Is Chatting wrong in Islam with Na mehram??

Originally posted by cool down:
** dear brother you are using word chatting. chatting with namahram may wrong. but there is no way, chatting with a scholar is haram or chatting with your teacher is haram or chatting with your sister is haram, or chatting with your father is haram.

there are many other reasons for chatting. we can't say chatting is haram.

i know cool down chatting is not haraam in anywa y but it is wrong yar.. we are talking about ke when we are having unneccessary talk/chat with na memhram then its wrong.. is mein father sister nahi aarahi.. sis chatting/talking with our teacher is not wrong as well that doesn;t matter if teacher is young or not cuz u are talking to them cuz u would need any help or anyhting which is part of your studies.. its not wrong yar.... i will still try to find out where it says in Quran.

Friendship is a precious gift from ALLAH, only lucky ppl have got this gift. And thank God, I am among those ppl

These are not my fatwas. They are based on the Qur'an which you profess to follow and the Sunnah, which you don't. Read the ayah on laghwiyat. And, read cvommentary by a scholar. Your interpretation will only misguide you. Trust me!

Just as I thought.. lot of hot steam.. no facts.

Spare me the 'fazool ke behess'.. when you are trying to make a point.. present the evidence..I am not going to go search for Qur'anic verses which YOU need to find for YOUR argument.. Do some homework if you are so eager to see your posts in print in the Religion Forum.

Read again and you may understand.

Read what again.. Quote the Qur'anic verses or hold your peace.. Don't just drop in on discussions without doing your research first. Capice?

This Space For Rent

There is ABSOLUTELY no need to ‘define’ anything in the Qur’an in mazeed detail because Allah’s Book is Fully Detailed in itself. Anything else is just an addition to the word of Allah which is a major innovation.

They also show Quaid-e-Azam kay farmaan, but we don’t make it part of our religion just cuz it’s on PTV

Those who were ‘hoshmand’ at that time would acknowledge that it was a political stunt by Mr. Zia-ul-Haq to please the Mullahs. Inshallah very soon Mushy will reign in the Maulvis and we’d be able to get back to regular programming sooner.

This Space For Rent

awww so it means u are denying the fact of Hadiths and Sunnat??? anwyay… i dun wanna argue with u.. cuz actually u have some thing in your midn and u wanna stick to it and dun even wanan listen to others

Friendship is a precious gift from ALLAH, only lucky ppl have got this gift. And thank God, I am among those ppl

no, its NOT haram. i mean JUST talking is not haram, lekin getting close to the person and being really frank and all that IS wrong. chatting is like a friendly talk right, aur as i told u in that thread in the cafe, getting close to opposite sex is wrong.

• No love, no friendship can cross the path of our destiny without leaving some mark on it forever *

desitnee look bove and read my reply to cool down.. did i ever says its haraam.. noooo.... thr is a difference btw haraam and wrong and u guys are just mixing it up...

The reference to Surah Ahzaab that pp007 is giving was applicable to Ummahat-ul-Momineen Azwaj-e-Muttahiraat.... but as muslim women are told to follow Azwaj-e-Muttahiraat so it is for their guidance as well... Read it:

Surah Azaab (ALQURAN -- 33):

1. O Consorts of the Prophet! Ye are not like any of the (other) women: if ye do fear ((Allah)), be not too complacent of speech, lest one in whose heart is a disease should be moved with desire: but speak ye a speech (that is) just.

2. And stay quietly in your houses, and make not a dazzling display, like that of the former Times of Ignorance; and establish regular Prayer, and give regular Charity; and obey Allah and His Messenger. And Allah only wishes to remove all abomination from you, ye members of the Family, and to make you pure and spotless.

May that help.... IMO: Destinee is right in some sense.... and FactFinder is also on the right track.... PakistaniAbraod is Abraod from the tangents...

may Allah give all of us hiddaayah and correct us if we are wrong... (Aameen)

Wama Alaina Illal Balgh!

You (Muslims) are the best nation ever raised among the mankind: (because) you
advocate righteousness and FORBID EVIL, and you believe in (one) GOD (ALLAH).

