How would we fix them?

Not sure what you wanna say!

Re: How would we fix them?

I mean i know bribe is corruption in practise but what would you advice me to do if to get the legitimate possession of property that i payed from my pocket i have to bribe LDA? I mean people who take bribes are the ones who hold the strings those who pay up are seldom left any choice in the matter.

I agree and iam sorry for posting such thing but my friend, we who are only citizens ( consulted once in a decade), and we know whats wrong and how to fix it, don't you think these so-called leaders know about our problems? and with these fat pay checks the advisors who are actually running the govt knows the exact solution of the problem?

and yet we don't see any right move, policy/strategy, willingness or atleast their acknowledgment of the problems ( as identifying a problem is half solution of the problem),

You can say that iam dissappointed and spreading the same, it may be a timely feeling, but it is true there is nothing on screen about which i can cheer up, although i have not lost the hope for prosperous Pakistan.

Thats what we are discussing, what YOU would do? Me and you might have different solutions, purpose of this thread is to see if all we do is criticise or can we come up with solutions too instead of just saying 'we know how to fix it', nomsayin? :)

I for one don't believe Zardari knows common man's problems. He doesn't know what a common man is going thru, how he is struggling to make ends meet, how fearful he is when he goes to work in the morning and coming back thinking he might be robbed, shot by dakus, kidnapped for ransom, police extortion, how uncertain he is when electricity will be ON and when it'll be OFF ... etc etc. I don't think Nawaz Sharif knows it either, nor did Musharraf.

These so-called IGs, DIGs show monthly status of "no crimes committed", "we are working on the crimes committed in past", "1000 criminals arrested", point being they just cover up crimes common man suffers everyday.

Even if these guys know 10-20% of the problems or 10-20% of the severity of the issues these guys are least bothered because they are not facing it themselves.

We are not talking about 'cheer-ups' here :).... Lets just see what are the possible actions.

some folks raised corruption as an issue, but I feel no nation on earth is free of corruption at the ruling level. However many nations strive and do a much better job than Pakistan. It is important to put checks and balances but we should know we will never be completely free of this. Human greed is there forever and will be there. We need to minimize its effects on businesses. On way to proceed is, to encourage privatization. Once we have the business layer isolated from ruling ranks, nation's economy will be shielded (to a large extent) from the political corruption as well as changes in the establishment.

When we talk about corruption, its not only the corruption of money and power, its the mental corruption as well that has gone beyond limits.
Let me share an interesting story which surprised me (shock will be a better word)
Pakistan was created on the name of Islam, and people here are very good Muslims. If you stop someone from going to namaz or roza, he'll literally kill you. I've a same instinct and probably thats why I thought to spend last few days of Ramadhan in Pakistan. After coming here I was reminded by my family members that there are two land plots of ours which are encroached by land mafia here and they are not ready to give it up. I discussed with some people here as to how can I get the plots back.

One day , just few days before Eid, I was in a iftar party.I met the same person I discussed this case before at Aftar at the spot where He was doing wudoo for maghrib namaz during which he spoke to me, " Yes bhai, Bus aap mujhe 1 lakh deden har plot ke lye, aapka kaam hojaega" I was so surprised that he is just out of roza, going for namaz , doing wudhoo and asking me bribe or persuading me to give the bribe!! He repeated his statement again after namaz but I'd to tell him that he is talking to a wrong person.
May be some of you wont be surprised but i was literally shocked. This is mental corruption. Every other person is corrupt here. Some people atleast think its bad but most of them have adopted it as a very normal routine of daily life. Lies, Bribes, thefts go along with namaz, roza, hajj in every one's life here.

Some people above mentioned that there is no other way and you have to go through all this, I'll say , mere bhai, burai sirf burai hai. No matter what, you have to try hard to avoid all these bad bad things. These are very fundamental things that is taught first by our religion. And if in any situation,you have to go through that, atleast consider it wrong, which as per my little knowledge, is the last stage of Eeman.
Please let me know if you disagree!!

Actually you are right on the mark. That is why i initially started in the thread by giving the suggestion of govt taking INTEREST in religion. I cannot for the life of me understand why in the last 60 or so years we have failed so miserably what our state started out to achieve. A right for muslims to practise their religion. No zakat reinforcement, no religious grooming, masjids are being left in certain areas to people who are as far away from islam as one can be. We have inherited the land but sadly people running the state into demise have also inherited the gora mentality. Hardly any madrassa is run by govt although looking at public schools i am reluctant to say whether govt would have done a better job. Pakistanis for most part will be interested in religion however our elite will not. For religion cuts at the roots of their corrupt lifestyle. Our religious education in normal schools is miserably redundant. Somehow we think finances and religion do not mingle. Which is far from the case. The corruption in our society be it moral,ethical ,political or financial is directly a result of Pakistani procrastination in religious education. We need to educate ourselves about the religion that most of us were born with. There are some excellent religious scholars still present in Pakistan (although people will differ) that would be more than happy to impart their knowledge. We have seen since the establishment of Pakistan that juda ho deen siyasat say tou reh jati hai changaizi. However this is something that cannot be achieved until or unless the silent majority of Pakistanis makes up its mind for once and for all. The divide in my opinion is getting more defined in recent years. I myself acquainted myself with islam some odd years ago. Somehow we always take islam for granted and we do so at our expanse.

Croquet-

I am not sure if we were set out to enforce zakat. Religion exists in pakistan in many flavors (sects) and they should all be respected and given equal space to express themselves. However, groups that resort to physical extrimism, should be taken out (using force). We know there are religious philosophies that encourage extremism, or put their law ahead of state's law. We can do without them.