Journalist's detention tests Musharraf's faith in democracy

We have reached a consensus here. Everyone captured should be charged with a crime or released. This should also include the Gitmo dudes. You remember the case of Brandon Mayfield (US citizen) who was jailed on some baloney material-witness crap and Jamal Harith (British citizen) held at Gitmo for 2 years and finally released cos it was discovered he posed no security threat.
Hopefully, Mr. Yousifzai will be released soon or charged, whatever comes first. You know Pakistan being an ally on war on terror looks upto Big Brother when it comes to national security and enemy combatants. :k:

Yeah 5 ABI, I agree. I say lock up all these mullah types and jiahdi vermin and watch the quality of life improve. :k:

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
do we need to move teh terror alert level to fuschia or lavender or something at the same time?
We don't need to change the terror alter level to cyan, cz there are thousands of people who are working for our security every single day. They will get their paycheck, regardless of the color of the day.

ps. Reminds me, today from the ATM machine, I got the new peach colored 20 daaller. Looks cute :)

Have you posted this post in ALL the forums where USA is condemned for Gitmo abuses? If not, would that make you a hypocrite?

By this logic it would seem that you are okay with Country X murdering 800,000 people today because it was done before in Rwanda as the world did nothing. :rolleyes:

You are taking the “If this is bad then that is bad as well” logic to the ridiculous extremes. This thread is in the Pakistan Affairs board and we are talking about what the Pak govt may have done or not done.

Sami Yousufzai is a known stringer for Newsweek and unless Pak govt charges him with some crime and proves it in a court, he should be free. They are not even telling his family where he is, which is quite deplorable.

In Pakistan, you can remain in jail for ages without being charged. You will only get released if your family pays bakshesh to the police.

Well i understand some of the harshness because of the large number of spooks about in Pakistan..the government needs to be careful. This seems excessive, especially so soon after the whole Shahbaz Sharif episode and the roughing up of ARY,CNN and BBC as well as warning to papers not to put up ads by the PML-N.

*Originally posted by Talwar: *

Have you posted this post in ALL the forums where USA is condemned for Gitmo abuses? If not, would that make you a hypocrite?**

dekho chakhoo, err talwaar…Yes. unlike some here, I stand by my principles. all one has to do is read, and comprehend, and remember.

By this logic it would seem that you are okay with Country X murdering 800,000 people today because it was done before in Rwanda as the world did nothing. :rolleyes:

if you can read english…here are my words again “this bullshyt of oh we cant let the people know due to some big national security stuff is a farce in US, a farce in Uk and is a farce in Pakistan”

dont do them rolleyes thing, bhaingay ho jao gay bhai.

You are taking the “If this is bad then that is bad as well” logic to the ridiculous extremes. This thread is in the Pakistan Affairs board and we are talking about what the Pak govt may have done or not done.

right chanda…the first statement was in jest, but I guess some peopel did not get it .. and when asked to clarify by matsui i said something and I repeat my words yet again “this bullshyt of oh we cant let the people know due to some big national security stuff is a farce in US, a farce in Uk and is a farce in Pakistan”

**Sami Yousufzai is a known stringer for Newsweek and unless Pak govt charges him with some crime and proves it in a court, he should be free. They are not even telling his family where he is, which is quite deplorable. **

and yet again I had previously written in plain english “agreed, but he needs to be charged, this bullshyt of oh we cant let the people know due to some big national security stuff is a farce in US, a farce in Uk and is a farce in Pakistan”

Now run along now and go bother someone else. shabash

oh and just to clarify talwar

the following statement was also in jest in case you missed it.."do we need to move teh terror alert level to fuschia or lavender or something at the same time?"

actually it should be at burnt sienna or periwinkle :)

Fraudia,

Man - no need to get worked up about this.

BTW, US has done this kind of stuff many times, but I have not heard of this happening in the UK. In the US, they will tell you - yes we have this guy but no we won't show him in court. Here your folks are denying knowing who has him even though witnesses saw the poor guy taken away by the authorities.

At some point, you should say a bad act is bad without using the "They also did this" type argument - No?

**Fraudia,

Man - no need to get worked up about this.**

qibla, I am not worked up about your post I am amused by you missing statements stated very clearly rightin the thread.

*BTW, US has done this kind of stuff many times, but I have not heard of this happening in the UK. *

okay, read up

In the US, they will tell you - yes we have this guy but no we won't show him in court. Here your folks are denying knowing who has him even though witnesses saw the poor guy taken away by the authorities.

Janaab, if you dont want to do comparisons, so why do it. btw recall how many ppl picked up after 9/11 whose names were not released?

*At some point, you should say a bad act is bad without using the "They also did this" type argument - No? *

aisa hai aik brick la kar meray sarr parr mar doh, bhai sahab, that point about pakistan having a good role model was in jest, kitni dafa likhoon.

There is no argument..lameness is lameness no matter where it is..as plainly stated..no?

accha baba ab tang na kar, jaan ko hitler na ho, chorr day baaat..shabaash

Okay. Noted. Let's move on.

move on..kidher chalain...shor sharabay par visit daen zara ja kar?

Mian agar main computer kay pass say abhi dafa nahin ho jata to aaj sofay pay sona parega. So I'm out.

okay toh dafa ho jao, i have an excuse..insomnia

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

okay toh dafa ho jao, i have an excuse..insomnia

LOL, well said!