Hugging Each Others on Eid Day

Re: Hugging Each Others on Eid Day

Hmm

Rasm-e-duniya be hai , Moqa bi hai , DasToor bhi :)

diwana: I haven't seen that here with ABCD's and CBCD's but i imagine the few who do refrain from hugging is probably because they don't want to be come across as homosexuals when seen by locals.

Fg: You take charge and dictate to those one and two huggers that its supposed to be three hugs. After the first hug if they seem like they are pulling back, pull them back towards youself and proceed giving the remaining two hugs saying: Eid kay din haiy yaar teen baar galay lagtay hain.

you dont know the answer cuz u r a PBCD :p

Not this time. This talk was given in Makkah masjid.

Hugging is fine.

My cousin's have invented this manoveure where when they see an aunty who wants to give them pyar(on the head), they stand still, upright and don't bow down; so that their hair does not get messed up and their head is not massaged. The aunties end up patting them on the back.

Some people genuinely do not like hugging. One of my closest friends who I have know for years, hates being hugged and refuses to be hugged. Those that know her will not do it. It is all about what one is comfortable with and people should respect that.

I think hugging is a good thing and we shouldnt find faults in it.

No, it may not be Sunnah but not everything we do has to be from Sunnah as long as it isnt Haram. If you are greeting someone on Eid day in your own 3-hug way, what is the harm in that? Some people will go so far as to call it Bidat and wrong. Its not wrong.

My friend I did not question this Aalim's knowledge about religion.

I said he needs to learn a few things about human interaction.

I also did not emphasize on sunnah or not sunnah. Religious or not religious.

Next time you see that Imam ask him why he is using a motor vehicle for transport? It's not a sunnah in literal sense . The prophet SAW never did it nor he asked people to go and ride in a car.

You are using internet my friend. Its not a sunnah either... :-)

There are some rules in the religion as I understand.

"If it is not explicitly mentioned to be haram or prohibited then **(with some conditions of not breaking other religious rules) any act is permissible in Islam.**"

Hope you got the message.

It is not a sin or bad thing for people to embrace each other in happiness.

You are absolutely right.

It does become confusing and embarrassing for some who want to go for three hugs and others want to stop after the first.

But I think you just go ahead and ask or tell the person what is YOUR intention and either smile or laugh while telling.

If this person is a close friend tell this person and if not so close friend, then ask.

Problem will not be so big then.

Please try to write his arguments so we can all understand.

What is this got to do with respect or disrespect of Masjid?

Its such a beautiful view when people smile, greet and hug each others.

Disrespectful/ too uptight cousins? :-) What's wrong with getting a sincere loving kiss from older person on forehead or massaged on head?

Off course if someone is not really comfortable, someone should not force it.

I say, those who do not like having a friendly hug must not wearing a deodorant...LOL

lol.. I think I do know the answer but not sure or not wanting to accept.

Anyhow, did you mean,

Perfectly Born Capable Desi/Dude?

Or

Pakistani Born Creative Desi/Dude? ;-)

This homophobia has no boundaries. It should stay in limit I guess.

It is so funny that the same culture, which expects all others to accept real homosexual acts frowns over two same sex individuals simply hugging each others. LOL

Yes. Absolutely.....!!!!

You know this was sung with man and woman in there. Husband and Wife should do that..in privacy… :wink:

diwana, I really can't put the talk into my own words, next time I'll record insh'Allah..

and as for the Aalim, I don't think he meant to say hugging is bad or one should not meet n smile at another brother/sister.. he just clarified that some people have the intention that what they're doing is sunnah therefore getting more reward, it was his job as an aalim to convey the right message. that's all he did. he did not order anyone NOT to hug or NOT to greet..etc

again, i am missing more points to this but it's really a non-issue.
maybe TG can add to it.

Brother, you asked why people don't do it. So I just brought up one of the reasons that I've observed. At one time, people used to do it because they believed it was sunnah. Recently the awareness that it's not has been increasing. This was further proven when I saw that the majority of people didn't do the 3 hug greeting after being told that it was neither sunnah nor mustahab.

The imam was not at fault at all for clarifying the position of the act to the congregation, who were clearly confused about the matter. The imam didn't tell anyone not to do it, however he clarified the fact that it doesn't hold the position people believed it did.

Dear friends/brothers,

My intention was not to make it a religious discussion but I wanted to say that imam sahab should have clarified also that it is not a prohibited act either. Maybe he did but not mentioned in your post. So I will assume he did.

Passing comments or opinions by imams or someone who people look up to is a big responsibility.

He indirectly and unknowingly made people doubt the act as being good.

On special occasions, hugging is allowed.** Hugging at some occasion is a sunnah** by the way. May be not two or three times but why even worry?

Hugging and kissing, in the way described earlier, on special occasions is acceptable. It is a cultural matter that shari’ah does not object to. It was reported that when Zaid ibn Haritha came back to Madeenah (from a journey), the Messenger of Allah stood up to greet him, he kissed him and embraced him. (Tirmidhi) And when Ja’far ibn Abi Talib the cousin of the Messenger of Allah came back for Abyssinia, after his long absence, the Messenger of Allah embraced him. (Abu Ya’la)…

Eid Greetings: Hugathon or Kissathon? | MuslimMatters.org

I did mention that he said he’s not against people doing here, where I bolded the text:

I guess it must not have been very clear. So, he did say that he’s not against people hugging or that they shouldn’t do it. As cricketplaya mentioned, it’s not a sunnah, so there should also be no expectation of reward as if it were a sunnah.

Like I mentioned above, I did not want to make it a religious issue and just wanted to say that a good tradition is being questioned because of the misconceptions. Its a gay thing, or its not sunnah!!

We do a lot of good harmless acts which are not really sunnah. I also mentioned, the Prophet SAW did embrace people on some occasions. :-)

Eventually the Imam sahab or like minded people make people with good intention question their nice and kindly acts. Its a matter of semantics, but if Imam sahab (who people follow) had stated its still a good act instead of saying I am not against it , that would not have made people stop.

There are many issues to deal with rather than questioning a good friendly act.

I do not see the reason this matter dragged as well. :-)