Independence Day Cooking Contest!

Re: Independence Day Cooking Contest!

I will say again, so much creativity and still we cannot solve all the problems of Pakistan , why ? why ?

WOWWW!

You guys have talentt!

Mashallah.

Very nice!

great job Lusi , shab e hijr and aaish.

Kuch seekh lo femme. I still have two days, hmmmm.

Amazing stuff Lusi and shab

you guys are very creative

oh my.. I never knew you were THAT talented.. I am soo glad you are mine :smiley:

alritey now I need the recipe for the pan grilled chicken with white sauce and of course green rice.. we have “pakistan chawal” at home but thats just boiled rice with dhania, podina, and hari mirch in it, it’s never that green. :smiley:

^you are married to shabbe hijar.. really??!!!

^ LOL :omg:

No shay, Gtg likes to pretend she’s married to to sughar guppans :smiley:

lovely entriess

I will post mine too soon

we almost did.. but then my parents got me married somewhere else :( (haha j/k, we are good friends n both of us happen to be females :p)

Sehario.. you hit the nail on head.. now only if you were sughar enough:p

:: Independence Fruit Delight ::

Simple, healthy (sort of) and delicious dessert.

Milk- 500ml
Custerd Powder - 2 tbsp
Sugar - as per taste
Diced Mixed Fruits - 1 cup
Jelly - 1/2 cup
Whipped Cream - for topping

Method

Boil milk. Once boiled, lower heat and add the sugar.
Mix custard powder in half a cup of cold milk
Slowly pour custard powder in hot milk and keep stirring
Cook till it passes the back of spoon test (take a wooden spoon and dip in the custard, run your finger through the middle of the custard on the back of the spoon, if a clear path is left, the mixture is ready otherwise cook for some more time)
Let it cool outside, once it reaches room temperature, put it in the refrigerator till its cold.
Add the fruits ( i added peach, oranges, apples, grapes, mango and pineapple) and diced jelly with whipped cream
Serve cold.

awwww that looks cute elegance. well done.

:hehe: ohhh..!!!

Elegance that looks really good! Delish!

Ok here are my recipes. I am writing it in steps so it is some what clear an understandable. I will try to be as much precise and detailed as I can…lol

Step 1:

Boil the lasnga strips.

Step 2:
Vegetable filling:

Part 1:
Mix vegetables almost 3-4 cups
1 Green Bell Pepper diced
Brocholi diced almost 1-2 cups
Green peas almost 1 cup

Take a pan, glaze it with little oil, add the mix vegetables, bell pepper, and green peas. All salt and black pepper to taste. On medium high heat cook the vegies till tender and water has almost dried out, add brocholi, cook for another minute or two and then turn the vegies in another dish/pot.

Part 2:
2 Zuchinis peeled and thinly sliced in length

Take the thinly sliced zuchini, lbrush little olive oil, sprinkle salt, pepper, and oregno (oregno is optional, you can also use italian seasoning). Grill/cook the zuchini slices in the same pan for like 2 mins each side. Take them off in a dish.

Step 2:

Part 1:

Red Sauce:

Take the pan you used for making vegie filling. Add 2 tbsp of oil, almost 2 cups of tomato puree, salt, black pepper, little lemon juice, and little chaat masala at the end. let it simmer for few mins. Take it of the heat.

Part 2:

White Sauce:

Garlic paste almost 2 tbsp
Flour almost 2-4 tbsps
Milk ( I didn’t measure it, I was just adding from the bottle :bumme: )
Knor Chicken cubes—2 (if you don’t have chicken cube you can use equal amounts of chicken broth and milk or chicken seasoning or you can just skip chicken)
Oil almost 2-4 tbsp

Take a pan, glaze it with oil, add garlic paste, let it cook for a minute or 2, then add flour, let it cook for a minute or two, then add like 1/2-1 cup of milk. With whisk work on the sauce, get the flour and milk into a paste like mixture, slowly add more milk. Make sure the sauce is neither too runny nor too thick. Add 1 chicken cube and taste the flavor, if the favor is good and salt is little less then just add more salt to taste, if you feel the need of more flavoring then add the cube. Sprinkle black pepper.