(Sura: Aalay-Imran; Ayat:110)

**Sitaaron Pay Jo Daltay Hain Kamand!**

Shaheen=An Eagle or A Flacon!
(And yes it's a **MALE
* Shaheen ;-)*

thanks.. Can u also tell me is thr anything like that in Surah Nissa or Surrah Marium…
I hope this will help u give enough proves..
do u get my point now or not.. ???

so shaheen does that mean its wrong chatting with na mehram…
i understand destinee’s point liakin some times this chatting do lead us in a wrong direction even though we are confident but some times it does.. and i have experianced this yar.. thats y..

Shaheen baja.. plzz read my first msg and tell me what do u think…still want your opinion.

Assalamualaikum

Brothers/Sisters...Are we talking about "chatting" in the net sense or are we also covering chatting in the face to face direct (behind a screen) and/or talking on the phone sense.

Is there a difference between these scenarios?

[This message has been edited by Mustaqim (edited January 21, 2002).]

Thanks to all who helped especially alabeena sis. But again WHERE DOES THIS WHOLE DISCUSSION LEAVES US!.
I mean i don't chat but i do the stuff like it is in this forum. I mean they are messages.
But i got an idea what if we use the names which do not tell our gender then it will work out smoothly i guess.

Allah Nighaban.

Originally posted by dirty_dawg:
Guys... Talking to opposite sex isnt haram..
our Prophit (SAW) use to know, and talk to Hazrat Khatija before he married her..

I am sure that was before He was bestowed with prphet hood. And secondly we cannot compare to every single thing with Him. HE IS PROPHET. I mean u cannot marry more than 4 women at a time like He did.

Allah Nighaban.

Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad:
** Just as I thought.. lot of hot steam.. no facts.

Spare me the 'fazool ke behess'.. when you are trying to make a point.. present the evidence..I am not going to go search for Qur'anic verses which YOU need to find for YOUR argument.. Do some homework if you are so eager to see your posts in print in the Religion Forum.**

Sometimes you make me laugh with your childish attitudes. And this is one of those posts.

I wanted you to do your research yourself, but you are unable to, so you act like a child who is so silly that it considers it a defeat to accept not being able to find answers.

Now I will spoon feed you the ayah numbers. Go look for yourself. 9:69, 23:3, 28:55, 70:42 and 74:45.

Read what again.. Quote the Qur'anic verses or hold your peace.. Don't just drop in on discussions without doing your research first. Capice?**

Practice what you preach.

Rabbeshrah lee sadree; wa yassirlee amree; yafqahoo qaulee.

[This message has been edited by FactFinder (edited January 21, 2002).]

** 'Maulana' FactFinder, for your information the Taleban have been duly dispatched to hell. Where's the proof of thse 'fatwas' of yours.. or are we to blindly take everything you burp out?

Mullah PakistaniAbroad, where did you get the knowledge of Taleban being dispatched to hell? Are you the DECIDER? or are you the Gatekeeper of hell? Take a look and care of your own 'destination', don't make assumptions/decisions about others destination.

May Allah SWT guide us all towards right and help us follow the right

** There is ABSOLUTELY no need to 'define' anything in the Qur'an in mazeed detail because Allah's Book is Fully Detailed in itself. Anything else is just an addition to the word of Allah which is a major innovation.**

For sake of record I ask you again , here, to enlighten us where the Qur'an tells you how, when and how much to pray, how much zakah to pay and to whom, and how to perform hajj.

Any person who refuses to learn how to perform three of the five pillars is certainly to be pitied.

Originally posted by proudpakistani007:
** well said brother..i totally agreed with u.. that we shouldn't do unneccessary conversation not just with na mehram.. we every whr.. cuz we will have to give answer in the day of judgement that how did we spend our lives here. and we all should care about Aaakhirat not this world.. cuz we are here for only 7- 8- yrs but then... think about it.. asal life wohin par start hogi..

btw wat is laghwiyat???**

laghwiyat = unneccessary or idle conversation

Guys our Prophit always did the right things even before he became the Prophit.. and His sunna that we follow is wht he use to do His whole life...
thats it

Originally posted by Ali:
** I am sure that was before He was bestowed with prphet hood. And secondly we cannot compare to every single thing with Him. HE IS PROPHET. I mean u cannot marry more than 4 women at a time like He did.

ok here is the tranlation of those surah which factfinder asked u to check out.

