I feel sad....

Re: I feel sad....

Pawar is also currently India's Agriculture Mininster in the Cabinet. Agriculture is still the mainstay of India's economy so it is a very important portfolio. Going by the amount of time Pawar appears to spend in soaking the Cricket related limelight, I wonder how much time he has for his ministerial duties. I ask why nobody is questioning this. Are parilamentary responsibilities so meaningless ?

Talking of Lallu Yadav, I see that you have bought into the popular line that he turned around Indian Railways. Is the Indian public so naive to really believe that Indian Railways can be turned around by just introducing khullars instead of regular cups in the pantry car. The fact is that he is presiding over Indian Railways at the time of unprecendented economic boom in the country. So obviosuly, freights have increased for the Railways - hence the increased revenues. To invite Lallu to Harvard and IIM-A so he could tell his turnaorund story was one big hogwash. He does not have any story. He is just at the right place at the right time. But it feels like a such a compelling and romantic case study to the theory-ridden management schools - A Village buffoon turned around Indian Railways. The man robbed a state off the last penny ( a state as big as some european countries) , then thrust his illiterate wife over 30 million people while ruling by proxy. Public memory in politics (just like in Cricket) is obviously too short.

As for BCCI, going by the amount of money that is on the table and the amount of public emotion that is invested, I feel that the BCCI should be run like a publicly listed company (even though it is not). The general public should be considered as its share-holders. Ideally , the guy at the top (CEO) should be a professional and have at least fair knowledge of cricket and be skilled in admnistration, finance, marketing and such. And it should be a full time position - not a part time gig by a heavy-weight politician.

I do agree with you about Hogwash of Harvard and IIM visit. But not giving him credit for Railway turnaround is little dishonest. If you are telling me that only economic boom is the reason for railways turnaround then we know economic boom has not been there for only last 2-3 years. It has been happening for more than 10 years now.How was Railway doing then?
He has done few good things. One of them is hiring some honest beaurocrats into his team and then giving them free hand. I know this information first hand. These guys are really responsible for doing this. I will atleast give Lalu credit of hiring best and giving them opportnity to bring change. How many politician in India do that?
Railways has definitly improved a lot.. Few examples...

1. Trains now run more on time than any time.
  2. He introduced the upgrade concept in Railways. Like if you have ticket of 3rd AC and some seat 2nd AC is vacant you will get automatically upgraded into 2nd AC with no extra charge. This has cut down into the corruption by TTs. I was upgraded from 2nd AC to 1st AC when I was travelling in India last month.
  3. Introducing online reservation and Increasing window of Tatkal Reservation to 5 days and making it little bit more costly than regular ticket. This has increased the Revenue for Railways cutting down private travel agent's business by big time.

4. Increase turnaround time of Frieght trains.

I think when we have right to criticize Ministers for poor performance of their Ministry we should praise others who are doing good keeping our personal preferences aside.

What will Lalu do to cricket remains to be seen? :D

Laloo (read lalloo) of all people. I am sure India can do better than that, I am sure they have far more qualified and deserving people than him *ka Laloo tuhaar gaon se hai bhyya :D *

Lets make Laloo PArsaad the president of BCCI and Sheikh Rasheed Chairmain of PCB .... phir bhaley teams worldcup sai baher ho jaeen at least in donoon kee wajah sai thora raunaq maila lagha rahey ga :)

(I also suggest Wasi Zafar as manager operations to bring more prime time audiance :D )

^^ Did u ever see Shaikh Rashid clips from 4manshow? they are awesome!!!!:D

oh yeah those clips are hilarious! Specially the one in which "Sheikh Rasheed" calls in during Amitabh's interview "aap ko matlooba sahaulat mohiya nahee kee gaee hai ...toot toot toot ... " :D

*No he's too abrasive. Being a ghunda himself he might even pick a fight with the chowkidar or Maali of Gaddafi Stadium *

^ sorry I was actually referring to Wasim Akhtar

The kind of info u get on gupshup nowadays is absolutely amazin...lol..i havent travelled by indian railways in quite some time....n all this is heartening to hear....hopefully i will get a chance to travel in the near future :D

tanks for the info fnb

I hope you do.It is an amazing experience in itself.

i wont belabor the laloo issue - f&b had made all the necessary points. you bring up a good point about the ministerial duties - that is not something trivial to be done with the bcci chairmanship. the main point i was trying to make was i dont see prior involvement with cricket as a necessary prerequisite. good management skills (esp ability / willingness to put the right people in place) is more valuable. such as would happen if this were to be a publicly run company. many hugely sucessful companies where the ceo has little to no background in the company's core business, but is picked based on his/her management abilities.

the reality is the existing cricket biraadri in india is so contaminated that the solution will have to come from outside this system. key question is what will be the driver for this change ? currently, there is none. BCCI is the only game in town, and desi cricket following (you and me included) will get over our disgust come the next interesting series and get back on the bandwagon. so no incentive for those in power to create any change. I am really hoping this ICL thing takes off and introduces some competition. that will be the only thing that gets the bcci off their butt.

Re: I feel sad…

Now this is the Sachin we want to see… ‘Sher Ghaas nahi khata’..Indeed…

Tendulkar (rhb) 89
95 13 2 90.00
10 (8b)

f&b , are you happy now? :D