In a difficult time ...

Re: In a difficult time ...

You are right, it is those times where we feel ashmed to identify with this country...It has seemingly become a dying python , with a status of failed nation.

we could do that but not untill musharraf don't leave our pakistan and return it to us we want our country back

return it to who ji? BB or nawaz?

amen

return it to democratically elected people whether it be anyone...kuch samjhe

ameen

Sorry, i dont want my country to go back to dictators like nawaz or benazir or parasite like MMA. kuch samjhe.

^ thats perfectly good, so long as you understand that this opinion should not have more impact than the opinion of any other person in the country .

Amen brother.

ok so you think that bb or nawaz are dictators what do you think of musharraf and how is he dealing with the situation by banning all the channels and do you think that your opinion is more effective than the rest of pakistan

the situation is worrying and i guess we are all praying but mush is to blame for their neglect in dealin with issues such as terrorism and

being power hungry. he needs to go - and so do benazir and nawaz. i want to remain optimistic but the sad thing is hope is diminishing and i hate to say it but if things carry on like this there maybe no more pakistan left. i know its pessimisti c and i guess we all feel this deep down and its a scenario many political commentators keep pushing forward and time and time again pakistan has proved them wrong by surviving fo much longer than they guessed and will continue to survive for longer than they can ever think insha allah.

whether we are abroad or in pakistan, nationalists or pro-pakistanis - we will all be affected if the situation becomes another iraq or afghanistan type quagmire. we all have loved ones there ad would hate to see any harm come to them.

PD, prayer and action are not mutually exclusive, and while we dont know what else Azkar has or has not done, we know one thing. he started this site and has been running it for years giving people a medium to connect, converse and learn. action is then up to individuals on how they want to become a part of the solution rather than a part of the apathetic masses, wo are all talk and no walk, all show and no go.

I share your skepticism about the indifference and inaction in our society, but maybe Azkar is not the right person to take it out on :)

May Allah help the country and its nation. The country is indeed going through very tough times. The public needs to speak out and get their voices heard if they really want true democracy.

Brother, though I think that there is nothing abnormal today, rather this declaring of emergency-cum-martial-law would bring Pakistan out of several quicksand traps, our prayers are always with Pakistan. Nevertheless, I think that apart of prayers we need to open our heart and mind too and start living in realistic world and start using the best gift Allah has given to humans, that is intelligence.

Unfortunately, many Pakistanis do not think and even though when they seems to know how to read and write, their values and beliefs are all result of blind faith and blind following. Their thinking is just like Bush, that is, either you are 'with my thoughts and beliefs’ or ‘against my thoughts and beliefs’. When it comes to hating they show extreme hate towards a person or group and when it comes to praising they show extreme praise for a person or group.

I think that once Pakistanis would start thinking themselves as Pakistani and start respecting the rights of other Pakistanis as equal to them in every respect, many ill from our society would go.

Just imagine extremists forcing their beliefs on others, is result of them thinking that their beliefs are right and beliefs of all others are wrong, and thus their beliefs should be imposed on all others in Pakistan. If they would think that what they believe and value is theirs and what other believe and value is others, and thus no one has any right to impose anything on others, as all are equal citizens of Pakistan. If that would happen, more than half of Pakistan problem would get solved.

If we Pakistanis have our political views and affiliations and realise that others have their right to choose their political views and affiliations, and that all are equal in this respect, and that all should respect others political views and affiliations, than one can imagine how many problems would get sorted out.

Hence, we should pray that Pakistan progress and stay united, but we should also pray that Pakistanis become tolerant of each other and learn to live as ONE, an united body though with different minds, values, and souls. We should learn to become a tolerant society, where we live the way we like to live and let others live the way they like to live, as all are equal citizens with equal rights that we as citizen acknowledge and respect.

**Ameen! Allah bless Pakistan

we are going through such a difficult time :(**

Pir Sahib thanks for inculcating some sanity into my thought process…..Although I stand behind my comments regarding frigidness of the Pakistani public, I sincerely apologize to Azkar….His intentions are of course sincere.

I would also like to admit that I did not know that he is the creator of this website (shame on me because I used to be a moderator! Somehow I always thought that Fraudia/pir sahib was the creator of the website). By doing so, Azkar has already done a wonderful job in making sure that we Pakistanis have a platform to express our views publically and share our emotions. This website, as I know, is the only established website among Pakistani e-community. So kudos to Azkar and his team.

no I am just a credit hog and take all the credit.
I was there when Azkar came up with the concept, helped him think through it, and then walked away. Azkar built the site and then Muzna got involved and the site really grew with that team, as they needed more help, Azkar pulled me back in to help him out.

I don't know if I should cry or laugh at how naive people can be. Are you talking about similar democracies which emerged post Zia's emergency/martial laws? I firmly believe that the future democracies will be even worse post Mushy. Zia nurtured likes of Nawaz Sharif, Altaf Hussein while Mushy still helping Altaf Hussein and nurturing Chodharies idiots of Gujranwala (?)... Can you imagine one of those idiots as your future Prime Minister? I guess YOU can if you can support Mushy then anything is possible.

May Allah swt help Pakistan, remove the cancers of the country. May Allah swt help us help ourselves rise against bad rulers, help us select right people, aameen.

Ameen!

Amen. And aside from just hoping and praying, lets also try to do something about it (though i dont even know where to start).