Ill health forces Wasim Akram to break Hampshire contract

Spock, in pretty much all sports there are get out cluses in contracts - especially for medical reasons, Wasim shouldn’t get into trouble - legal ramifications I mean. If a player is suffering ill health or injured (which is warranted by a medical certificate) then that individual has every right to pull out of any activity for the team in any period of time in which the injury is occurant. Basically he doesn’t have to play if he’s not upto it but that doesn’t mean he can break his contract - The most likely thing is that Wasim Akram will have talked to the Hampshire bosses and sorted out some sort of a package in which he can leave and nobody will lose out. Technically this could benifit Hampshire as they would still probably have to pay for the rest of the contract unless he did indeed break it - Even if he wasn’t playing though that of course would just be the standard wages which is generally not very much. It is different in each specific case - It depends on the circumstances I guess but usually an amicable agreement is reached without too much problem when it involved injury or ill health - of course irrelevant of whether a deal is struck or not the player can still break his contract - though there can be further ramifications. I hope you understood most of that - Sorry - I know its a bit complicated.

:smokin2:

Great info Talha !!

The pleasure is mine, undefined - As for Wasim’s farewell match well it will be likely that he will be able to play - though possibly just for the one match - how much more can he take? Do you guys know how bad he actually is? - He’s not in hospital or anything, is he?

Talha as far as I know ,Mashallah he is well now.He was advised by the doctors not to play for 2 weeks at least which means that he had to break the contract.Wasim will always be missed !!

Not neccassarily if it was just for 2 weeks - but that’s so long as its not a re-occuring thing. Wasim just basically wouldn’t have to play for time he was unwell or unfit - but eventually if it is infact an ongoing situation and he won’t be able to play for long amounts of time if at all again then he will probably be looking to start doing other things - and probably go back home - Now assuming that he lives far away and his contract stipulates that he can’t do anything else while he’s contracted to them then the only way to break free would be to kill the contract I guess. Plus after a whole I guess it must have been irritating him having to show medical certificated and notofication all the time - and having to be present for meeting etc etc knowing that he probably wouldn’t be able to play again - so if it was just a 2 week thing then I doubt it but if this is a re-occuring thing (and it has happened before) then I guess that would be the reason why. It also probably saved the club a bit of time and energy too in chasing it up - and plus they wouldn’t have to pay his basic wages for the rest of his contract either.

Or of course it could be completely simple as he may have a “Get-Out” clause in his contract leaving him to leave witheither a better offer or out of ill health or fitness problems or indeed for personal reasons - but I doubt that was the case in this case - I think he just couldn’t go on so on advice of his doctors he decided to call it a day.

Thank you for your comments :)

:) Wasim the best ! !

**Wasim asked to appear in court on September 9 **

By Waheed Khan

KARACHI: Wasim Akram’s problems since his retirement from international cricket appear to be increasing with every passing day.

On Monday a Civil court judge in Lahore asked him to appear before the court by September 9 in connection with a Civil interest petition filed against him or face ex-parte proceedings by the court.

It was the latest in a series of episodes for the famed Pakistan fast bowler where nothing appears to be going right for him.

Just few days back he was forced to end his contract with English county Hampshire due to ill health and now he has been pulled up by the Civil court.

**A citizen of Lahore, Fayaz Ahmed has lodged a petition against the former Pakistan captain accusing him of hurting religious sentiments of Muslims by appearing in an advertisement campaign promoting an Indian alcoholic brand.

Leading cricketers from other countries have also appeared in the endorsement campaign for the Indian brand, but the petitioner says they belong to countries and religions where drinking is not prohibited.

“But in Wasim’s case he belongs to a religion and country where having anything to do with alcohol is strictly prohibited,” the petitioner has said in his suit.**

Wasim, Pakistan’s most successful bowler in Tests and One-day Internationals, has already been dragged into a police case at the Darakshan Police Station in Karachi, where a person has lodged a report against him that he is involved in a breach of promise by not paying for the purchase of a jeep from him some months ago.

**“We are not seeking cheap publicity by filing this petition. Or we could have filed for a big compensation amount,” Ansar Mahmood Bajwa, the advocate for the petitioner said from Lahore.

“But we sincerely believe that someone of the stature of Wasim Akram has to be aware of the religious sentiments of the people while accepting such assignments.”

“We have asked the court to ask Wasim to make a public apology and tender a fine of Rs 25,000,” Bajwa said.**

Since he is England, Wasim obviously could not attend the Civil court hearing in Lahore and has now been told to appear in person and explain his position by September 9.

The Civil court judge Asma Tehseen has directed that advertisements be placed in newspapers asking Wasim to appear before the court by the next hearing on September 9.

“If Wasim does not appear before the said date to explain his position than the Judge has said that ex-parte decision would be taken against him,” the petitioner’s lawyer said.

Yaar inn logon ko chain nahin hai ?? Chain se jeenay bhi den Wasim bhai ko :<

**Wasim denies appearing in Indian ad **

KARACHI, July 23: Pakistan’s former cricket great Wasim Akram has denied allegations he appeared in an Indian liquor advertisement, a day after a court summoned him to explain his position over a private petition.

“The news that a petition is filed against me in a Pakistan court surprised me because I never featured in a liquor advertisement and can never imagine to break religious laws,” Wasim told AFP, speaking by telephone from Manchester, England.

The 37-year-old, who retired in May after an illustrious career spanning 19 years, was summoned by a Lahore court to appear in September to face charges he hurt Muslim sentiments by appearing in a liquor advertisement.

The petition, filed by a Pakistani citizen, Mohammad Fayyaz, last year, demands a public apology from Wasim and damages of 25,000 rupees (around US$400).

**“I think it’s a publicity stunt which is very common in Pakistan and I am used to it,” said Wasim. **

The petitioner’s lawyer Ansar Mahmood Bajwa denied it’s a publicity stunt and said it’s was a matter of principle.

**“I have all the documentary proof to substantiate that I modelled for cricket gears for an Indian company which has other businesses as well,” said Wasim.

Wasim is one of eight international players - including India’s Harbhajan Singh, Australia’s Glenn McGrath, Jonty Rhodes of South Africa, Mervyn Dillon of West Indies, Stephen Fleming of New Zealand, Marvan Atapattu of Sri Lanka and Andy Flower of Zimbabwe - who have modelled for an Indian company.** -AFP

No worries - though I should actually have a a lot more detailed and informative literature soon - I might post that… lol

That will be great Talha.

*Originally posted by Talha: *

No worries - though I should actually have a a lot more detailed and informative literature soon - I might post that... lol

Better have the link as well, because some guppies are going to ask for the link. HeHe