Has anyone gone to a wedding other than a desi shaadi?

Re: Has anyone gone to a wedding other than a desi shaadi?

Same here Sabeera! :(

Gosh, ladies! You have had so much fun!

BTW, how do you eat the food that is served at non-Muslim weddings? I believe that the meat is not halal and alcohol is used freely in cakes and dishes.

i went to Saudi wedding and Nigerian wedding couple of time as were neigbours........
had a good experience......:)

went to a hindu wedding. Gosh it was so long! was starving by the time they served dinner. But it was an absolutely amazing experience. Their weddings are ten times more loud and celebratory than ours.

There is usually a veg option...at Gora weddings,it's buffet type and you pick and choose.Hindu/Gujaratis are veg too.

Wedding cake I only bring a piece home...don't like fruit cake anyways.

Think my fave weddings are Jewish ones.They are unbelievably lavish.

Any unique favours you got from the events?

Well,apart from the usual sugared almonds in those little bags,I snaggled an engraved silver letter opener...a swarovski trinket box....some candles...bookmarks...matches...oh and this gorgeous Rajastani type little jewellery box.Not a bad haul methinks:)

Other than those,just the mewa in potli's,and boxes.

OMG...almost forgot.One of my Gujurati friends gave me a wrapped pressie as we were leaving.When I opened it at home it was a murti of one of their Gods.Mr CO almost had a coronary...hai hai ye kiya aagaya ghar meh...lahollwalaquwat :D

You would be amazed by how many muslims do not practice eating halal over here Mahi :bummer: But my family is strict about it and all of our friends know about this. So there has never ever been any issues. There is always a vegetarian or seafood option!!! Same with the alcohol issue… they respect our beliefs and are very conscientious about letting us know what we should avoid. But usually at these weddings I have attended - there have been very typical desserts that I am very familiar with so this has been a non-issue! At Indian/Sikh weddings, the desserts are the same at ours, and at gora weddings I have seen things like chocolate fountains, chocolate covered strawberries, candy, etc. along with the cake ofcourse! Sometimes the only dessert IS the cake. :smiley:

I have gotten some of the usual things… bookmarks, chocolate, a rose, etc. at gora weddings. But I have gotten silver anklets, a little jewelery box (also silver), and this tiny little silver mutkee. lol. I guess it is supposed to be used for some religious thing but my mom uses it to store a spice. :smack: lol.

Also something really unique is that with a few of our good south indian hindu friends, they have come personally to drop off the wedding invitation for their son or daughters wedding. They come in and actually have a cup of tea. At this time, they give us a box of mitai (typical) AND also give us suits as a “thank you for being our close friend and accepting this invitation”!! And omg … these suits are so gorgeous… already stiched and fancy enough to wear to a shaadi! One for my mother, one for me, and one for my sister. My mom says it is a part of their culture and this is how they show their happiness at this stage!! We have two close family friends and so far this has happened 3 times (2 shaadis in one family so far and 1 shaadi in the other family so far). I am always like wow… who knows how much $ is spent on these weddings!

CO, that's a great haul! I would love to collect all these. I have unique favour madness! LOL! at the murti! Tauba!

agreed!
hubby’s cousin married a jewish girl and boy oh boy, did they have an absolutely GORGEOUS and classy wedding! it was at the Fairmont hotel downtown TO, 350 guests, ceremony in this stunning room with frescoes, then a full cocktail hour with carving stations and hors d’oeuvres and a string quartet, and then the reception with a 7-piece band in another amazing space at the hotel. i mean, wow. we think or weddings can get pricey but it was nothing compared to how much they spent. the bride wore vera wang and a vintage veil sigh
and no, i don’t mean its all about the money you spend- so much of it is about your own personal taste and style and execution and theirs was flawless and that made it an outstanding weddng. everything was beautiul. their flowers were pale pink and ivory roses and peonies and her bouquet looked like this-

basically her florist took individual rose petals and wired them together to form a giant one. it was very elegant with what she was wearing.
they gave jewish prayer books as favors (no need for that for us!) plus these gorgeous dark brown leather boxes with a huge wrapped chocolate inside it shaped like a pear and the tag said “a perfect pear” aww lol
it was definitely one of those magazine-worthy weddings, like you’d see in WedLuxe or Elegant Bride.

^ SGC - I have never seen a bouquet like that!! It is so beautiful!!! wow...

That is so lovely, SGC! :bb:

BTW, what did you wear at that ceremony? I have never worn anything except desi attire hence the question. :slight_smile:

^ i wore a little black dress :) i usually opt for dresses at gora weddings and desi attire at desi ones. wearing a desi dress at a gora wedding wouldn't make me comfortable- it would be so different from everyone else and because of that, too attention-grabbing at an event that wasn't mine!

I’ve attended many American wedding in churches and one Jewish one and several Sikh and Hindu ones.

I wore dresses at the non-desi ones. Nice long dresses with a stole and nice heels etc. They are so organized, everything is planned out well and the guests are so cooperative.

Desi weddings can be fun but sometimes they aren’t :bummer:

Outer limits TACKY 150k wedding for UK 16 year old girl! Ugliest dress EVER! All things heinous, trashy, and hilarious in weddings!

Good Lord, and these people have the nerve to be racist against Pakistanis? Yikes!

I am invited to a west indian wedding. What do guests wear at their weddings??

^ From what i've seen here in NY west indians dress similarly to Indians...so sarees/shalwar kameez etc

Oh thanks Sara. I'll wear a Sari then. I went to their birthday party and they wear long dresses and stuff so I wasn't sure how they dress for their weddings. They are Muslims though!

ive been to a gora wedding...as my bf's date...it was fun! the church was beautiful!! and i got to wear a gown for the reception...so excited...met all of his co workers and i loved the speeches !

it was really good...food was amazing sit down! gotta love that!...but that makes you stick to your own table which dint bother me coz i dint know anyone...

but if it was family, i would hate sitting in one spot....ughh im too restless!

chicken dance for fun! they get the whole crowd going...its nice and different!

Ive been to a couple of hindu wedddings and let me tell you...if you want to know how to party...u got to check out the punjabi wedddings...

you get so tired but so much fun with the dancing!...minus the drinking :(...i hate the smell of alcohol..

Ive been to 2 bangaldeshi wedding....even though they are muslims, they touch the parents feel like hindus do and they wear bindii..the bigg red onee...

i find it weird..but then we go rasams like the money circling around ur heads and cracking your knuckles and stuff...

ooooh at the gora wedding..they gave away home made / or mrs fields..cookies..oh my i ate mine and my bf's right there! haha

I have been to more arab weddings than desi weddings:teary2: