How do you pick a Scholar/Madhab to follow?

Yes.

^ Yes what?

Ideally, on each issue we face, we will like to carefully read the appropriate parts of Quran (and other literature), look up the opinions of different scholars, weigh the evidence they have used to come to their conclusion and then determine which opinion is stronger, and follow that. Practically not everyone has the ability or knowledge to do all that, so they take the easy way out of relying on an established scholar for day-to-day issues. Thats all.

^ Yes. But i wouldn't necessarily call what they do the "easy way out". They are doing all they are "capable" of doing. No problem.

*Originally posted by gupguppy: *
Then ThandyMazaq's point is proven. Choosing the easier option with no regard for the evidence isn't really an option.

Refer to my example... which of the two options is the easier? You've also now added the words "more authentic" which again shows that something being easier or not has little to do with it... it all boils down to the strongest evidence (the very point ThandyMazaq was making i believe).

gupguppy, i dont know what your arguing about..
I didnt disagree with ThandyMazaq.. i said 'jazakallah'.

MyStiCaL_MisS: "I've found Hanafi school to be more easy and simple than others, so just follow Hanafi."

ThandyMazaq: "i think following something just because it is "easy" is soooo wrong. we need to follow the evidence and not what fits our whims and desires."

MyStiCaL_MisS: "The Prophet saw has said, if you find two paths, one hard and one easy, take the easier one."

Where's the agreement in that?

*Originally posted by gupguppy: *
MyStiCaL_MisS: "I've found Hanafi school to be more easy and simple than others, so just follow Hanafi."

ThandyMazaq: "i think following something just because it is "easy" is soooo wrong. we need to follow the evidence and not what fits our whims and desires."

MyStiCaL_MisS: "The Prophet saw has said, if you find two paths, one hard and one easy, take the easier one."

Where's the agreement in that?

Theres no disagreement there..

^ So you agree the evidence is the important thing, not whether something is easier or harder?

I follow the silsila naqshbandi, and consider myself as a follower of jalal uddin rumi.

how did i pick it, the simpicity and the logic and common sense and the part of belonging to something greater got my attention.

yeah yeah I am a heretic and all, you are free to throw anday piyaz timatar etc, i will just make an omelette.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

yeah yeah I am a heretic and all, you are free to throw anday piyaz timatar etc, i will just make an omelette.

That's just it. Most scholars that I have read do not say to go around insulting ppl that follow a different madhab/scholar. It's fine for ppl to tell you what they believe is the better way and produce some evidence for their thinking, but if you dont accept, I believe the proper thing to do is to leave it be, and not insult.

well yeah we are not scholars so we cant be sitting and doing ijtihad or criticize the fatwas of scholars, but what we can do it search around for what other scholars have said about it.
you will see the truth after you look for it in different areas inshallah. as long as the scholars are sincere, they will not resort to lying for their arguments, so you can easily find which argument has more strength. such as if some imam follows hadith that the hands should be below the navel during prayer, he will just cite the ahadith that he has found. but he will not deny that there are other sahih hadiths that tell other wise, to put hands on the chest. but the scholar who says that the hands should be on the chest will acknowledge the hadiths about the hands below navel and will explain that why they are weak, so the hands should be on the chest. if he cites some major ulamas of hadith who said that the hadith was weak about placing hands below navel, it would make his stand credible and we can safely follow it. that is how normal laymen should judge evidence.
one advise is to reject any loyalty to any sheikh or any one.
do not love any one, not even prophet mohammad :saw: independent of allah. because i have seen many people who love muhammad rasul allah :saw: so much that they take him to the level of allah. that is because they love mohammad rasul allah :saw: independent of allah. we should love mohammad rasul allah :saw: more than our mothers, fathers, sons, daughers and ourselves becuase ALLAH has COMMANDED us, and for no other reason other than that. abu talib also loved muhammad rasul allah :saw: , but since he loved him independent of allah, according to the consensus of the ahlul sunnah wal jama, he is in hell. so even loving prophet mohammad :saw: can not get us to jannah if it is not for the right reason and that is for the sake of allah.
may allah guide me and you all..

Re: How do you pick a Scholar/Madhab to follow?

