Indian leopard that strayed in to Pak territory,shot dead

Re: Indian leopard that strayed in to Pak territory,shot dead

I was waiting for a smart person to come along and ask this question.....

.. instead TLK showed up!

:hoonh:

you didn’t notice that I didn’t ask the question myself…

Oh no Tigers definately have sloth bear on the Menu. But its very rare for a Leopard to make such a move… frankly in a fair fight a Leopard wouldn’t stand a chance but as a ambush predator it has more than enough power to take on bigger prey. Very little can get in the way of a hungry Leopard… apparently the man eating Leopard of Rudrapryang ate hundreds of victims. :eek:

That was my point bru, tigers have been known to attack sloth bears but its not a preferred meal. The leopard on the other hand, I've never ever heard of a documented case. For the sake of information, could you provide more details about that particular incident? Location, time, season, distances, etc...?

Agreed, leopards have the highest bite force of any big cat and are the most temperamental of any of them. I'm been around big cats long enough ;) One of these days, I'll create a thread in the Science Forum. Anyway, when it comes to man-eaters, they're pretty much unable to hunt their natural prey hence easy pickings aka humans.

I think its pretty easy to tell Indian leopards apart. They're vegetarian for one.

^ yeah I remember didn’t you keep one or at least have a access to a Lion? I so envy you man…!:cb:

As for where it happened and the details… this is a brief description of the place.

In Southern Pakistan there is a desolate wasteland known as the Raan of Kutch… it’s semi arid and to unfammilair people it would look like a desert border between Pakistani Sind and Indian Gujarat.

Now the area is not so heavily populated by people but they do live there and India and Pakistan fought a brief and bloody war there (Pakistan won :jhanda:) The region is a popular breeding ground for many bird species and it’s not all desert but a blend of scrub, desert and marshes that border the Sea…

It is also a place where NeelGuy (blue cows) or native wild cattle and several species of Gazzele, wild Antelope and striped Hyena are commonly found… Sloth Bears are rare but you can catch them feeding around midday at termites nests… It’s not a region known for Leopard activity.

Which is why in 2001 I was very surprised it was midday on a very hot June month… the air was shimmering as we looked across the horizon. We travelled on a light Jeep with a driver a guide and me and two friends sat in the back we were there merely to see the wildlife… Not long after luchtime we trekked into the bush and found the remains of a titanic fight. There was not much left of the Sloth Bear to be honest most of it’s rear end was obviously chewed to pieces… but it’s back was obviously broken and whatever had attacked it did so while the Bear had been feeding. So we drew our guns and stalked about… there were fresh tracks and whatever could kill a full grown Sloth Bear was probably not far away… We warily got back to the Jeep and took about 40 minutes scouting the place checking for whatever might be the killer… there were pretty obvouis tracks but it was difficuilt to make out what the killer could be… none of us was too sure what the tracks belonged to… We had seen big cat imprints but these were huge!

It did not take long to find a Leopard lying up a stunted tree it’s face and paws covered in blood… our guide said it was the first time he saw such a sight… I could imagine the Leopard ambushing the Bear… I cant say for sure whether the Bear was on the menu that day… maybe the Leopard was particularly territorial and saw the bear as a threat… but it did feed on the Bear so… then again it didn’t drag the bear back either…:konfused: While I cant prove the Leopard was the killer for sure… maybe the Bear had been dead beforehand…

But seriously a broken backed bear… with it’s head still half buried in a nest of termites and looking like a fresh victim… there was no other option but to conclude the Bear had been ambushed… Shocking really… but then after reading into Leopards I could figure out the whole scene in my mind and replay it over and over… if the Bear had been ready then the result would not have been the same… but by chance this freak occurence made me seriously respect Leopards.

I was also one of the unlucky chaps who had to recover a body from Margala hills once the victim had been half eaten by a Leopard… even though it was a soldier and one armed with a G3… Leopards are awesome stealth predators… I would not like to be jumped by one… :slight_smile:

:konfused: Aap circus/zoo mein kaam karte hain kya ?

I will let GDISA bhai answer that question... but theres nothing wrong with going after and seeking a glimpse of big cats... I would not risk getting too close though. I am not a coward but frankly I would rather face a Gujaranwala Kabadi Champion, a Hanuman Jetti, a dozen swiss guards or even a Professional boxer... than risk my neck against a Leopard. Even with a weapon it would be a very hard fight. :)

What/who is that ?

Aaah an Indian who does not know what a Hanuman Jetti is… :hayaa:

I dont want to clog this thread, I have already potentially derailed it… I will PM you… :wink:

That has to be a one off Faris bru, a leopard will never be found in plain sight of humans even if they're desensitized to human presence. So its amazing you spotted one that left its kill and didn't lug it off for storage. Even in places where prey is plentiful the leopards don't leave kills on location. All my experience says otherwise but I'm glad you got sight of one in its natural habitat and witnessed those sights, very lucky of you.

Haha no brother, I've just been around wild animals of all kinds in private collections, wildlife centres, national parks and breeding centres.

It spoke hindi. And when questioned at the border, he replied, "bhaiya, maaf kerna. Namashkar."

or maybe he called Gol Guppay - Pani poori :hmmm:

Or maybe it was his Bollywood style entrance at the border…you know with smoke and disco lights :hmmm:

Or maybe it had a concealed weapon all the while saying Ram Ram.

oh the famous white suite and white leather shoes one ..

dang .. we shot Mithun :(

:naak: bechara.

Its called Gol Guppay in the northern part of India too :slight_smile:

No but this tiger was from Chennai. :(