GUP SHUP - PAKISTANI HABIT - CHANGE IT

The Incharge, 7 September 2000
pak.org
Islamabad

Sub: GUPSHUP FORUM - MATTERS OF NATIONAL INTEREST

Sir,

Gupshup is a good forum but it in fact is really being used as a "gupshup" for which sub continent society is famous of.  That is why west rightly believes people of Pakistan, India, and surrounding asian countries mostly waste time in "gupshup" even in offices and homes rather than using the time for some concrete jobs.  There must be many other reasons too for the development of west but one element which surely many like me must have observed while working with europeans is that they do not waste time and they recognise value of time and they do not have any minute for "gupshup".  When they are idle and resting if there is any discussion that is on "issues" rather than "gupshup".

Pak.Org GupShup mostly 70% is waste of time and a really "gupshup".  Some 30% of it is really valuable food for thought containing good issues.

Though asking the Pak.Org to reduce it to serious issues will be a useless attempt as many believe since 15 years each government concentrated on development of good TV programmes, increasing timingS & channels etc only to keep people concentrated on such luxuries to avoid their attention to real serious issues, nevertheless being a true Pakistani I feel my responsibility to request that this forum may be converted into real serious "Forum" of discussion on topics of national interests only.

However till something is done may I request that since pak.org has a sort of official support its administrators may seriously consider forwarding those clippings which contain some point of larger community interest or complaints or comments of such a nature which have value and contain common sense to concerned higher authorities and their replies be pasted when received beneath the complaint/comment so that outcome is known and there is a debate over such issues.

It may also be considered that such issues which are serious in nature and of general national or community interest may not automatically cleaned off from the clipping board rather these stay until final replies from concerned are not received or a special board for such clippings is created on which members should not have access but only administrators.  On receipt of any comments from any reader or member concerning such a clipping may be pasted below the original by administrators so such clippings may show right from beginning the development.

S.A.J
[email protected]

7 September 2000

o.k... I wanna know how the person came up with that 70/30 ratio..

*Sub: GUPSHUP FORUM - MATTERS OF NATIONAL INTEREST *

National Interest? soon ISI guys will be knocking on my door :) Anyways the rest of the response is not an official pak.org stance but my personal reponse to your questions.

*Sir, *

ji janab..

** Gupshup is a good forum but it in fact is really being used as a "gupshup" for which sub continent society is famous of. That is why west rightly believes people of Pakistan, India, and surrounding asian countries mostly waste time in "gupshup" even in offices and homes rather than using the time for some concrete jobs. **

Building understanding, Bringing People closer and sharing of information and knowledge is constructive work. Pakistanis in the west need to be aware of their history, of issues and conditions and of a multitude of viewpoints. The history of our nation will indicate that there is a lack of communication and mutual understanding between groups divided along the lines of sect, religion, provinve and language. Only if people did more open "gupshup" with others
we would be stepping in a positive direction.

** There must be many other reasons too for the development of west but one element which surely many like me must have observed while working with europeans is that they do not waste time and they recognise value of time and they do not have any minute for "gupshup". **

Depending on what is considered work. Much of american business is built on gupshup..i.e. making contacts and building a network. Power lunches, happy hours, golf outings etc etc drive more business than people realise. Sure there is a time for work and a time to relax.

Work Ethic has little to do with socialization. That is the reason that Italians who take afternoon breaks and naps have comparable GDP to the brits.

** When they are idle and resting if there is any discussion that is on "issues" rather than "gupshup". **

strongly disagree. The gupshup among americans is pretty much about sports etc rather than the missile defense system.
In actuality you will find the majority of westerners to be unaware of many national issues or details.

** Pak.Org GupShup mostly 70% is waste of time and a really "gupshup". Some 30% of it is really valuable food for thought containing good issues. **

If you look at the diversity that makes up this place you will understand. There are various age groups. While I understand a need for a more intellectually stimulating discussion, surely the interests of a 28 year old are different from someone who is 17.

