India may pull out of Cricket World Cup

Question,

Pakistan is a sovereign country and its decision to boycott Moscow Olympics was its own not US'.

Also Politics has always been a Part of Cricket - esp in Subcontinent. It wasn't long ago when Imran Khan said 'Let's solve all our Political Problems on Cricket Field'. Also Not so Long ago Gen. Zia ul Haq had Come to Jaipur to Watch a Match as part of his 'CRICKET FOR PEACE' initiative.

As for boycotting SA - I dont know whose decision it was but it was because of Apartheid they were banned from playing International Cricket for 20 years.

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:

Sambri, Dont be so sure - In the World Cups OUR REOCRD IS 100% 3-0 (92,96,99 Three in a Row) and only way you will be able to get those points in a World Cup is when we dont take the field. So better start praying that we dont take the field.
So next time you post something like this - Make sure you have read the History. Now dont blame me, because truth stings and hurts. i know it will be an achievment for you guys in a World Cup. 'Jashn ki Taiyariyan Shuru karo bhai. Pehli baar world cup me India ke against me points milne wale hain.'

Hush, Asif! Don't cause such a ruckus! I'm praying that Bharat won't play us and then only we will be able to get our two points.

BTW, why do you post and then edit leaving the period there? If you have something to say, say it and don't back out.

Ehsan, It's more of a matter of Principle than winning or Losing. we have done that in the Past (In Tennis) and I hope our govt is strong enough to stick to their stand otherwise it will be pure hypocrisy on their (Govt's) part. Forfeiting (unless it is Knockout Round) one match isn't going to affect much because If we are good enough we will still reach the finals (Remember Australia did in 1996). And why should there be repurcussions If we refuse to play the finals/Semifinals (Probably Financials, Do we care ?) Let ICC boycott/BAN India, I am sure Indian cricket will survive Like SA did. I am sure If India looses, other will also lose much. I wished that the ICC banned India immediately after Mike Dennese affair.

Everyone is making so much hue and cry over India not playing Pakistan, But they kept quiet when Australia refused to tour SL (1996), Zimbabwe (in 2002) and now Pakistan, Pakistan refused to tour India twice in the 90s for security reasons, NZ toured only because India threatened to cancel its NZ tour.

Sambri, You should see the post above me and it has the mesg 'EDITED BY EHSAN'. I had posted a befitting response. but the moment I posted I saw the Edited part.As for the 'RUCKUS' you only wanted that didn't you, I already said dont blame me.

AK

Fact is that ICC cannot afford to Boycot any team from Subcontinent becouse that is where the money and future of cricket lies.

Every Cricket borad has its mouth watering to hasv series with India.. !!!!! thats claled money power !!!!!!

Well andha, I think it was you who said this 'no team from the subcontinent is going to win the world cup'

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
Every Cricket borad has its mouth watering to hasv series with India.. !!!!! thats claled money power !!!!!!**

Interesting point, AQ, especially since the Bharati team is a very mediocre team to say the least. Anyways, I have noticed that Bharat does seem to attract good money. Perhaps that is because of their administrators. I am a big fan of Dalmiya's, I hope Tauqir Zia follows his lead and sticks it to the Aussies.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 17, 2002).]

**Ehsan, It's more of a matter of Principle than winning or Losing. we have done that in the Past (In Tennis) and I hope our govt is strong enough to stick to their stand otherwise it will be pure hypocrisy on their (Govt's) part. Forfeiting (unless it is Knockout Round) one match isn't going to affect much because If we are good enough we will still reach the finals (Remember Australia did in 1996). And why should there be repurcussions If we refuse to play the finals/Semifinals (Probably Financials, Do we care ?) Let ICC boycott/BAN India, I am sure Indian cricket will survive Like SA did. I am sure If India looses, other will also lose much. I wished that the ICC banned India immediately after Mike Dennese affair.

Everyone is making so much hue and cry over India not playing Pakistan, But they kept quiet when Australia refused to tour SL (1996), Zimbabwe (in 2002) and now Pakistan, Pakistan refused to tour India twice in the 90s for security reasons, NZ toured only because India threatened to cancel its NZ tour.

Asif you said it is a matter of principle rather then winning or losing and hope your government sticks to its stand otherwise it will be pure hypocrisy.

Well You allow your teams to play Pakistan in every other sport except for cricket. The recently concluded hockey world cup is an example where your government said they will play Pakistan if the teams met.

If you are going to talk about principles and sticking to them, then you either play us or not, period. You cant pick and choose and say we will play hockey but we will not play Pakistan at cricket because of what is happening in Kashmir? Now that to me is hypocrisy.

Lads, I have edited and deleted more posts here because we are getting back to my country is better than yours. So please stick to the topic only.

Dude you are on a Pakistani forum NOT indian

Originally posted by Question:
** Dude you are on a Pakistani forum NOT indian**

Aah, good reasoning Q yaar!