*Originally posted by Munni: *

eligibility}I'd like replies from those that have actually considered doing this, and have done so, or have had difficulty in trying to do so. Thanks.

1}I have looked a little bit into the different madhabs and am going over the traditions of fiqh in each. What I have found is that I like a little bit of each.

2}How do you reconsile yourself with just following one madhab?

3}Or do you "pick and choose"? What if there is a scholar you really like, but you dont agree with 15% of what he says?

4}Or do you just follow what your parents taught you and not look further into things?

the holy prophet (pbuh) said my companions r like stars,follow any one of them to succeed

eligibility}i am sorry MUNNI,although i havent ever tried doing it or even considered it i certainly have listened to people n observed their distress.and i always ask myself "wat made them pursue this line of thought,have they reached the peak of their madhab n found it non-satisfying or is their ego which makes them think that they r better or shud b better as in being a follower or being a believer.well setting aside this question i will share my thoughts.

as i see it there r 4 issues u r dealing with or sub issues of one big issue.i will address each one separately.

1}fiqah is not easy.the scholars have spent many years learning how to think and understanding their respective areas .u like a little bit of each.OK!!!even great scholars disagree on major issues based on IJTIHAD(personal view) and IJMA(consensus of scholars).liking or not liking has nothing to with it dear.it is understanding and wat gives it an identity is wen u see it as whole not liking just one part.do u think ur way of thinking is correct?how much do u know of each?how much have u studied?

2}wen n why did that question arise?isnt taqwa the basis ?one madhab or two madhab taqwa is taqwa ,love is love,modesty is modesty,etc.wen a person has taqwa even the suspicion that something is bad although a fatwa or mullah may say otherwise is enuff to make u avoid it,isnt it?

3}scholars have spent years n years studying and u dont agree with just 15 percent after studying it for how many years under how many teachers.plz specify MUNNI or ask urself again the question r u eligible to agree or not with 15 percent.

4}well y the hell not?nobody asks his or her mom to show them the marriage certificate.she says that bald fat guy is dad n we agree that is dad n love him for the rest of our lives.did u ever want to question y u r a muslim for u r a muslim by birth as i remember?have u followed n studied wat ur parents have taught u to the last detail?have u practiced it?maybe if u try to follow it completely asking allah for guidence , ur maslak or madhab will give u peace.

just mastering the knowledge of a single madhab like hanfi will take many years .and THEY R MUSLIMS RNT THEY?so wats wrong in following them?

i am curious MUNNI,wat made u look around?wat stimulus made u start asking questions?wat r u looking for exactly?PLZ SHARE.

i have shared my thoughts with u as an ordinary guy who thinks this particular way.i am no authority.plz forgive me if u r offended in any way and plz respond to this.

be careful of one trap plz,shariat n fiqah r sensitive.those who say....ummmm we will talk abt it some other time in private shud u choose to coz i dont want to annoy people.

thank you.

gupguppy, yes, i never said evidence is not important.

Fraudia, im a student of shadhiliya, my teacher is frm syria.
if you dont mind,,can i ask..if youve attended any schools or have studied under a sheikh?

So then what does this mean:

MyStiCaL_MisS: “I’ve found Hanafi school to be more easy and simple than others, so just follow Hanafi.”

Doesn’t seem to have much to do with evidence? :konfused:

brother i think she just said something by mistake, and since she has accepted that evidence is more important, then i think we should leave her statement.
and on another note,
that hadith that my sahabas are like stars is daef.
for a list of commonly qouted weak ahadiths, please visit this link

^ :k:

again a debate for sake of debate......:(

*Originally posted by MyStiCaL_MisS: *
Fraudia, im a student of shadhiliya, my teacher is frm syria.
if you dont mind,,can i ask..if youve attended any schools or have studied under a sheikh?

Oh I dont mind answering this question at all, as long as I dont have to go in any more details. so tha answers are.

yes, and yes :)

Fraudia :) jazakallah.

ThandyMazaq, I didnt say anything by mistake, please read carefully of what is said..
gupguppy, u too, Read and Understand of what is said..
n u havent answered munnis' initial post..

Re: Re: How do you pick a Scholar/Madhab to follow?

I have sent you a PM with my response, Karakush. smile