Islamists row over beardless nominee

Fraudz… stop stalking the poor Durrani guy.

ps.. Ssshh… From reliable sources, it has been leaked to the press, that these days, Durrani looks like this → :maulvidis or maybe like this :fraudia: Either way, insha allah, he will go straight to Firdous, errr… I meant Jannat ul Firdous.

I don't think there is anothing extra-ordinary or even anything ridiculous about some MMA members to want a CM with a beard. You guys need to ask yourselves, 'Has symbolism never been used in politics in ALL parts of the world?'
I am sure that if we dig into the politics of even the most liberal countries of the world like USA or UK or rest of Europe we will find examples of symbolism which at a first glance may look as ridiculous as this one. But the fact is symbolism has its own importance. Though for sure it should have a secondary value only.

What I do find disturbing though is the decision to grow beard after being nominated for CM.

Ahmed: :nono3:

If a person is getting islam at a later stage in his life, it doesn’t mean you should get disturbed about it. Who knows, it might be that Mr Durrani always wanted to grow a beard, but just couldn’t give up his patronage of Gillette.

Alhamdollilah he is now getting an opportunity to serve the people of NWFP. If at the same time, he gets the opportunity to grow a beard and be counted as a pakka muslim… more power to him. :k:

Afterall what is a muslim man without a beard. That should be the first thing we should look for while evaluating our leaders.

Mashallah and Subhanallah.

^ Stop being so sarcastic Faisal Bhai. You can be so funny at times.

lol@ Firdous :D

Sirf lafz suntay ho
phir bhi harf chuntay ho
inkay darmayaan kia hai
tum na jaan pao gay

Sarcasm doesn’t become you Faisal.

For someone who constantly preaches to people on the religion forum that having a beard is very important for a muslim man, and that it’s very important for a muslim man to look like a muslim man so that he can easily be recognized as a muslim man and that all the Prophets and other great scholars had beards. And yet for sucha person to not support a beard himself would be a bit surprising for most people.

But it’s totally unbecoming for such a person to ridicule those who might wish that a frontline representative of Islam for the entire world (given the media nowadays) in today’s age might also have such an appearance which you deem so important yourself in the religion forum. Yes, I think that is totally unbecoming.

And please remember that I never said that something like this should be the first thing to judge our leaders, rather i made a point on symbolism and did also point out that it should have a secondary value. But that it was still a normal practice around the world.

If you don’t agree that’s fine. But please note that it’s no great achievement to be able to make a sarcastic reply, especially if you don’t really reply to the points your are supposedly replying to.

All in all , to say the least,

I am not impressed Juniour. :nook:

Ahmed

all your points are valid. One thing that still sticks out is teh fact thatthe gentleman in question had not bothered to grow a beard until his political party made an issue of it and started talking about that as a condition for him to have an office.

So, now questioning this guy's intentions behind this sudden beard issue is interesting.

The gentleman in question is not a child. If he knew that a beard is important, he should have grown it years ago. If he recognized that and stil did not grow it then he is not following what he preaches, If growing a beard to him was a non issue uptil now, then he should be a man and stand up for it. Why grow a beard when the office is at stake?

It would have been encouraging to see him take a stand and say that he will not grow a beard for the sake of his political partyy's wishes or conditions for him to be in an office.

Instead, he buckled under that pressure or the greed of the office was his motivation to grow a beard.

So, what else can a man like this do for power and influence?

Thanks Fraudia for acknowledging that.

And your point that this guy is not a kid and your question that "Why grow a beard when the office is at stake?" is also very valid as I acknowledged in my last post that I find this to be distrubing.

But your second concern, "So, what else can a man like this do for power and influence?" While that is also valid, I think it will be far less than what our typical politicians can do for power. He won't be going around begging India and america for support to give just one example. :)

Ahmed,

What bit you?

You said you find it disturbing, and I said it should not be disturbing because a person can decide to grow beard at any time. Why be disturbed over it? If you are questioning his niyyat and his intentions, more power to you, because unlike you, I have no knowledge on Mr Durrani's niyyat and I tend to give people benefit of the doubt rather than assuming the worse about them. I leave this practice for other people. If you wanna be one of those, go right ahead.

Secondly, I do not CONSTANTLY talk about beard in the Religion forum. I decided to post a reply in one of the threads, where it was clear that readers had gone frustrated with the roundabout replies they were getting on the issue. If you think, based on one thread, that having a beard or not is something I CONSTANTLY preach, then you couldn't be more wrong.

Re: this gentleman in question, good for him. He is not an ordinary person. He ran for the elections under the banner of ultra-religious political parties. He is nominated to be the Chief Minister. For all I know, he could be the best person for the job and if at the same time he grows a beard, more power to him. The only remarkable thing is the criticism on this point by his own alliance members.

I am surprised that you thought my last post was addressed to you in its entirety. It was not. Only the first paragraph was addressed to you. Stop reading too much into simple statements.

Originally posted by Ahmed: *
But your second concern, "So, what else can a man like this do for power and influence?" While that is also valid, I think it will be far less than what our typical politicians can do for power. *

we have no way of knowing that, a man who can use religion for his personal political gain and influence has already shown himself to be unworthy of trust.

*He won't be going around begging India and america for support to give just one example. :) *

So maybe he will go to someone else..being a provincial guy his role in international affairs is going to be limited to begin with, but begging to India or USA is not the only deal soemone can cut.

anyone got a before and after picture of this guy?
maybe he should have been a prt of TLC's ( The Learning Channel's) life unscripted series " a makeover story" or something. :)

Before

[thumb=A]akramdurrani.JPG[/thumb]

For after, you will have to wait, probably till its 1.5 inches long. And oh by the way, he might prohibit all picture-taking too. So beware. :)

yaaar..is there a during picture? Maybe he should just buy one of those santa beards.

[thumb=A]_38376305_akram.JPG[/thumb]

Durrani: Growing a Beard

Re: Islamists row over beardless nominee

nalayak durrani… everybody in NWFP shud keep at least 10 inches of beard..

Re: Re: Islamists row over beardless nominee

*Originally posted by mulz: *

nalayak durrani... everybody in NWFP shud keep at least 10 inches of beard..

yeah that serves as a deterrant, kinda like steering wheel locks on cars :)

so faisal, u got some during or after pictures? of durrani sahab

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

[thumb=A]_38376305_akram.JPG[/thumb]

Durrani: Growing a Beard

no only thing he is growing in this picture is a second chin. i see no beard, but there is a topi, i guess thats kinda like a ground breaking for the beard..

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
so faisal, u got some during or after pictures? of durrani sahab

I got one. :) You should've seen it too.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
I think MMA coalition will fail for the same reasons that they were different parties to begin with and had multiple factions and splinter groups of each party. i.e. inability to compromise and tendency to creat one's own derh eent ki masjid. ONly thing that may keep them from splintering is the collective lust for power and dislike for the other parties.

I would give it 6 months before there are serious issues within MMA...and I am being very conservative, it can happen much sooner

daaaaaaaamn, they beat my expectations big time. one dude walked away just now, so they beat my expectations by a whole 6 months.

maybe it was because they were busy ripping off posters and banning music, as soon as they realized that if they try that anywhere outside of NWFP they will get their butts whooped..they start splintering.

but, I have to be the first tto admit, they beat my guesstimate by a wide margin. Is this the longest these clowns have been united?