How do you pull your kids out of sadness?

Re: How do you pull your kids out of sadness?

Good tip Muzna. All she may need to know that not only we acknowledge her sadness but we can also feel it/part of it.

Let me do that tonight, if she is still sad.

Awww Huggies for her....
i totally agree wth muzna tell her tht u r equally sad, n ask her elder sister to talk to her sometimes kids feel better when talking to their siblings n yes do talk to her teacher as well

isn't that what we all want sometimes?
Allah karay that you go home to a haNsti khelti choti.....but in case you don't it might be a good idea to simply show her that you accept that she is sad about something and assure her that it is okay to be.

while we hate to see our children upset about even the slightest thing......we have to understand that our children are not only growing in size but in emotions too. they will experience different feelings and we will need to help them explore them and deal with them.

maybe she is worried about something she is afraid to share?

maybe someone told her a sad story? kids can be very sensitive to such stuff.

aww... pls talk to the teacher and staff at school and make sure nobody is bothering her! girls r usually very sensitive esp at this age so whoever of u both (the parents) is closer to her should take her in confidence and have her tell you what is upsetting her.

i am sure you guys r the parents and it would be hard for you to see her like this and you would do whatever possible to get her out of this bad mood but pls figure out the reason soon and don't just assume that its just a phase.

DA, her older sister is very worried for her and tries to engage her in conversation, but it was not helping much.

Muzna, my kide are definitely growing in emotions faster than growing in size. :hehe:

Inpiron and Queer, that is what our guess is also. Either she is hiding a worry or hiding a fear.

ZK, one thing is sure that no one is bullying her at school. One of her best friends is on vacations and Sara (my daughter) is very selective about her friends and she is really missing her friend. Maybe that is what was bothering her.

BTW guys, you all are very sweet. Thanks for all the inputs. Its helping a lot. An the last update is that NIks went to school to drop cupcakes for Sara’s b’day party (she turned 6 yesterday) and Sara was in her usual happy jolly mood. Just pray that she continues to stay in that mood.

She'll be fine inshaAllah.

inshaAllah. you may also recite 4 Qul and phonk/dam on her.

Awwie. Ho sakta hai, why don't you have her talk to her friend? maybe she'll feel better :).

Inshallah LP.

Thanks STA, I am sure she will be fine by tonight.

ZK, good idea. Will ask her to share her feelings with her friend as soon as the friend is back from vacations.

TLK Bhaiya, adding on to what others have said, it sounds like something has happened to cause her anxiety/pareshani..either she heard something at school, or saw something..and it could be something totally innocent like a bird flying away from the nest and leaving it's eggs behind or she heard about something that happened to someone she knows and doesn't quite understand. Children are masters at internilizing confusion and it often manifests itself as sadness. I think Niks definitely should talk with her teacher to see if this is an issue in class as well, or if something did indeed happen to trigger such emotions. It could also be something as simple as she's just going through a growth spurt or something and wants a little extra attention.

I go through this with Thing #2 from time to time...like a few months ago, my husband was taking the boys to the dollar theatre, and I wasn't going because I had some other work to attend to..they went, enjoyed, came back..end of story. About a week later, Thing 2 is sitting on the floor outside his bedroom holding his head in his hands and sobbing...I immediately asked the usual questions...did you get hurt, did you fight with your brothers..what happened etc..all I could get out of him was "I'm sad"..after about 20 minutes he finally opened up and said "I wanted to take my Mommy to the movies..." For the life of me, I couldn't figure out what he was talking about! And then it hit me..he was sad because I did not accompany them the previous week to the movies and I usually don't go on alot of the outings with them on weekends as that's when I do a majority of my real estate work. The poor little guy had been internalizing that for god knows how long! So I have made a concience effort to change up my work load on weekends so that if their Papa is taking them on an outing, I can go with them as well.

OMG! Ask me about a hormonal 6 year old!

She skipped school yesterday because she wanted to spend her birthday with mommy. I had just returned from a 5 day work trip so there was definitely some missing mommy there. No matter how awesome her dad was during my time away, she does need mommy :blush:. Then her best friend is vacationing in Hawaii. And she thinks I give her too much to eat in her lunch box.

If you look at all these, they small like little reasons but for her they are BIG.

Today I went to her school to drop off goodies for her birthday. She was eating her lunch happily and I had a word with her teacher. Her teacher said that she’s been sad since I was away and mentioned it every single day at school that she is missing her mom. Nothing wrong with that…perhaps a little insecurity developed.

But she’s a happy camper now. Back to her silly self.

Thank you all for such great tips and wishes.

:alhamd:

This is such a sweet yet painful testimony Khatti. Thanks for sharing. It only shows how fragile our little bundle of joys are, emotionally - and unknowingly, how much we (the parents who love them most) can hurt them. Man, parenting is hard. :(

Coming back to your para # 1, I am also sure that its something she heard or saw that made her sad, and as good as her memory it, maybe it was someting that her subconscious mind registered and left her with the feeling of sadness without the memory of actual incident. I just got a report from her mother that she reached home from school and is very happy right now (our new leather couches were deleivered this morning and they just saw them and jumping on them :D). Lets hope that she remains that way.

^^TLK she is happy not because of the couches but because she’s with her mama. Admit it :emmy:!

Mama was with her yesterday also :(

^^^ Haan, yeh toh hai :hmmm:

Niksik, there you go... thats the reason. She is missing you and with her best friend not around either at school... it must be hard!

Munchkin started bawling one time (before she was 4) when she found out Khala was getting married and going to move away. She had a few teachers leave the centre at the time, and with another person leaving, it was all too much..

Inshallah chotti will be ok, she just needs you back :)

Believe it or not but I'm sure Nikki baaji is reason coz she was away...

When I was a kid in vacations my nani used to take me with her to her city and I used to miss my mom alot and I couldn't say this to nani coz she might get hurt that I don't want to stay with her... :(
Insha Allah she will be happy now ..and may Allah SWT keep her happy healthy forever.