Hindu-Christian clashes kill 8 in eastern India

Re: Hindu-Christian clashes kill 8 in eastern India

Why is that in Pakistan,for all communal riots ,muslims are always there on one side?We have not heared abt a Hindu-Christian clash or Christian-Parsi or Hindu-Sikh riots in Pakistan....

Ravage what about Muslim vs Hindu **or **Muslim vs Sikh or Muslim vs Christians or Muslim vs Jews **or **even between Muslim vs Muslims :hehe: have ever read the history? or your knowledge is totally nil since childhood? :stuck_out_tongue:

:hehe: Our friend is only interested in cricket matches in which India lost.

^^ So this justifies killing of Christians by Hindus?

That is because there arent very many Muslim-Christian or Muslim-Parsi or Muslim-Anything riots to begin with :slight_smile:

Not even Muslim-Muslim riots either… while we do have a problem with organized groups of Muslims fighting other organized groups… the phenomenon of entire communities rising up and going around burning and killing members of other communities is really a very Indian cultural feature, and is no way a typical occurrence in Pakistan.

Dont get offended yar. The Muslim world has lots of problems, lets get that clear from the outset.

Now coming back to the topic.. it is not enough to point out isolated incidences.. they do not make a pattern. I am not aware that Muslim-Sikh or Muslim-Christian communal riots is an issue in India. Whenever I have heard of rioting i.e. sizeable chunks of communities going against others, in India, one of them has always been the Hindu community. Thats the only observation Im making.

True, nothing interests me more than seeing India lose.

When entire community rised in india and start killing people? if that would have happen not a single muslim would have left in india. Dude we are 80 crore hindus and if entire community has done such henious job then not 2000 but 20 crores muslim would have been dead. Think before u write.

yaar. when I say community obviously I dont mean every Hindu, I mean a sizable group within a local community, everyday people from a community, not trained militia specifically created for fighting.

Would you be interested in levelling the score? What is the point? You want to kill 1000 of your countrymen if 1000 are killed in Pakistan? Good justice system you guys have there, I thought it was only Taliban system working that way.

Dude you used the word "entire community".well..dont want to dig deeper ,culprits from both side should be punished.

take it easy...no ones interested in levelling the score but are curious to know the number of people killed in the land of pure and mind u these souls are guided none other than quran as told by jinnah and took a piece of real estate from us....

the number of people killed in kaafir land is just a fraction when compared to the mayhem in kurram agency...nearly a hundred killed in the last couple of days..

hope u got the point...by the way wats the score today???

Big mistake, no one took a piece of real estate from YOU, we took the land from Brits who were the ruling party. If you really want to know the score save it for separate thread and forum (PA), the topic at hand is trouble in India. I know truth hurts.

By the way, what happened to democracy where all is calm?

Before I start, it is important to clarify that I have no love for the VHP or the Hindu religious parties. The state govt should have not let this mob violence happen. This is the test of any government’s efficiency in law and order. My sympathies to all the innocent Christians who have been affected.
Having said that in this part of the world (South asia) justice by mob violence is fast becoming the norm. This is because of the partisan politics and general nature of politics.
Now going to the root of this problem is quite necessary. Religious conversions in India by propagation / proselytising is very dangerous when there is a emerging view in the Hindu community that they have always been discriminated when it comes to policies. This is the crux.
We do not want even want to dicuss what would happen to any missionaries trying to convert in Islamic countries.
In 1967 Orissa was the first state that enacted a law prohibiting conversion from one religion to another **by using force, allurement, through inducements like gifts or gratification and grant of any benefit, either pecuniary or otherwise, or by fraudulent means. This was to stop the coversions of the tribals. The implementation as usual as been haphazard and I would say to the benefit of the missionaries. Nagaland become a Christian state thanks to these missionaries. **Can you imagine this in any other country – Saudi, Pakistan, China, Itlay?
Later on in the court a prominent case challenging the validity of the Orissa Act, Chief Justice A N Ray in Reverend Stainislaus versus State of Madhya Pradesh (AIR 1977 SC 908) and Yulitha versus State of Orissa and others ruled that propagation is different from conversion. Adoption of a new religion is freedom of conscience, while conversion would impinge upon freedom of choice granted to all citizens alike. After examining the different meanings of the word “propagate” in Article 25(1), Justice Ray expressed the view that “what Article 25(1) grants is not the right to convert another person to one’s own religion by exposition of its tenets”.
My point is that the acts done by Missionaries are not lawful and if the state does not act then these incidents will more frequent. If you cannot enforce your own laws then this violence is the result. And it will be at the cost of the minorities and will benefit the VHP’s etc much to our chargin.
We are fooling ourselves if we believe that Hindus or any other community will not retaliate but accept these blindly.

