Re: Khichri
i notice in most of the above posted pictures of khichri that the rice are intact .. I thought they are cooked until they mesh well with the daal , is that not the case? ![]()
khichRii cooked this way is called** "mareezii khichRi**i’ for those who are just starting up on solids after a bout with diarrhea or dysentery. did you hear this term before?
nope KKF , never heard it.. I am sorry , actually my issue is that I dont know alot about khichri , always heard about it from here and there , but have never had it , nor do I know the use of it , other then feeding kids !
I recently found out that its like a proper dish that is served in routine in many desi households , quite surprised I was hence tried it the other day ..
we are always learning arent we? I just realized you dont mesh rice completely ! now I wanna know how is daal chawal different then khichri ?
Cb, my mom makes chana daal khichri, chilkay wali green daal ki khichri, yellow daal khichri…they all are very delicious. The only time we make mushy khichri is when someone is sick.
Khatti, next time I will use a pinch. Husband didn’t taste haldi but I did.
Khichri tastes very different from daal chawal and the cooking method is quite different too.
Ok another question , daal usually takes about 30 minutes to get cooked properly, rice takes only 10 minutes or lesser. if we have soaked both together and put them in at the same time to cook. Rice will automatically get over cooked , how do you ensure both daal and rice are cooked and the rice remain intact?
It’s a completely different process of preparation, so you can’t look at when you’re just cooking daal as dish in itself. When you make kichri, the daal kind of blends in and cooks as rice. It’s hard to explain, but neither over nor under cooks. The whole thing from start to finish is a 15 minute process…20 min tops.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/540034-khattis-kitchen-korner.html
Post number 2…that is what my kichri looks like
thanks Khatti, it looks awesome and really fresh in color as well
I will try it once again
My mom has a good recipe for that one too
khichri mein haldi koon dalta hai.
color tu brown onions aur daal sai ata hai..
anyway, sub kai alag alag method hain.
You women talk about food experiments here , and we men have to end up taking it to office ![]()
Lots of people do. Everyone has their own way of cooking.
^thats what i said in my post too.
My mom always cooked kitchri at lunch time when we used to come back from School (depending upon the season) in summer masoor daal kitchri - with lemon, onion and green chilies salad), moong daal kitchri with achar or kairi-mint chatni, arhar kitchri in early summer months with (onion and kairi chatni), moog green daal kitchri with achar, mash chilika kitchri with tali hui mirch or hara dhanyia and mooli in winter.
I tried again .. no luck , it meshed up yet again ! when the rice in it seemed almost cooked , I checked the daal grain and it wasnt fully cooked , but by the time the daal cooked fully, the rice turned into kheer ![]()
ok, looks like a video tutorial is in order! I’ll be making kichri again sometime this week, I will try to record it and post the clip here for you ![]()
cook daal first and then add rice.
yes , KC , a video tutorial would be super awesome , waiting and waiting for it ..
Nope, the daal and rice cooks together
We cook khichri with toor dal and cook rice and dal together