I am in love......

Really great . Wonderful naure sites.

Loch Assynt, Highlands.

Quality is not good as I scanned the pic and reduced the size

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Loch_Assynt_Highlands.jpg

oh, I see… hence the name “Festival of the Horse” :-} Perhaps it would have been wiser to have paid more attention to that…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

Many many thanks for the helpful response.

Judging by the diverse castles, their respective histories, and Scotland’s historical relationships with neighboring European regions, it must have an incredibly rich heritage. Many thanks to Khan Sahib and yourself for posting all of these - each of the images in this thread has been quite impressive and beautiful.

[This message has been edited by Nadia_H (edited July 21, 2001).]

Thanks Nadia, Yes it indeed is a rich culture and people here are really proud of it.

I took this picture last month when I went to Highlands Games. These games are organised in different cities of Scotland every weekend throughout summer to make people aware of the Scottish Culture. Some people play the old scottish games of throwing stones, and big logs of woods as far as they can as you might have seen in the movie Braveheart. I had taken pictures of Scottish Traditional Dance but pics are very small but do have few pics that might give you an idea. I will post others later on.

Highland Games, Aberdeen.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Highland_Games_Aberdeen_2001.jpg

Tioram & Moidart Castle is situated on the west coast.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/scotland_Castle_Tioram_Moidart.jpg

Cleit Barra is the southwestern Hebridean Islands

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/scotland_Cleit_Barra.jpg

Loch Achray in Trossachs

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/scotland_Loch_Achray.jpg

Tantallon Castle, East of North Berwick.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/scotland_tantallon_castle.jpg

beautiful pictures indeed..i wish i had a flying carpet or something..or i wish i had some magical powers..so that i could have been to all the beautiful places in the world..

Eilean Donan Castle, It is a very beautiful castle and I have a much better pic than this one which I will post later.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Eilean-Donan_Castle.jpg

Glen Doll in Angus area

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Glen_Doll_Angus.jpg

Scone Palace, I visited this castle when we had the BBQ two weeks ago. There are a lot of peaccoks in the area.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Scone_Palace.jpg

Arsaig, It is like a bay area.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Arsaig.jpg

Picture is Gone<<<<<<<

[This message has been edited by khan_sahib (edited August 19, 2001).]

Originally posted by khan_sahib:
These games are organised in different cities of Scotland every weekend throughout summer to make people aware of the Scottish Culture. Some people play the old scottish games of throwing stones, and big logs of woods as far as they can as you might have seen in the movie Braveheart. I had taken pictures of Scottish Traditional Dance but pics are very small but do have few pics that might give you an idea. I will post others later on.

Many thanks for this informative explanation, Khan Sahib, much appreciated. Yes I saw those parts that you referred to in Braveheart. Just out of curiosity, how was that movie received in Scotland ?

Each of the images here has been simply stunning. I have to say I loved the picture of Eilean Donan Castle - it's a wonderful picture and reminds me for some reason of Qrius's Edinburgh Museum pic. Any region of the world always seems so much more attractive when you realize it has an extremely rich culture and history. Wholly agree with Qrius - wish there was some way to visit ALL of these beautiful places. :)

[This message has been edited by Nadia_H (edited July 26, 2001).]

i like the new added collection..and i have two questions regarding the pictures..in Eilean Donan Castle picture i can see some orange hills..is that really hill color or orange leaves of the trees.

Secondly, in Scone Palace picture i can see some thing orange too..is it the reflection or something or is it some kind of "bail bootay"

Nadia_H, Braveheart was quite well received here in Scotland. I know I want to go to all these places and sometime feel lucky that I am in the Europe as I can take weeek break and drive down to different parts of Europe.

Qrius, You are right about the orange colour as these are the leaves during autumn season. Also, the scanner is not very good and these leaves in the Scone Palace are actually Red.

Another pic of Eilean-Donan Castle at night

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/eilean-donan-mnk.jpg

Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam
Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa

Loch Katrine is 30 miles away from Glasgow and most of city’s water supply comes from this lake. Sir Walter Scott immortalised the loch in his novel “The Lady of the Lake”. There is a boat that take 4 or 5 trips a day of the whole lake and it is named after Sir Walter Scott. This picture is not an iota of it’s actual beauty that I saw yesterday. It should get 5 stars from me and a must visit if anyone wants to visit Scotland. The whole area of Trossachs is beautiful. A place called Aberfoyle might be a good place to visit for some good pictures. These places are near the town of Callander. The whole area is full of Lochs (lakes) and Glens. Beautiful Loch Ard, Loch Venachar, Loch Katrine Loch Achray and so many others are all nearby. We had BBQ at the Loch Vanechar. I will post more pics once they are developed.

Loch Katrine

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/scotland_loch_katrine_29Jul01.jpg

Loch Achray

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/scotland_loch_achray.jpg

Another picture of Eilean Donan Castle. It is indeed the most photographed castle of Scotland. It is built in the middle of Loch Duick

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/scotland_eilean-donan_castle.jpg