Re: India preparing for 2011 Cup bid/Pakistan to join India
Cricket might loook good when played in Australia or England... but the people from there sure as hell don't.
I totally disagree with the notion that the WC "deserves" to be held in Australia. the Subcontinent will "deserve" it more than them every time due to diehard passion amongst fans (not found in cricket fans anywhere else in the world) and total domination of the global cricket "market" and patronage.
With that said, i think it should definitely be held in a gora country. like someone mentioned earlier, with fan levels falling in gora countries....reminding them that they are valued fans in the world of cricket is very important. letting them host the WC is one way to do that. i think its a slap in the face of the desi log, but that's how it's got to be.
of all gora cricketing nations....Australia is probably the best choice. England would be my second choice.
I hope this remains a bid and don't become a winning bid. The chances are it won't.
was just look for some old thread regarding WC 2011 and found this thread from last year.
Anyway here is the latest news
Asian World Cup bid damaged - Mani
The ICC President Ehsan Mani has said that the late submission of the Asian bloc’s compliance book has weakened their bid for the 2011 World Cup.
Mani told PTI: “Their [Asia’s] strong case only weakened because of late submission of compliance book. Nevertheless, if Asia doesn’t win the right for 2011 World Cup, I am sure they would get the 2015 World Cup.”
India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have made a bid and were allowed an extension until April 21 to set out their proposal after they had difficulty hitting the first deadline in March. They are up against a joint Australia-New Zealand bid for the tournament. The host will be decided by a vote on April 30, but Mani added that it would be premature to speculate which bid was stronger.
“The voting would be done from 13 countries and seven votes are required to win the rights,” he said. “Asia already has four votes and they require another three. But Australia and New Zealand’s bid is also strong and 100 percent complete. They have also guaranteed 100 percent tax exemptions.”
Mani also confirmed that Asia had promised tax exemptions from their respective governments for the event. The ICC has faced problems with tax exemptions for the Champions Trophy from India and it required personal convincing by Mani and Malcolm Speed to get the event going.
SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/content/story/245342.html
According to my understanding, Asia already handed their proposals in a day before the deadline on April 20th, no? The only issue standing as of this moment between Asia and Australia/New Zealand is the actual number of votes itself. Only the voting factor (as oppose to the late submission of bids - as mentioned by Ehsan Mani in the article) should decide whether or not Asia receives the right to host next year’s World Cup. Please do correct me if I am mistaken.
Also, regarding the recent on-going project in Karachi where the National Stadium will be connected with the proposed flyover being built by City District Government Karachi to ensure smooth entry of players and VIPs into the stadium, any deductions on how long is this projected to last?
Chalo acha hai, skoon karo 2015 kay anay tak.
I want india or pakistan to host by themselves.
Re: Pakistan to join India for 2011 World Cup bid
It’s more like 84.99% India and 0.01 percent Pakistan. India should hold it alone, we can do it. No need to get pakistsan in on it.
Re: India preparing for 2011 Cup bid
TRUE....
Yes...We also want india shd go alone like they did for nehru Cup and Atleast we can win in india mean Pak
so what are you doing here?
Well Every Time India should bid alone, also pakistan. It is like they all get some matches, and SouthAfrica and England host their own. And when India is done or pakistan is done after next world cup other should place a bid. There are 4 countries in Asia.