ICC trophy

*Originally posted by Question: *
**Ok guys so far my internet connection is working pretty good and I hope it stays that way for the whole game. I will be broadcasting the address is same if any of you need to know the address ask me or khiska howa.

I would also sugest you guys to download the latest version of win media player 9 which just came out (from microsoft web site) if you have version 9 I am sure you will be able to watch even better stream.

Goodluck and pray for you luck so that my connection stays good :)

Ab hum ijazat chahtay hain subha ke nashryat me aap say mulaqat ho ge from gupshup news Alah Hafiz

isn't it the beta version right now??

Colombo, Sept 11: Seldom has a cricketing event in the sub-continent seen such a lukewarm run-up as the 12-nations ICC Champions Trophy that gets underway in less than 24 hours in the Emerald Isles.

For it was the off-field antics of players and administrators that made news during the run up to the cricketing event of the year where all test playing nations plus a couple more are competing for fame and glory. It is anybody’s guess on whether the month-long sponsorship row has stoked cricketing passions or extinguished it.

With all cricketing nations sending their top teams, the matches would be high-tension encounters with at least six of the teams standing a realistic chance of claiming the trophy that was captured by New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming at Kenya two years ago after beating a resurgent Indian team.

On current form, one would have to rate Australia as the favourite, with South Africa, Pakistan, England and India being the other teams who could pose a robust challenge to the current World Champions. Of course the home advantage could be crucial for Sri Lanka, who have had an eminently forgettable one-day record in recent times.

If Ricky Ponting and his team of young, fit and extremely competitive Australians seem the most likely to walk away with glory, the South Africans would believe that they have a reasonable chance of upsetting new coach Allan Border’s apple cart, especially after their showing in the one-day matches Down Under earlier this year.

While the Pakistanis and Sri Lankans have been having a torrid time in one-day matches of late, one can never discount these highly temperamental teams who are capable of beating the world’s best on their day. With Wasim Akram reiterating his decision to retire next year and skipper Waqar Younis aiming to fortify his position as captain, the ‘Green Brigade’ could well spring a few surprises, just as a Lankan team led by Sanath Jayasuriya with a fully fit Muthiah Muralitharan can shut out any big opponent. However, only one of these two teams can qualify from Pool-4.*
Though Nasser Hussain’s England might not be considered a serious threat by the top two teams, it goes without saying that the Brits have tasted considerable one-day success in recent times with their all-round abilities – especially their highly improved fielding. However, the absence of the prolific Michael Vaughan could be a problem for Hussain as would be the injury to the burly all-rounder Andrew Flintoff.

The West Indians would be at full strength too though their over-dependence on Brian Lara could well mean that opposition bowlers will begin to breath easy the moment they get the left-hander. If the middle order led by Carl Hooper and S.Chanderpaul were more consistent, the Caribbean team has a chance against South Africa in Pool-3.

Amongst all the teams, it would be holders New Zealand who might have to pull a few rabbits out of the hat to make the semi-finals. Pitted against Australia in Pool-1, Fleming’s team is without key players like Chris Cairns and Craig McMillan and it would be indeed a major upset if they make the semi-finals.

As for the Indian team, the setting is just right for them to cross that final hurdle in the third edition of the biennial event. With a blend of youthful exuberance and battle-hardened experience, Sourav Ganguly’s team should consider itself a serious challenger though one must say that a great deal will rest on the quality of their fielding.

However, the return of the Young Turks led by Mohammed Kaif, Yuvraj Singh and Dinesh Mongia, the Indians would be well-served in the fielding department and with Rahul Dravid back behind the stumps, the team boasts of a better balance. Also, the benign Sri Lankan pitches could well bring out the best in Messrs. Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh.

The tournament gets underway with hosts Sri Lanka playing Pakistan on September 12 (Thursday) following which South Africa clashes with the West Indies on Friday with India taking on the ‘Red Devils’ from Zimbabwe on Saturday.

An interesting feature of the Champions Trophy would be that umpires would be allowed to refer to television replays for any decision that they are unable to arrive at in real time. This means that umpires would be able to refer even leg-before decisions to the third umpire to ascertain whether the ball pitched on line with the stumps. Already players have reacted adversely with Australian captain Ricky Ponting worried that it would slow down the pace of the game considerably.

The teams are bunched in such a manner that an Australia-South Africa and India-Pakistan semi-final face-off looks quite probable, though England and Sri Lanka could well spoil the party of the sub-continental neighbours in the league phase where each team plays the other two.

BEST OF LUCK TO BOTH INDIA AND PAKISTAN.HOPE WE CAN SEE AN INDO-PAK FINAL. :)

ICC trophy Begins in 4 hrs .................................................

Yaar, who is relaying the matches. Mujhee bhe batoo, I want to see too. Hum gharib loog hai hamara pass dish wish nahi hai bahi. :(

Just wondering.. who's showing the matches LIVE via Media Player?
Like I know Question Bhai only shows the Pakistan matches.. but what about the other games in the tournament? Anyone broadcasting those via the web?
Thanks.

well so far only Anees bhai is waisey what happened peoples champ to ur dish

Oh my Dish is working fine.. :D
Just my friend needed to know, if Anees bhai will show every match from the ICC Trophy?
Because he's interested in watching quite a lot of them.