As usual the whole thread has been turned into pissing contest.

It is really unfortunate that such clashes occur anywhere, but when it happens in India it is particularly sad because we are one of the most tolerant democracies in the world ever, in spite of being only 62 years old under this system.

When somebody from Pakistan points out this kind of atrocity, the first reaction may be to lash out back and point out to the similar or worst atrocities that occur daily there in Pakistan but that does not make what happenedin India any less condemnable.

We have to acknowledge our failure and work towards bettering ourselves even further instead of lowering the bar and feeling better because the other guy has even worse problems.

True that! Thats what I try to tell people but they want to feel better by asking "whats the score in FATA today". Resolving of problems require admitting the existence of problems first, by turning a blind eye or saying "they have it too" is not going to work. Pakistan has problems we admit and are trying to resolve it. Lets keep the two issues separate.

no ones feeling good after reading about violence in ur country....the point here is those killed in india is just a fraction of wats happening in ur country right now...

violence in india is a rare phenomenon ....

Schools were shut for a protest against the killing of the innocent lives.

MUMBAI, India---- Thousands of Christian-run schools and colleges across India were closed Friday to protest recent Hindu mob attacks on churches and homes in eastern India that have left at least 11 people dead.
Violence has rocked Orissa state since the killing of a Hindu leader last week, which police blamed on Maoist rebels but Hindu activists pinned on Christian militants.
In apparent retaliation, Hindu hard-liners set ablaze a Christian orphanage Monday, killing a Christian woman and seriously injuring a priest. The violence has spread to include mob attacks on churches, shops and homes.
Orissa has a history of Hindu-Christian clashes generally fueled by Hindu suspicions about missionary work among the rural poor.
Roughly 30,000 schools were closed Friday to condemn the violence, said Joseph D’souza, president of the All Indian Christian Council. Churches planned hold special services to pray for peace and solidarity, he said.
‘‘The peaceful protest by closing schools and colleges is a signal to those inciting religious hatred and disharmony,’’ said Babu Joseph, spokesman of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India. ‘‘The government must hold an independent inquiry into the Orissa killings.’’
An additional 12,000 Roman Catholic educational institutions joined in Friday’s shut down after a meeting in Mumbai.
Archbishop Oswald Gracias called for the government to better protect minority groups.
‘‘Innocents should not be targeted,’’ he said. ‘‘We have appealed for calm.’’
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh told the Catholic Bishops Conference of India in a meeting late Thursday that the Orissa incidents were a ‘‘national shame’’ and promised the government would make every effort to restore normalcy, the Press Trust of India news agency reported.
During his weekly Vatican address, Pope Benedict XVI said the attacks had ‘‘profoundly saddened’’ him. He also described as ‘‘deplorable’’ the killing of a Hindu leader, saying he was against ‘‘any attack on human life.’’
Christians make up 2.5 percent of India’s 1.1 billion people and relations between them and the majority Hindus are mostly peaceful. But the issue of conversions triggers fury among hard-line Hindu groups.
Hindu groups say Christian missionaries promise employment and money in return for conversions, but Christian groups deny bribes or coercion.
Last year, four people were killed and nearly 20 churches destroyed in similar clashes in Orissa.

Indian Christian schools shut to protest violence :: CHICAGO SUN-TIMES :: World

PM Manmohan Singh is right it is a national disgrace. India must be an example when it comes to protecting all minorities. The culprits must be caught and punished. I hope justice is served. Bravo the the protestors for adopting a peaceful method to show discontent.

May the deceased rest in peace.

In the heat of arguments here, it should not be forgotten that a Hindu religious leader was also murdered and the burning of the church happened in retaliation. Therefore both acts should be condemned, not any one of them.

One of the guiding principles of a democracy is that the majority should not be allowed to completely overrun the minorities. Therefore India has devised law over decades that have progressively increased the roles, rights and protective mechanisms of the minorities. However in the process, some rights of the majority have been trampled (eg: religious practice of Hindus have been curtailed whereas that muslims and christians have been given additional sanction). This breeds animosity amongst the Hindus and you end up with this kind of flare ups.

This is somewhat like the white-black racist flare ups that used to occur in the United States. Even after slavery was abolished, it took so many decades to become normalized....even today there are some remnants of it.

Religion is a stronger factor than race - it is going to take some time I think. In the mean time the pendulum will swing both ways and hopefully come to a balance soon.

I am not even talking about the “feeling” and you are saying “good feeling” seems like inner-thoughts are peeking out.

Again, whether it is a “fraction” of Pakistan or not, the point is admitting existence of a problem. You can shut your eyes like a pigeon does when he sees an approaching cat, good for you :k:

I always denounce violence,my dear friend.