*Though asking the Pak.Org to reduce it to serious issues will be a useless attempt as many believe since 15 years each government concentrated on development of good TV programmes, increasing timingS & channels etc only to keep people concentrated on such luxuries to avoid their attention to real serious issues, *

Pak.org is a medium and does not dictate the topics being discussed. The gupshup forum has been subdivided into special interest areas just so people can discuss issues with likeminded people. Whether the topic is devaluation of Pakistani Rupee or a comparison of Junoon vs Vital Signs.

nevertheless being a true Pakistani I feel my responsibility to request that this forum may be converted into real serious "Forum" of discussion on topics of national interests only.

I have previously moved your posts, as well as requested you to post your thoughts in Pakistan Politics section. You will find plenty of topics of a national interest nature there.

*However till something is done may I request that since pak.org has a sort of official support its administrators may seriously consider forwarding those clippings which contain some point of larger community interest or complaints or comments of such a nature which have value and contain common sense to concerned higher authorities and their replies be pasted when received beneath the complaint/comment so that outcome is known and there is a debate over such issues. *

The members are free to forward any posts to government agencies and offices to get replies and share them with the rest of the membership.

*It may also be considered that such issues which are serious in nature and of general national or community interest may not automatically cleaned off from the clipping board rather these stay until final replies from concerned are not received or a special board for such clippings is created on which members should not have access but only administrators. On receipt of any comments from any reader or member concerning such a clipping may be pasted below the original by administrators so such clippings may show right from beginning the development. *

This is how it works here. No post is removed unless it is in the wrong section and thus moved. People repy to the post and thus you can see the chronological development and discussion of the topic.
As far as an admin access only forum where responses from queried parties are pasted is a bit tough because #1- time factor #2- possible lack of response from the queried authorities.

I appreciate your interest in having more serious discussions here. Realize that different forums under gupshup have their own flavor and appeal to a different audience. I would suggest you visit political affairs, Pakistan politics, Religion and Kashmir Affairs to get your fill of serious issues.

Aysa lagta hay kay FRAUDIA saheb ko aur koiee kam nahiee hay.

Azkar sahib say keh ker pak.org may pakke naukree ker laie.n

naukree? I am azkar's partner in crime

Fraudia,
Where do u work ? I would like to join your company. You guys seem to have so little work !

Fraudia works?!

Hizbul

If you have an MBA and exec development certificate and have 6-7 years of Fortune 500 experience please send me your resume. We need people in management roles usually leading tech teams and responsible for client contact.

(Ghalib shush....let people think I am a professional or something. The best thing I did was to get a laptop and wireless modem for my mocchi shop)

Fraudia..
I actually have it all except for that 6-7 yrs in fortune 500 (I think that's OK).

Now where do I shoot my resume...fast

I've worked on Fortune 500 (cookies that it).. do I qualify?

I've got a legitimate BS(now if I can just find it) and a PhD(on my ID, next time i'm going MD and JD) and I can 'acquire' an MBA from Nicraguaga or Virgin Islands, your pick but only one is in english and you'll have to wait 3-5 business days...Also have experience with a el fortuna cinco hundred company, I can have the papers printed and faxed...so hook a brother up, and dont tell me you dont do nepotism FRAUDIA!!!

nope aint got no time for that!!!!!!!!!
tooooooo much tooo read!!!!!:D:D:D:D

hI MaAR sUttEa

Fraudia, may a headhunter contact you?

Originally posted by Roman:
Fraudia, may a headhunter contact you?

Roman sure mon. I have no loyalty to one company. told ya if you could hook me up with your guys and they make a better offer, I would be game :)

Originally posted by Hizbul:
**Fraudia..
I actually have it all except for that 6-7 yrs in fortune 500 (I think that's OK).

Now where do I shoot my resume...fast**

Hizbul

if you really are serious, do send me your resume. my email is in my profile. I am serious

If you are joking send me your resume anyways..I need a laugh (Now I am kiddin wid ya)

Originally posted by k2pk:
I've got a legitimate BS(now if I can just find it) and a PhD(on my ID, next time i'm going MD and JD) and I can 'acquire' an MBA from Nicraguaga or Virgin Islands, your pick but only one is in english and you'll have to wait 3-5 business days...Also have experience with a el fortuna cinco hundred company, I can have the papers printed and faxed...so hook a brother up, and dont tell me you dont do nepotism FRAUDIA!!!

