Help! Business dress in Pakistan

Re: Help! Business dress in Pakistan

In Karachi and Lahore you will see a lot of western dressed ladies anyway. So you won't be in trouble just because you don't cover your head.

I've never been to Faisalabad myself. It is a big city as well, but I heared that people there are more traditional than in Karachi or Lahore. So there it might be a good idea to have a dupatta or scarf with you.

Emma,

Sounds a Textile industry based visit :)

Karachi & Lahore are well advanced cities, I haven't been to Faisalabad for ages. Though I am in Pakistan (Lahore) now a days but so busy that I rarely get a chance to move around.
You can dress anything that covers your body little bit above ankles to your neck (it can be half sleeves). You dont need to cover your head in any city, including Faisalabad.

FAISALABAD :eek:

Not sure how people will react there. People reacted weirdly on station and on the streets while shopping when I went to Hyderabad by train on my last trip. I wore a blue and a beige denim mostly.

But on a business trip, I dont think anyone should have a problem about your business attire. if anyone says anything, just exchange it with a nice “ghoonsaa” on their nose.

Reminds me of when we were sitting in McDonald’s somewhere near latifabad. And all the people were turning their heads to look at us. I told mom, "Mom, abhi tau song record bhi nahi hua but everyone is turning around to look at the star already :bravo: " Song ka kya hashar ho ga, yeh tau kabhi socha na tha :teary3:

i m from pakistan living in uk

i dont think there is n e prob wearing suit
b 4 u go make sure u have orgniese ur trip
journy time table etc
if u have any friend there conact them it will help
very best of luck
and have a very good trip

chishtiak47

Hello all, I'm back after two weeks in Pakistan. I did wear normal business dress in meetings and that was fine, but I found that being out and about on my own was an absolute no-no, regardless of how I was dressed (I actually bought a beautiful shalwar kameez when I was out there). Lahore is beautiful - I can't say anything about Karachi or Faisalabad as it was work work work all the way. Sitting on the roof terrace of Cooco's Den watching the back lit Lahore Fort and Badshahi Mosque was spectacular - and what yummy food, I think I gained 5kg.

Good to see that you enjoyed your stay in Pakistan, especially in my favourite city Lahore. :k:

did you take any pictures?

Wow! Super cool. Finally gora log who didn't come back with stories like "Oh my God, we saw someone beat his wife at the airport" or "Oh dear, women are treated like animals there".

Good to hear!

^ :hehe: did u heared that kind of stories..?

Emmma :- did you take any photos ? Also please share more of your experiences. It would be nice to hear them.