Seems like that most of these guys tend to forget that, eh!

Well said Ehsan bhai, also recenlty played the under 19 cricket world cup, PAK palyed against india and PAK won

. Just wanted to add another plus point to what you are trying to explain.

Originally posted by ehsan:
** Well You allow your teams to play Pakistan in every other sport except for cricket. The recently concluded hockey world cup is an example where your government said they will play Pakistan if the teams met.If you are going to talk about principles and sticking to them, then you either play us or not, period. You cant pick and choose and say we will play hockey but we will not play Pakistan at cricket because of what is happening in Kashmir? Now that to me is hypocrisy. **

Ehsan, Probably We have not reached that stage yet. We still have Diplomatic offices working in Islamabad and New Delhi. Cricket is a part of our National Identity and that is the reason it is singled out. No one cares about What is happeneing in other sports, that's why we are still playing them. The day hockey or any other sport becomes part of our national Identity I am sure Govt will do the same thing it is doing with Cricket.

AK

Originally posted by Spock:
**Well andha, I think it was you who said this 'no team from the subcontinent is going to win the world cup'

So???

Unka Jo Kaam hai Ahl-e-Siyasat Jaane,
Apna paigam muhabbat hai ,jahan tak pahuche

** Ehsan, Probably We have not reached that stage yet. We still have Diplomatic offices working in Islamabad and New Delhi. Cricket is a part of our National Identity and that is the reason it is singled out. No one cares about What is happeneing in other sports, that's why we are still playing them. The day hockey or any other sport becomes part of our national Identity I am sure Govt will do the same thing it is doing with Cricket.

Asif, in all honesty that is very weak reasoning. It would make more sense for you guys not to play us in any and all sports. Why? Because no one cares and would not mind this way or the other. What I mean is that then you would not even get all these stupid peace proponents trying to get sporting ties rejuvenated like people are trying with cricket.

you want to protest Pakistan's so-called involvment with inter Bharat affairs. What is better than to stop playing us in all totality?

Do you also realize that nobody in the west really cares about cricket and who's playing who and who's not? So, if Bharat were to refuse to play Pakistan in soccer per say, it would still make somewhat of a splash in the Western media. Bharat hasn't played Pakistan a couple of years now but believe you me I have read tonnes of articles on Pak-Bharat clashes in Toronto and not one has mentioned the severed cricket ties. Something to think about! No?

Then why do you think the future of the game lies in them? Admit it, u just said that because India was never going to win the cup, so you might as well drag Pakistan and Sri Lanka along with them... Dont include us in your cricketing miseries LOL.

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
Originally posted by Spock:
**Well andha, I think it was you who said this 'no team from the subcontinent is going to win the world cup'

So???

There is one simple question which is still hasn't been answered.
What does banning India to play cricket with Pak do to the tensions between the 2 sides in Kashmire, so far these 2 teams haven't played each other in 2 years and nothing has eased in Kashmire.

Forget about other sports, I can understand why India is willing to let them play but how in the world will it make a difference, the only effect will be on the people of Pakistani sides, who haven't gotten a chance to see their team win against India in 2 years.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 17, 2002).]

well...it wod b a good laugh if india pulls out...n yeah so hve i herd tht they wod pull out of ne tournament including Pak...wht a bunch of losers they r...anyway, but id herd this 4 the mini wrld cup whch i dun think took place neway..!! wht hppnd 2 tht btw? but i hadnt even thought tht they wod pull out of THE WC!! man...hehehe it wod b fun

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**There is one simple question which is still hasn't been answered.
What does banning India to play cricket with Pak do to the tensions between the 2 sides in Kashmire, so far these 2 teams haven't played each other in 2 years and nothing has eased in Kashmire.

Forget about other sports, I can understand why India is willing to let them play but how in the world will it make a difference, the only effect will be on the people of Pakistani sides, who haven't gotten a chance to see their team win against India in 2 years.

Umair bhai, It took 20+ years for South Africa to end the Aparteid, Aap 2 saal me hi pareshan ho gaye. About People of Pakistan not getting to see their team beating India, well brother, Why dont you try to win a test match against Sri Lanka at Home or for that matter Australia,England South Africa or Zimbabwe. After all there is no ban on these teams.

AK

South Africa were not only banned in cricket but other sports as well, try rygby.

As a matter of fact, South Africa being banned from all sorts of things kind of helped the aparthied and racism in South Africa.

You don't see any reason why banning cricket is necessary to stop the violence in Kashmire, to tell the truth we should be the one banning to play India but since we know we will be successful why bother complaining.

If India does pull out of the world cup (which I think will never happen) they should be banned from playing any cricket on the international, just like what happend to SA, until they fix their problems.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 18, 2002).]

May god give enough courage to Indian Govt and it sticks to its stand and I wish ICC had the guts to BAN India from playing any International Cricket.

AK

AAMEEN