Optional:
When the sauce is ready, take like almost a cup out and add green food color to the rest of the sauce.

Step 3:

Cheese Filling:

Ricotta cheese almost 2 cups
eggs almost 3
salt to taste.

In the bowl mic the above three ingredients.

Step 4:

Keema Filling:

Keema almost 1lb
Tomato puree
1 Onion finally sliced
Salt
Red Pepper
Haldi
Corridander Powder
Oil

In a Pot, add keema, spices, onion and little water. When water has almost dried out add tomato puree and oil. Bhoonafy it, sprinkle little chaat masala and your keema is ready.

Layering of lasanga:

1. Take a baking dish.

2. Lay your lasanga strips on the base of the dish. Then take your mix vegetables, spread them and spread some white sauce (turned green) on the vegetables. Make sure the sauce covers the vegetables. Sprinkle like 1/2 cup of low fat mozzaralla cheese on top.
    (Note: You can also mix the vegetables in some of the sauce instead of spreading the vegetables and then sauce on them.)

3. Lay another layer of lasanga strips. Spread some red sauce on it. Add almost like 3/4 of the cheese filling. Layer your grilled zuchini, spread little red sauce on the zuchini and sprinkle some mozzarella cheese on top.

4. Then cover it with another layer of lasanga strips. Spread little red sauce on them, add the keema mixture. Spread little red sauce on the top of the keema mixture. Cover it with lasanga strips.

5. Now spread almost 1 cup shreaded mozzarella cheese on the top. Make sure you leave 1/4 vertical strip from the very left side and spread the cheese on the remaining 3/4 of the top. Spread White Sauce that was not colored on the 1/4 part and green colored white sauce on the remaining 3/4 part. If your green colored sauce is kid of light green and you want to make the green part darker, sprinkle dried cilantro on the top like I did.

6. Bake it for almost 30-40 mins in a 350 degrees preheated oven. Take the lasanga out and sprinkle some mozzarella cheese on the white 1/4 part and put it back in the oven for the cheese to melt. Take it out. Garnish with chand sita. :smiley:

Let it set for few minutes before you dig in…:smiley:

For the 2nd Dish, since I had some of the strips and filling left, so I made lasanga rolls.

Mix the keema and mix vegetables. Take half of the lasanga strips. Make small rolls using the filling. These rolls will be open from ends so be carefull when rolling them. Take a baking dish. Spread some red sauce. Place your rolls in the dish. Spread the remaining white sauce on the top of the rolls. Then take your remaining cheese filling, mix some mozzarella cheese and spread that on the very top. Bake it for like 30 mins in the 350 degrees preheated oven.

Let it set for few mins before diggin in. :cheegum:

Please excuse my spelling, terminology errors, and other errors… :stuck_out_tongue:

well done to those who have participated.

:smilestar: to those who have not. I’m excluded mind.

here is what i can do in a very short time as i am having my exams so i cant have spare time for cooking. i have few other things in mind as well but they take a lot of time.

**Sabza **(using the recipe of zarda :p):cb:

Recipe:
rice ---------------- 2 cups
sugar ------------- 1/2 cup
cardamom-------- 5 - 6
clove -------------- 5 - 6
coconut
pistachio
cashew
raisins
oil
food color

1. Pre-soak rice in water for atleast 10 to 15 minutes.

2. In a large pot combine: water, cardamom pods, and food color; let it boil.

3. Slowly stir in rice, reduce heat, and simmer until rice is tender.

4. Now on low heat, fry the remaining cardamom pods, raisins, pistachio, cashew, coconut and clove in oil for about a minute. Stir in the cooked, drained rice, and sugar. Cover and cook for another 5 minutes on very low flame.

^^ Sheal great job done. Looks really great and very creative. :jhanda:

very creative sheal :k:

Indeed very creative and it looks delish! :cheegum:

wah bhai wahh kia baat hai ,,baazi jeet lee..;)