India v Sri Lanka, CB Series, 5th ODI, Canberra

Re: India v Sri Lanka, CB Series, 5th ODI, Canberra

lately India hasnt been given me much joy, so I hadnt been following as closely as I usually do.

^At last! We do have something in common, apart from all the private and personal matters.

I refuse to read anything in the result of this game except for the ineptness of the ICC to reduce an international game to the level of a school game.

It was extremely unfair for the team batting first (India), the way a short game was made even shorter when SL batted.

Some1, you already had your joy with 2 games lost in succession against Australia. Unfortunately, the losses vanished from the Indian team performance records after heavy rain.
What else you want?! Indians been enough lucky for this year, dont you think?

^ Bhai, what he meant to say was India should never be at the receiving end. If india loses, blame ICC, umpires, D/L method ... list goes on... :) J/K

I agree with some1 here. D/L method makes no sense, why not have an easier method that everyone at home can calculate.

hes not talking about the difficult of calculating the DL method
it just makes no sense in the context of the game
the team batting first, more often than not, has a severe disadvantage

AliR - what 2 games are you going on about? there was only one washout against australia and aussies were also stuggling when it started to rain so dont think india got lucky or anything, and the other one India beat australia by 5 wickets (it was a full 50 over match)

154 in 21 overs **with all 10 wickets allowed!!! **Talk about stoopid rules! You cannot build any pressure on the batting team and they can basically treat this as a T20 match and hit it up! OTOH the team batting first have to pace their innings for 50 overs since they also have only 10 wickets!

But that's the the cookie crumbles. In spite of terrific performance Indian team has been beset with useless umpiring, cheating by Aussies and now sheer bad luck due to a bad rule.

In spite of that we have beaten the Aussies both in the tests and in the ODI!

Good job guys!

Jai Bharath!

aap akelay nahi hayn, Brits bhi isi liye ro rahay hayn

At the very least...the match should have been made "unofficial" in my opinion....instead of *jabardasti *trying to get a result.

Its not a question of D/L method....you can't reduce an ODI to a Twentynine29 for ONE TEAM and Twentyone21 for ANOTHER TEAM.

Both teams batted under 2 different match rules......

All said and done....I am actually pretty happy with India's performance.

Care to explain how team batting 1st has more disadvantages than team batting 2nd in D/L method? There have been a lot of instances where team batting 2nd was screwed by D/L method.

Bro, I have never defended DL method.More over I'm totally against It myself....but at a time when they had drawn a match against Australia I havent seen Some1 complaining then.

The first was a draw (1 point each) under the DL method.

bhai...if it makes you happy, I had started to complain even before the Sri Lankan innings had commenced.

lol what? are u on crack
1st match was a draw? it was a no result
no dl method
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/cbs/engine/current/match/291359.html

and it was 2 points each not one point

2nd one was india beating aussies by 5 wickets

so tell me again what are u going on about - “2 games lost in succession against Australia. Unfortunately, the losses vanished from the Indian team performance records after heavy rain.
What else you want?! Indians been enough lucky for this year, dont you think?”

It is very simple really. The first team thinks they have 10 wickets to play over a higher number of overs. So they will play more cautiously in order not to get out before exhausting the overs.

The second team knows they have to play only for 21 overs and they have the same 10 wickets! so they can afford to play less cautiously.

Chalo maaf kiya :p..Nex time no maafi.