Re: India vs. South Africa @ Melbourne Feb 22, 2015
^ worry is did they find it too early
I guess all is not lost for us … now that SA has lost by such a huge margin...much worst than us!
Well said. In last game Younis got an unplayable delivery. A lesser batsman would not have been able to nick it. I bet the Pak team fields much better in the next game. And makes it to QF.
Once in QF different ball game. Throw all stats out the window. The WC is just beginning.
India should qualify with ease. If they bat first its almost a win for them in any game IMO. Good bounce back fromthe tri series. I still put Australia and NZ as strong favs but this WC so far has been decent in terms of surprises esp from the minnow teams eg Ireland, I expect Scotland today too to give England a v hard time.
one point though...indians still need to be tested especially under lights to chase 280+.... that wont be easy and every team is struggling.
You forgot ambient temperature conditions. This match was played with the temperature in the 30 to 36 Deg C range. Pundits aren't too sure if the Indians can replicate this performance if the mercury goes outside this tight range. Not to mention relative humidity variations.
India vs. South Africa @ Melbourne Feb 22, 2015
This Indian team is full of big match players, so no surprise that they are peaking during WC and were pretty mediocre during the tri-series and bilateral games right before this.
I have often wondered what it takes to motivate cricketing superstars who have name, fame, money etc. They play so much cricket that I guess after a point it's the adrenalin rush that comes from playing a big game which is the motivator.
India performed so well, IPL has been helping them with becoming first class cricketers!
We should have bat first in West Indies game too. I am hating our team's decision making skills.
India should qualify with ease. If they bat first its almost a win for them in any game IMO. Good bounce back fromthe tri series. I still put Australia and NZ as strong favs but this WC so far has been decent in terms of surprises esp from the minnow teams eg Ireland, I expect Scotland today too to give England a v hard time.
acha Uncle jee....theek hai, yae peak "tsunami peak" hai...........aab Bhagwan karay iss "tsunami peak" ka wo hashar na ho, jo PTI kee tsunami peak ka Pak may howa tha............jay ram jee kee..
waisay payaray kaka jee, why are indians fans so arrogant? here at GS, on social media everywhere shor macha howa hai....
kabiee apnay skipper dhonie say hee humbleness ka sabaq parh lein!
Aap ka kis member ki aur ishara he? ;) I think Indians are very well mannered on this forum, yaha waise bhi kuch jyada bolo to notice mil jata he.
BTW Dont judge any country or person through the usage of their social media, unlike normal media on social media everyone is a dog and they dont have to disclose their identity.
Other reason is we are forgetting our values. humbleness and non violence (even violence of thoughts) is core of our culture but now it is being replaced by american type arrogance. Just look at our heros in bolly movies now, a person from nineties would be hard pressed to figure out who is hero and who is villain in a movie.
We should have bat first in West Indies game too. I am hating our team's decision making skills.
Tbh even batting first we would probably make 250 which isnt good enough.
*India vs. South Africa Date: Sunday Feb. 22 Time: 03:30 GMT | 14:00 local | 04:30 CET | 07:30 PST | 08:00 IST Location: Melbourne Cricket Ground (also called the "G") *
Live Telecast: Pakistan: PTV/PTV Sports India: ESPN Star Mid-East: OSN Cricket (Orbit Showtime) UK (Europe): Sky Sports North America: ESPN 3 (Sister Network of ESPN Star)
After repetitive demands/wishes i dare to open the thread for the respective Match
My thoughts (as already mention in another thread): SAF going to beat IND. Having said that the South Africans are prone to crumble under pressure regardless of their Skill levels and Talents :D
Reality check: The weak links in India's armoury are the bowling + fielding and the South Africans excel exactly in these 2 important departments.Now considering the Ground is big and the pitch will have some bounce it'll be a surprise (for me atleast) if India manages to win.
Jab Tak Humare past jero one hai, vijay humari hee hogi
Tbh even batting first we would probably make 250 which isnt good enough.
When you bat first, you are a stronger team. That is a wrong prediction you are making. Pakistan normally wins if they choose to field second.
^ Make up your mind. Do you prefer Pakistan bat first or field second?
@Zero_one, thank you bro [emoji106] Even though our next few games are against minnows, pls continue to open the match threads. You are proving really lucky for us.
Congrats to Indian guppies, didn’t really expect India to win but when I watched Indian batting I had feeling India was gonna pull it :k:
the team with the best batting line-up is India according to the poll done by Live cricket scores, commentary, match coverage | Cricket news, statistics | ESPN Cricinfo…**India is at the top of the list [34.38%] followed by Australia [22.84%] and SA [14.28]
**i’m surprised to see NZ with ONLY 6.62% of the votes. i think They are right after Australia and definitely before SA.
here is the result!
POLL
Which World Cup team has the best batting line-up?[TABLE=“class: poll-result”]
[TH=“colspan: 4”]RESULTS[/TH]
Australia
22.84%
Bangladesh
3.98%
England
0.27%
India
34.38%
New Zealand
6.62%
Pakistan
4.02%
South Africa
14.82%
Sri Lanka
9.76%
West Indies
0.61%
Zimbabwe
0.21%
Ireland
0.63%
Scotland
0.16%
Total votes:
NZ can be very erratic and pathetic at times
9th Match, Pool A: New Zealand v England at Wellington, Feb 20, 2015 | Cricket Scorecard | ESPN Cricinfo
In a KO game I would back Australia to beat both NZ and SA. Australians just don’t lose too many pressure games. Their mental toughness and resilience is unmatched in world cricket (a bit like Djokovic in tennis)
The only team that might beat Aus is India. These two teams look the strongest in this world cup.
^ i think Australia is not too strong mentally. remember in 2011 World Cup, India beat them so easily...it was a semi final hence a pressure game.
NZ in this world cup are well prepared, like India, and they bat deep with big hitters.
i predict a world cup FINAL between India and NZ. India will beat NZ with quite a bit of difficulty. :)
NZ were well-prepared in 1992 WC as well winning 7 straight games before running into Pakistan and we all know what happened then
The 2011 QF was fixed to please the BCCI...just kidding
Aus bat deep as well... Just look at the match-winners in their batting line-up Finch, Warner, Clarke (will replace Bailey), Watson, Steve Smith, Maxwell, Marsh and Haddin. That is solid batting until no.8, even longer than India's. Johnson (#9, has a test hundred) can bat as well.
NZ were well-prepared in 1992 WC as well winning 7 straight games before running into Pakistan and we all know what happened then
The 2011 QF was fixed to please the BCCI...just kidding
Aus bat deep as well... Just look at the match-winners in their batting line-up Finch, Warner, Clarke (will replace Bailey), Watson, Steve Smith, Maxwell, Marsh and Haddin. That is solid batting until no.8, even longer than India's. Johnson (#9, has a test hundred) can bat as well.
Australians are all pretty dangerous if they are NOT under pressure...like most teams, they buckle under pressure in high stake games too.
NZ is a different team in this tournament and they can beat anyone but India is a tad battle hardened. :)
One thing I noticed vs South Africa was the very friendly interactions between both teams. I think vs Pakistan also the poayers'interactins were friendly.
As tournament proceeds it may become clear who is the instigator of cheap behavior on field
I recall warner etlt all bullied an English batsman (name?) 1.5 yrs ago into retirement.