India Vs Srilanka 3 rd Test (Operation Poomalai Vs.Operation Vijayasikuru)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India joined the country on Monday, in celebrating Abhinav Bindra's feat at the Beijing Olympics.

BCCI President Sharad Pawar has announced an award of Rs 25 lakh to Abhinav Bindra.

"Hearty Congratulations to Abhinav Bindra for winning India's first-ever Individual Gold Medal at the Olympics. He has done the country proud. His achievement heralds a new era for Indian sport," Pawar said.

The BCCI has got together with the Ministry of Sports to set up a corpus of Rs. 50 crore to support the country's medal prospects, in the disciplines of Swimming, Boxing, Archery, Judo and Wrestling, for the next three years, up to the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

The venture apart, the BCCI has been funding Aditya Jagtap (Squash) and Karan Rastogi (Tennis), as far as their training and participation in international events, the BCCI said.

The BCCI said it had approved a proposal to support Abhinav Bindra on similar lines, and was in correspondence with him.

Congratulations to all the Indians.

One thing I want to make clear. Did you mean first ever in the indian history ?? India being on top in the world in terms of population (after China) produced ONLY 1 individual gold medalist in the History ? I think there might be a mistake in the information provided, because even less populated countries like Turkey have produced more individual gold medalists.

I hear you brother, I was shocked too when somebody told me that Pakistan did not win a single medal (yes, not even a Copper medal) in 2004 Olympics. I mean Pakistan's population is more than that of Japan. Yet, Japan won 37 medals...and Pakistan none. I think there might be a mistake in the information provided, because even less populated countries like Mongolia, Syria, Estonia etc won medals in 2004 Olympics.

Yes that is why it is a very proud moment my friend.
To put things in perspective for you, Pakistan has more than twice the population of Turkey (as you mentioned as a less populated country) and have not won a single individual gold medal to my knowledge. Pakistan is pretty high on the list in terms of population numbers in the world. I hope you can understand that is not only the population that matters, but the involvement of the people and country in sports. Another example I can give you is Australia, probably the top Olympic competitors and their population is on the low-end but their sporting culture is huge. Besides China, asian countries do not have the resources or the mindset to push the sporting culture further in their respective countries. But winning a gold medal can inspire millions of people around the country and kick start an interest into looking at sport seriously.

:whistling
** dhuwan uth-ta hay dil se yun*
lagee thee aag ye kaisay *

Re: India Vs Srilanka 3 rd Test (Operation Poomalai Vs.Operation Vijayasikuru)

^ Blame it on S2P.

naam hai "Submission to Peace",* par har jegah aag lagaate phirte hain...*while projecting himself as all holy and pious at the same time.

Inshallah. haza min fazle rabbi

Can somebody confirm if Abhinav Bindra is related to I.S. Bindra former BCCI chief?

^Punjab mein hazaar Bindras hain....

Abhinav's father was quoted as saying...."my son proved that Singh is King"....referring to the Sikh community of course. btw, the family is very affluent from what I read. The guy has his own private shooting range inside his farm house.

^^^ thx for confirming.btw in india who all can afford coach and training privately r successful in their respective fields.As bindra's case confirms.

I am not confirming anything. They might be related after all. All I am saying is that Bindra is a common punjabi last name.

btw, Abhinav has a blog at : http://abhinavbindra.blogspot.com/

Well said. I agree brother. Your last sentence is so true. It is a signal for all the other competitors in the same country that if their fellow country man can do it then why can't they ? Before this achievement they might have a fear in mind that they are striving for something no Indian has ever done in the History, but now such fear won't exist.

Secondly, I might be wrong but using slogans like "Singh is King" might not be good on such an occasion. It is not a Sikh who won the title but an Indian. Such thinking might be harmful for the unity of a nation in the long run. I also dislike when people in Pakistan discriminate an award on the basis of Pathan, Punjabi....etc.

No one comes to Olympics to represent his cast, but his own country. All the fundings he get and the moral support is from the whole country. Again, I would make clear that my intentions are not to offend any Sikh here, and I might be wrong.

p.s. Could anyone kindly share here any site from where I might be able to see all the medals won by different countries in the History. Thanks

haha... so india won a gold in shooting or whatever it is this bindra won in and everyone is supposed to care about it, in a thread on a cricket series in sri lanka.

come on guys.. you might as well win a medal in a lame psuedosport like darts or figure skating.. but whats the relevance of that in a thread on cricket? this reminds me of when leander paes won a bronze or something, every indian i knew used to be running around in tennis shorts and that annoying headband. come on... try to win what you like to do... dont start doing enmasse what someone happened to win/came close to winning. it reeks of desperation for any kind of success.

look at us for inspiration.. for decades pakistan dominated squash.. nobody went around hugging jansher khan and his predecessor... they kept crying for attention but we all knew squash is a girly sport.

But why they didn't include it in Olympics when Pakistanis were king of Squash ?

why they didn't include it in Olympics when Pakistanis were king of Squash ? I am sure Pakistan would have won many individual gold medals.

possibly because we were doing well enough in cricket those days anyway... so we didnt need the apparent anti-depressant quality of winning a medal in otherwise irrelevant sports/shooting games you wouldnt normally care two figs about.

BCCI 's move was good.

Khatte Angoor alarm !

:p whatever man.. i know in a couple of weeks/months/maybe years nobody will remember this bindra or care about shooting, just as indians stopped wearing annoying headbands and leander paes-ish tennis gear after he flopped.

it does annoy me though, i confess, that this occurred so soon after this series defeat. he couldnt have waited till i was done dancing on the series loss grave