where I do most of my trading, to sell for the love of God. Allah ka shukar hai, i did when i did. I'm one of three people who actually made a profit there. And now i'm asked almost everyday ke who gives me tips :P

Day traders always lose money, so the old adage says. But I disagree. I only lost money once, in 2003 when a bomb blast sent the mkt reeling for a couple of days and my broker couldnt get in touch with me as I was hospitalized. I believe that day traders by and large but especially at the KSE lose in the long run because they do not suppress impulse in favour of honing instinct.

I started buying KAPCO, HUBC, TRG, KESC, PPTA and a few others because I feel dividend yields ranging from 11% to 16% cannot be a losing proposition by any stretch of bearish imagination. Lets see.

Good to read about your experience Savant. Do you trade on KSE only or other exchanges as well. if so, which ones? I am also a day trader but mainly on the UK and US markets.

Hi ehsan.

I tried using e*trade uk to trade cfd's (nasdaq, ftse) for a while, but havent gotten into it full fledged, for lack of time and reliable internet speeds. I'm in Karachi but am scheduled to leave for the U.S. come June. Perhaps will look that side up then. Bought Rinker in the U.S. last year (a friend on Wall St. swore by it, and made a decent profit on it too) and used e*trade to get into Amazon when they were about to announce their results (bought at $40, got out at $43, took less than a two days). Being solicited now by e*trade and refco to start fx trading but thats just scary for me right now. What abt you? Where do you see the mkt heading, and the dollar?

finaly the SE starts moving, it went up 145 today.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/GC30Df03.html

**The scandal behind Pakistan’s raging bull run
***By Syed Saleem Shahzad and Masood Anwar *

KARACHI - A small group of players in the Karachi Stock Exchange (KSE) have raked in Rs3.5 trillion (US$5.83 billion), engineering another huge stock-market scam in Pakistan.

The 100-companies index of the KSE started going up from the first day of the new calendar year, without any perceptible reason, moving from 6,218 points to touch a high of 10,300 points on March 15 - adding more than 4,000 points in just two-and-a-half months.

Blue chip Oil Gas Development Corp (OGDC) was the star draw in the market, contributing 60% of that phenomenal increase. According to market experts, the real index figure for the KSE should be about 5,500 points.

The market has been so heated that trading volumes hit a new record of 6.8 billion shares, generating millions of rupees for the brokerage houses daily. The brokerage fee to sell one share is Rs0.50, and to buy, Rs0.15. The brokers thus earned Rs4.42 billion in just one day, March 14. This had been going on for months without any intervention by any government body, including the Security Exchange Co - supposedly the watchdog authority for Pakistan’s bourses.
According to information on the KSE website - which, incidentally, was last updated on January 31 - the average daily turnover of shares stood at 640.47 million before frenzy set in and volumes began to be quoted in the billions. After the bubble burst, the trading volume dropped to 108.520 million shares on Friday.

There are 200 registered brokers in the KSE, with 156 active ones. But only a handful of them were the main beneficiaries of this game. Pakistan’s economic managers, in fact, encouraged one of the top brokers - among the three bigwigs who monopolize 90% of KSE business - to pump some life into the stock market to ramp it up for luring foreign investors. These economic spin doctors have been trying to conjure up a picture of prosperity in Pakistan, citing rapid gains in real estate, overflowing foreign exchange reserves and an hyperactive stock market.

“This is nothing but asset inflation,” columnist Farukh Saleem wrote in The News International, well before the stocks headed back to their real levels. “To be sure, Pakistan’s asset inflation has at least three of the most critical ingredients: rapid accumulation of foreign exchange reserves, high bank liquidity and low interest rates. What’s missing is export growth. In the case of Japan - followed by South Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thailand and Singapore - foreign-exchange buildup was export-driven. Our foreign-exchange buildup, on the other hand, is not export-driven but, perhaps, fear-driven (Pakistanis sending money back),” wrote Saleem.

Predicting that the economic bubble would burst, he asserted, “In Pakistan, two precursors to asset inflation (high price of land and stocks) are already changing direction. First, home remittances that came in at $382 million in January 2004 dropped to $321 million in January 2005. That amounts to a drop of 16%; not a major drop, but a change in direction nevertheless. Second, interest rates are now on their way up. In June 2001, the average weighted lending rate was 13.74%. By March 2004, the same had dropped to 4.69%, but has since gone through a nearly 100% upward movement … Nikkei kept on rallying for a decade, while the bubble at Nasdaq burst in two years. For the record, the rally at the Karachi Stock Exchange is less than three years old … Bubbles go higher than most expect them to and when they burst, they go lower than most anticipate.”
According to Saleem, the pseudo-hype in the stock market did achieve its goal, as it helped Pakistan to lure several Persian Gulf and Saudi companies that signed investment contracts with the government. But the bull run, artificial as it was, was obviously unsustainable, and the bubble burst with a vengeance, hurting small investors the most.

To raise money, brokerage houses recruited smart girls for marketing purposes and assigned them to look for people desperate to get rich quick. The main target for these girls were the women residing in Karachi’s posh areas, such as Clifton, the Defense Housing Authority and Gulshan-e-Iqbal. The girls would first call up these women up, meet them and convince them to invest their money in the brokerage houses for quick returns. As share prices kept breaching new highs, it was not a particularly hard thing to do. By February, these “investors” were earning thousands of rupees a day, bringing in more gullible enthusiasts.

But with the beginning of the second half of March, the market began to creak; the artificial steam was no longer able to hold up the fancy figures. The last straw was the exposure of brokers and investors in OGDC shares far above their availability. Only 5% of OGDC shares (107.5 million) were off-loaded by the government in November 2003. But by March 14, the trading volume of OGDC was 180.455. The next day, 167.773 million shares of the same chip were sold.

By then the settlement for the March contract was due and sellers were under pressure to deliver the shares, but of course there was no sign of them. Failure to deliver shares entails a 20% penalty. So investors now had to pay out millions of rupees to settle the account. To ease the pressure, the KSE board of directors increased the settlement date by one week. The KSE has Rs30 billion as outstanding in March trading. Since the trade is two-way - sale and purchase - the amount doubles to Rs60 billion while the bourse holds only Rs18 billion in exposure from its members. Clearly, a disaster is in the making.

This scam could adversely impact the off-loading of the United Bank Ltd and the State Life Insurance Corp, shares that the government has scheduled in June. The question is, will the government take any action against the people who played havoc in the bourses?

*Syed Saleem Shahzad is Bureau Chief, Pakistan, Asia Times Online. *