Ind Vs Pak 6th ODI Apr 17th ,New Delhi

Re: Ind Vs Pak 6th ODI Apr 17th ,New Delhi

India eye Afridi scalp in must-win match against Pakistan](Yahoo! Sports Singapore | News, Scores, Video, Schedules & More)

Stand-in India cricket captain Rahul Dravid says his team need to dismiss hard-hitting Shahid Afridi early if they want to square the six-match series against Pakistan here.

The opener smashed a 45-ball century, the second-fastest in one-dayers, in the fifth game at Kanpur on Friday to help Pakistan gain an unbeatable 3-2 lead in the six-match series.

“It will help us if we can get Afridi out early,” Dravid said ahead of the high-profile sixth and final match, to be watched by Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf and Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh amid tight security.

“We lost the last match because of Afridi’s remarkable knock. That made all the difference. One cannot do anything if somebody bats like Afridi did yesterday,” Dravid said before Sunday’s match.

The India skipper, who top scored for India with 86 in Kanpur, said he did not believe his team was under pressure even after losing three successive matches.

“It’s disappointing to lose three matches in a row, but we’ve played some good cricket in the series. We now need to have just one good day on the field. We have the potential to level the series,” said Dravid.

He said the team was motivated to win the crucial game, which is also John Wright’s last as India coach.

“There is always motivation to win whether it is somebody’s last match or not. John has been with the team for close to five years. It has been an eventful journey,” he said.

“We have valued his contribution. He will be missed not only as a coach but also as a friend.”

When asked whether the team would miss the services of regular captain Sourav Ganguly, Dravid said, “People also miss matches because of injuries. There are 15 guys in the team and everybody is keen to do well.”

Ganguly is eligible to play after he appealed the six-match ban imposed on him by the International Cricket Council for slow over-rate during the third and fourth matches of the ongoing series.

But the national selectors did not pick out-of-form Ganguly for the last two games.

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said his team was keen to maintain the winning run and clinch the series.

“Having gained the lead, we now believe that we can win the series. We are in a good position and will try to capitalise on it,” said Inzamam, whose team had lost the first two matches before staging a remarkable fightback.

“It’s good to see the way we’ve fought back. Even in the Test series, we came from behind to draw level. The players are confident after winning three consecutive one-dayers.”

Pakistan were trailing 1-0 in the three-Test series before bouncing back to win the third and final match at Bangalore to level the series.

“When we came here we were written off, but I am happy we have been able to fight back,” said Inzamam.

Re: Ind Vs Pak 6th ODI Apr 18th ,New Delhi

Dont get overboard my dear. Afridi had shown that he is capable of doing such massive hittings before as well. I have seen the yesterday Afridi hitting that was uploaded in the forum. He plays too much across the line of the ball. Majority of his runs came from midwicket to square leg area. The shot that he executed for the first six itself was a replica of how he got out on the 4th odi. Then there was a swing and it took the leading edge and the ball just balloomed into the sky and was caught. This time he connected with the meat of the bat and landed outside the boundary. He can get away with such hittings in a place where there is no trace of swing. He is powerfully built and like Jayasurya.. even if there is no timing , his power is enough to take the ball out of the ground.
Indians are too afraid about big hitters.. Be it Klusner , Heyden or Flintoff and Afridi and Jayasurya. Its no surprise that most of these peoples best have come against India. What Indians have to do is to be calm and mix up the delivaries. Only once did i see an Indian bowler bowling an Yorker. Balajis pace was easy pickings for Afridi, and he was too much straying around the legside. Kumble came in much earlier. And this was his first match of the od series. He didnt grip the ball at all. Afridi was sweeping outside the offstump to the leg. Zaheer bowled well but to Afridi i doubt he went a little too short. And in that pitch it came at a nice height to pull it away for Afridi.
Yes the damage what Afridi did was more mental and most of the bowlers were just puzzled to wear to bowl. Its clear.. his offstump.. that is where one have to bowl to ..and hope the pitch do something and Afridi mistimes it..and this time hopefully it will land inside the field than outside.

http://www.indiavarta.com/gallery/images/2005/apr/16/pa3.jpg

Caption the picture please..:smiley:

Aur jab marro…tou sirf marro…uss kay alawa kuch matt karo…kon tumhey poochay ga jab shaam hogi…a few journalists…awarding party…tv…a few presidents or dignitaries…subb bakwaas hai…this is academic…this is history…aur phir jab marro…tou sirf marro…uss kay alawa kuch matt karo…you the players come first to hit harder and to field sharper and to bowl in good line and length…and the rest come later…tou phir marro…sur sirf marro…harder! Hmmmmmmmm

PS: Shahid Afridi & Pakistan Zindabad! :jhanda: :jhanda:

^ Zabardast can you translate it please.

Thank you yaar for not doing my dhulai the same way as Balaji and Kumble’s. :smiley:

[thumb=H]pa30_9316459.JPG[/thumb]
One is pathan and the other is Sikh. Enough said :-D

:rotfl: Priceless!

Pak best win tomorrow...i aint waking up at 4pm just for the sake of it!
Although it'l be quite amusing if afridi doesnt live up to everyones expectations...he's a fairly dangerous batsman at times.

Thanks Fayzal .. i didnt know how to have the picture in the post itself. Hence provided the link.:slight_smile:

summary of the above picture :

Shahid Afridi: hor suna harbajan....kidda de lagge tennu mere chikke..
Harbajan: Oye afridi tu te yaar phatte chak ditte.. hun delhi de match de wich vi mein he tennu out kara ga..
Shahid Afridi: chal oye khaana kharaabi ki bachi, dekhi jawe gi...ik hor na century banae te mein vi pakistani naee..
Harbajan : Mann gaye yaar tennu..... well done !!

both shook hands.

Re: Ind Vs Pak 6th ODI Apr 18th ,New Delhi

oh yarrr, don’t worry…..we are very well aware of afirdi’s potential…he is a very talented player but we all know that he can not change his style and therefore would always be susceptible to an early dismissal. ..do you really think we are expecting him to hit another 50 or 100 in delhi match…hell no…we all know that most probably he will be gone after couple of balls but hell yeah, we all were thrilled by his kanpur’s innings and understandably so… but of course, no one is trying to match him with Viv richards or even Sehwag.

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD...I am sure pakistan will win..Inshaallah

per yahan per dekh nahi saktay.....i sooo wan't to watch it!

Yarro,I am just praying Allah Mian that we win this last match too but if it is not in our luck, i really really don’t want anyone from India to replicate afridi's innings.....I know that afridi’s inning has hit hard on Indians’s ego and sehwag, tendulkar or dhonie will definitely try to take a revenge today to restore their national pride and ego....May Allah sink their ego and pride further deep in Ganga Jimna. Ameen. Ya Allah Hindian kee topon (guns) may keeray dal day…….Ameen….

:confused: Is the game at 3:30 GMT :confused:

^ Yeah, it start at 11:30 EST.

is there any site where i can watch live even? if they charge for it

^^ check out willow and dish tv website

Ameen suma-Ameen :dhimpak: :jhanda: