Is going out of your way to help people a pk thing?

whaat? have you never had freshly baked homemade cookies with cold milk? they taste heavenly!

the way you said it was that’s the only thing they offer.. milk n cookies :smiley: kids’ tea party :omg:

Re: Is going out of your way to help people a pk thing?

Well if the gora invites you over for dinner naturally they'll have a good meal for ya right? Whether its store bought or cooked at home...but if you drop in unexpectedly, why should they make you a meal? offer drinks and snacks is fine...I know "hospitable" desis who will offer snacks if you drop in unexpectedly but i certainly don't think its fair to go to someones home expecting a meal. Thats just being cheap on your part.

Its a courtesy thing, more than a 'pk' thing. I am sure everybody has come across very courteous goray and very cheap/selfish (whatever you want to call it) desis.

He's such a nice person mashallah.

Be courteous. You might need someone to be courteous with you someday.

Yeah that's hubby's philosphy in life.

Oh I forgot to mention that he said yesterday that he would shoot me if I was ever rude to a guest............such a nice person MA...............may be to others, not to me!

(his version of rudeness would be not offwering them a 3 course meal)

getting respect from him seems like a far away thing , do you even feel safe with him ?

haha, thats a totally normal trait with us desis… mehmaan aayein tau 3-course meal offer karo, spouse kay liyay omelette bana do wohi kaafi hai :stuck_out_tongue:

And its not just limited to men, I don’t mind cooking for guests at all… love to do that, but for my husband … nahhhh, he always criticizes my food jabkay mehmaan hamesha taareef kartay hain (jhooti hee sahi) :hehe:

personality. I am all about mehmaan navaazi. IT shows class.

I think the problem here is not mehmaan nawazi .....everybody is just lecturing her on that ! why can't any body see her husband's attitude towards her .....is this the way to talk with a wife " I will shoot you " . She is being abused but what we are observing is MEHMAAN NAWAZI .....right ?

diamond. what does the question say? yeA..I guess the rest of us are flexing our comprehension skills.

this is also posted by her !

yea, but thats not in the question. some people like tough love. I am not a judge

now "i will shoot you" *is **paki thing- NOT *going out of your way to help people....
.....we say things like that to eachother 10 times a day but it doesN't mean anything...

ajuba, u need to become dheet to many comments after shaadi... not being very Mahmaan-Nawaaz is the most common one u get to hear from your spouses... :) .... anyways its You, you got to change your attitude in order to get things work accordingly....dealing with Mahmaans is an additional duty/extra work, and **both **of you need to work for it .....

ajuba..were u ever rude to a guest in front of ur husband?..

mehman tu Allah ki rehmat hoey hain...