How did your rishta come about?

Re: How did your rishta come about?

Kyun Orpheus Sahab? Apko kyun ghussa araha hai?

oh no i made him angry

CE goes and hides underneath bed

Did you read what CE is saying, calling me female of the species.

...for the purpose of clarification for the general public, i summarise and am saying rose did'nt have to do that whole chai saga....comprende CE?

making a mental note *Take some tissues with you when you goto the some “tea party”. *

there there… Orphy… :hugz: Not all of us born with that British common sense & humour. :hehe:

Comprende:salute:

but then what did rose give you, rose water? :mudhosh:

i chatted to my ex on te phone for few mths got to know her n that n then when i went to paki met her family few times n got to c my ex on our weddin day. anyway 5yrs later we divorced lol -:p
nxt time am planning to meet the girl face to face b4 i say yes

^opppps

The one and only time i faced this situation. and no i dint wear my duputta on my head (i was wearing some crap ugly suit), and i didn’t serve tea..just sat there and munched on nimko :@:

i was in pakistan at the time, parents and i were getting ready to go to my nani’s house cz guests were coming over… i was sitting, bored as usual, and the guests came and my parents went to greet them…now in my mind i was thinking…hm…when will I get to see a rishta thinggy? (i think i had read the 10231208732187th thread on the chai parade on here so thats why it was on my mind) and lo and behold it WAS a rishta thing :smack:

the family came in, the mom when she shook my hand just stareddddd at me like she was checking out my blackheads or something. at one point my aunts n my mom were in the kitchen and i went to “help” and my mom actually told me to check out the guy across the room, (yah that was weird!). Him and his brother and dad were sitting with my dad and the uncles, the guy was sharmaying but the brother was staring right at me :bummer:

anyways so we were talking and i said something, she asked the typical questions abt what i do, y hobbies etc, the convo turned to something else and i gave my opinion on it (apparently that’s a BIG NO NO!)…the night ended, aunty was pretty nice and welll…the rest is history :smiley:

Mine went pretty traditional... He's from our family (never seen him though)... **
**Two meetings before our engagement.... The first time they came to our house, none of us remembered eachother... then he decided to establish first... the second time few days before our engagement... then the engagement day, and lastly the day when he have flight abroad... and we're going to marry next month, IA.. And surprisingly that arranged sequence turned into love (dont ask me how:P)

Its all pre-decided by Allah, I have a strong belief!

Forgotten to mention the feelings.... I already told both of us didnt remember the first meeting... But whenever like someone came to our house to see me or to propose me... and whenever my mom told me, I was like..... Kia bakwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaas ha! But then what to do... I gradually knew over how to control it...Simple they are approaching you, not you! then what and why to ashame of.. The feeling had made me confident... Shyness or confusion is natural....

And when HE appoached me, when we knew that we gona engage few days after... and when he asked that he needed to meet me... I turned really pink! Mannnnnnnnnnn what is this! When everything is final, then why now he's meeting... I was more than confused... I asked all my cousins to stay with me even when he entered the room...the cousins were there even when we were talking. lol. We talked every second issue other than ourselves!

and now he's saying that I was behaving very confident the day.. behind the confidence my voice was shivering!

The purpose of the meeting (which I aksed later from him) was he wanted to see me in detail plus he wanted to know, is there any pressure on me from the family or my conent is involved too.

That's all about it.. No thrill.. A simple arranged one!

lol @ johnny lever!!! i cudnt stop laughin. seriously, tight curls??? whats the world comin too:smack:

^ The End!

I never did any of the trolley business either it looks so uncomfy for the girl.. what's more uncomfy are the stares and glares u get!

awww.. shoooo shweet! sometimes the beauty lies in its simplicity :)

very sweet tashfeen...

Thanks for all the replies.

I've had loads of people come over and had to do the tea trolley thing, it is awkward, but I'd rather that then someone suggest I talk to them on the phone first (I don't want to give out my mobile number to a random person), or meet alone for coffee first - again I don't want to meet a complete stranger!

Besides which I'd like to see the whole family and see what my potential MIL is like.

But I do hate when they ask: What are your hobbies...I never know what to say. So end up mumbling something like:

• Reading - then thinking I sound like a nerd
  • Cooking - thinking I sound as though I'm trying to be the 'ideal' DIL
  • Gym - thinking I've given the potential MIL some ammunition and now they're also all probably thinking it doesn't look like she goes gym
  • The usual cinema, restaurants - thinking that they'll think I'm some 'awara' type
  • Painting - thinking the guy'll think I'm too 'homey homey', and never like to go out

^ good thread hon,

i went to a wedding and the guy's Aunty came up to me, and introduced her daughter to me and said "my daughter would like to take a picture with you" and i was thinking heh?
b4 i could even answer all she said was "dont mind" and her daughter was standing next to me and 'click' 'click' then later when i told my cousin she told me the story behind it....desi Aunties are well funny...

I never brought chai etc for any rishtas. My sis did all that (she is younger than me) :D And when it was her time, i was off being married and all. Luckily she didnt go through alot of those.

One tip i would like to share is to be just you. Dont try to pretend and be something you arent. When my husband's rishta came, he brought an older uncle with him since he didnt wnat to come alone. We had spoken on the phone before and we were both very straighforward about things. No beating around the bush for either of us. When he came to meet, we talked some infront of our families about some main things.

The rest is history.

My rishta is yet to come lolz

So what was the plan? To show your pic around? The aunty sounds kinda scary :|