Nepotism is all I do bortha. Please send me $50 as processing fee. Also next monday show up for work at 3801 Market Street, suite #210 Philadelphia, PA 19104.

you're golden baby!!!

U r late fraudia..somebody else poached me !!

hizbul

must ot have been that good of a poacher :) you seem to be still on the lookout :)

13 September 2000

I am aware Pak.Org is a private one but I alsoknow it has some official support as once confirmed to me.

I thought my suggestion will be at least given a minute of serious consideration or evaluation, acceptance or rejection is another thing but the way it has been entertained is really a point to ponder.

A semi offcial type of forum and someone is Fraudia, some one X-2, some one is Fridi, some one is Gupee really should be a matter.

The administrator has treated my suggestion as if I had said a joke.
www.cyberpakistan.com which iis a totally private forum when some citizen put this suggestion there, immediately not only the administrator evaluated it rather accepted it.

ISI is a prestigious organisation of our country which even remains in dreams ofour next door enemy. If some dies of hugher or car accident our ISA is blamed. It should be a matter of proude for we the Pakistanis we have an organisation performance of which is recognised. ISI do not knock at doors of innocent ordinary citizens. The impression from the reply appears as if my proposal is accepted authorities will knock at doors of administrators. It be remain in mind there is and there had never ever been any restriction on freedom of expression, complaints or writing in our beloved Pakistan. You read our newspapers and magazine what is not written.

Originally posted by S.A.J:
I thought my suggestion will be at least given a minute of serious consideration or evaluation, acceptance or rejection is another thing but the way it has been entertained is really a point to ponder. **

The way it was entertained? SAJ I have noted it time and again that their are different forums for different reasons, and each has a different personality. If someone wants to go discuss the status of an Imam in technology section what can one do?

I gave you very realistic and serious reasons of why we are the way we are and how we serve the public. If you are unable to accept it that is another issue. The valid points in your suggestion are duly noted.

I Do Not make the rules of this forum. No one does individually but the basic underlying rules are decided by a team and the personality and essence of the forum comes from its members.

**A semi offcial type of forum and someone is Fraudia, some one X-2, some one is Fridi, some one is Gupee really should be a matter.

…and someone is S.A.J…Welcome to the word of aliases. As the posts of ppl like CM, Ny Ahmedi, Nova and Antodote will show you that one does not have to use their real name in order to debate effectively or to discuss serious issues.

**The administrator has treated my suggestion as if I had said a joke. **

Numero Uno. I am not the administrator of gupshup Sabah is, my opinions were as a member of this community. I doubt that your suggestion was treated unfairly. aside from a little humour in my first paragraph, everything else was a serious response to your points…whether it was about discussion topics of americans or GDP comparison of Italy and UK. If you can not handle a sincere explanation and difference of opinion..oh well.

**If you go back and
www.cyberpakistan.com which iis a totally private forum when some citizen put this suggestion there, immediately not only the administrator evaluated it rather accepted it. **

Did anyone here accept or reject your proposal? I…posted what I see as logic here for you.

Just becuase overnight this place was not changed to mimic your vision to the dot..does not mean that your post was not taken seriously.

People here are dynamic individuals, our members can chit chat about general stuff and joke just as well as they can debate on serious issues. There are differenr parts of the forum to appeal to different types of people. It would be rather selfish to have the board appeal only to one group.

**ISI is a prestigious organisation of our country which even remains in dreams ofour next door enemy. If some dies of hugher or car accident our ISA is blamed. It should be a matter of proude for we the Pakistanis we have an organisation performance of which is recognised. ISI do not knock at doors of innocent ordinary citizens. **

O bhai. my comment about ISI knocking at the door was a joke…a little dose of humour.

**The impression from the reply appears as if my proposal is accepted authorities will knock at doors of administrators. **

You have the wrong impression then…and have an overactive imagination.

** It be remain in mind there is and there had never ever been any restriction on freedom of expression, complaints or writing in our beloved Pakistan. You read our newspapers and magazine what is not written.**

Right and where in my post did I imply that there is a restriction? lighten up dude..