[9:63] Did they not know that anyone who opposes GOD and His messenger has incurred the fire of Hell forever? This is the worst humiliation.

[23:3] And they avoid vain talk.

[28:55] When they come across vain talk, they disregard it and say, "We are responsible for our deeds, and you are responsible for your deeds. Peace be upon you. We do not wish to behave like the ignorant ones."

[70:42] Therefore, let them blunder and play, until they meet the day that is awaiting them.

[74:45] "We blundered with the blunderers.

Thanks brother. i think i got my answer by reading them..

Amber, by saying wrong, i DID mean haram. so getting close to namehram is haram!! just talking doesnt matter. and as far as you’re discussing stuff on islam with that person, its fine then too.
lekin har cheez ki islam main kuch limits di gayi hain. ab khud hi dekho. aik banda hay, u chat with him and u’re really frank with him. then if u guys get serious abt eachother and ur parents dont know about it then its not write. lekin agar the guys proposes u in future or u both have plans of living ur life together then thats fine with talking to such person.
Quran main har cheez ki itni detail nahi di gayi, issi liye aisi batain zyada tar ya to log kuch ayaa’t waghera say assume kartay hain ya phir jo baray baray mo’lam waghera hotay hain unn ki books waghera say.
jab baat yehi aa jaati hay kay aik ghair banday say ghulna milna mana hay to bass thts haram. thts it, aur yeh bat baat chat par bhi ayed hoti hay. cuz uss main bhi beshak u havent seen the person phir bhi u r getting sort of close and stuff right. so its wrong.
aur agar inn baton ki tum boht fikr karti ho to phir to yeh bhi hay kay u shouldn’t even look at namehram banday u know. thts wrong too. islam nay jahan auraton ko cover up karnay ka hukum diya hay ussi tarha mardon ko bhi nazrain jhuka kar chalnay ka kaha geya hay (infront of women).
i dont think so ab mai ghalt houn… am i??

• No love, no friendship can cross the path of our
    destiny without leaving some mark on it forever *

Originally posted by Destinee:
*aik banda hay, u chat with him and u're really frank with him. then if u guys get serious abt eachother and ur parents dont know about it then its not write. lekin agar the guys proposes u in future or u both have plans of living ur life together then thats fine with talking to such person. *

umm nope. Only nikah can allow for freely talking with a na-mehram member of the opposite sex. If he wishes to propose has nothing to do with it.

PP, its been said that when men are conversing with na-mehram women, they should talk from behind a viel. The conversation should be either based on religion/business(from what i recall). Both men/women should talk in a firm tone, not a soft tone.

So, draw your own conclusions. If you talk with someone and you feel it doesn't bring you any closer to that person personally and/or the purpose is only educational.. or something other than idle chit chat, then sure I dont see much wrong with that.

Its good to see you working upto the point where you can cut out all idle talk.

And for all those, 'wish Allah had made us a robot, oh so many restrictions'-people, There are many ways of enjoying ones self. Spend time with your family, spend time outdoors, nature etc, sports, and a lot of activities which are not considered unlawful by Islam, and also help to relax a person. Remember, you should never get fixated on islam either. Enjoy your life, but find lawful means of doing it.

And btw, ignore PakistaniAbroad, since he uses the ambiguity of the instructions in the Quran to justify the unlawful activities he follows.

Assalamu Alaykum,
I'd like to contribute a bit more to this discussion.
First of all I was learning about islam and I went on a chat channel I did learn some things there, but I would say there are so many different schools of thought and the best source is to look in the Quran and take your knowledge from there.
I would say that if you don't feel that you are doing wrong and the other person knows your intentions are pure and not in a flirty mood then it should be okay to chat, but at the end of the day I am not the person to judge. Allahu Akbar
InshAllah we all have to work on building a strong iman and try to avoid temptations wherever possible.