hey sadzz, what does she do now...and why do you think theres not enough scope for her career?
she's an aerospace eng., doing her Phd at the moment...
hey sadzz, what does she do now...and why do you think theres not enough scope for her career?
[mod]Guys Remain On Topic![/mod]
You mean they only take people from good universities, as in from the uk? and whats a good uni......i mean i didnt go to cambridge or anything and i got 2.2,
thanks
I meant good uni in Pakistan like iba or lums.
Re: how much can i earn in pak, if i have a uk degree and masters
OK, so will they take someone whose spent their entire life in the uk, and has a degree and masters in the uk?I have heard they will and that they prefer non-pakistanis due to the standard of english, but wasnt sure if this was true
wow, thats tough. i doubt her career choices would be wider anywhere in the world with that subject. i suppose the usa is the best bet for that, but in either sense, with that degree she could get an excellent topjob in pakistan and live comfortably.
If you get a chance for an interview. You will be hired on the spot because of your British accent. ![]()
We desi get impressed with English/American accent very easy. So do not worry, you have a bright future waiting for you in Pakistan. Even if you did not have a foreign degree ,which is also in high demand in Pakistan, specially in private sector , you will get the best job .
OK, so will they take someone whose spent their entire life in the uk, and has a degree and masters in the uk?I have heard they will and that they prefer non-pakistanis due to the standard of english, but wasnt sure if this was true
haha it's sadly very true. ive actually heard of girls getting hired based solely on their looks, in top banks there.
besides looks, as long as u prove to be competent during the interview process theres no reason why a girl with an MBA from the UK wouldnt be hired specially if they are comparing u to other candidates from inside pakistan with the same qualifications.
Masters from dinky foreign universities are becoming dime a dozen in Pakistan and you'll be lucky to get paid a couple thousand rupees more than the local guy. Especially if the local guy went to the best local university (lums,iba,ku) and you went to a second rate foreign university.
The days of being treated like a royalty because of a foreign accent are over. Blame the language institutes that specialize in teaching accents.
Theres not too much scope with a 2:2 in UK, most prefer 2:1 or really high-fi jobs would ask for a first. So if like Sumorani mentioned lums students can be hired etc coz of the uni, 2.2 could be hard to get in with. I don't know if they do graduate schemes there? but if you are not experienced, the pay would be less at the start. If you want to get into banking and have no back groud, may be an internship would help?
^ bhai saab 2.2 in UK is good (or so i've heard). equivalent to our 3.5 i guess.
anyways moved to career and academics
Sara 1st in UK is 3.5 and above in US, 2:1 is between 3 - 3.49, while 2:2 in UK is between 2 - 3 in US.
quite misleading some people here, Nadz bro/sis you will have very decent chance of gettting interviews and the job. as already mentioned, english help you big way even without knowledge there!, some mentioned the "toups" from IBA/LUMS well not always you have to compete with them. even if you have to do , you can give them run for thier money. it depends how you come across with interviewr there.
also keep in mind, barring LUMS, IBA and few others. all Masters degrees from pak are equalant to first degree in UK, and MAsters from UK is considered M.Phill equalant in Pakistan or so.
your best chances are education in private and public sector unis /institutes are very bright and you also do that in evening along with your main job if you dont prefer to be a full time acedemic.
banks and big corporates are offering good oppertunities and a degree from UK does get noticed for job and offer.
so Good Luck, always aim higher and hope for the best!
this is quite an interesting topic...i was thinking of doing something similar and moving to pak..im in the middle of doing a law degree..and inshallah im on track to get a 2:1..i guess the bonus will be our accents..lol...but nowadays people in pak have perfect english..my cousin in pak speaks excellent english with an american accent mind u...
yeh but the english only comes from very well educated pakistanis there and regardless, i think seeing someone who really is from abroad will get them running after you
wow, thats tough. i doubt her career choices would be wider anywhere in the world with that subject. i suppose the usa is the best bet for that, but in either sense, with that degree she could get an excellent topjob in pakistan and live comfortably.
With science & tech fundings clamped, and SUPARCO/NESCOM (and other such organizations') fundings going down by new democratic government, I highly doubt it that anyone could get a good job in Pakistan with such a degree.
I would like to know the same what are the prospects of getting a job in the health field or even teaching etc? I am going to finish my BSc in Nutrition soon InshAllah with a GPA of 3.5 plus. What kind pay can one expect in the hospital environment?
In government owned (public) hospitals, the pay isn't that great, but in private hospitals & clinics, there is a lot of money. Actually, not only the demand, but also the supply of a skilled workforce (within the health industry) is very high and saturated. The only problem is that there are not enough hospitals to provide jobs for everyone, the business climate is very risky, and not many people are willing to take the risk of estabilishing their own businesses (i.e. clinics). That explains why there are so many skilled professionals emmigrating.
i have great hopes for foreign degree holders for finding good job in pakistan. but whether you will be paid the promised pay is another thing. my husband accepted a job in a famous medical college/hospital at a specific pay. but within 4 months they slashed his pay by 40% giving stupid excuses. so beware
Is being rude to people seeking help among your duties as a moderator? Why are you and Fayax ganging up on someone who is seeking sincere advice? Often times, people don't pay heed to their spelling while typing informally. Sometimes the hour of the day and the state of mind (stress) can influence spelling as well. And for this.....she's being insulted for her education???? She was insulted, FIRST! And then when she tries to defend herself......you both insult her even more? Where is the fairness or dignity in that? How immature!
Well said RV! :)
, english help you big way even without knowledge there!,some mentioned the "toups" from IBA/LUMS well not always you have to compete with them. even if you have to do , you can give them run for thier money. it depends how you come across with interviewr there.
Are you still living in 90's? I prefer smell a coffee, and come back to world !