Re: gulab jamun
I aint no amreekan ![]()
Glad kuch to bana ![]()
I aint no amreekan ![]()
Glad kuch to bana ![]()
So why oh why do you use a cup to measure? whats wrong with ounces or grams woman????
try getting the finest variety of self raising flour...maida is fine flour!
Ophy, I can never measure things right with grams and all :no:
so when a recipe calls for maida which is just flour, does it mean plain flour? or self raising flour.
plain= no raising additives (biscuits and samosa pastry)
self raising- plenty of raising additives etc (used to sponge cakes etc)
Cb i have the same story as Ophy....my jamuns turned so hard after few minutes. They did swell and absorbed sheera though but were hard. I have already tried two times and used measuring cup and spoons, but same thing :(
Plz Plz tell me the trick to make keep them soft.
Sumal, add a bit more oil in the mixture ... also remember if its not crumbly and turned into a paste , it will make the jamuns hard ... and when you are forming the balls dont press the mixture too much ... use a light hand , just to fillthe cracks up ....
Sumal, my mixture was sticky doughy. i added more fresh milk, this made them perfect. try doing what i did. i added the oil, sooji a bit of milk mixed it and let it rest for a few minutes, then go back and crumble the mixture so it resembles fine breadcrumbs and then add fresh milk to make it into a sticky dough. roll into small balls gently and fry on low heat. they tend to double in size if made well.
good luck.
ok i made the jamuns and they turned like rocks:(..too hard!!!!
can someone would be kind enough to tell me (esp. u CB)...apk pas jo 1 cup dry milk powder hai which u used to make ur gulab jamuns wo kitnay grams hai..i want to make them really:((..plz tell me how to make gulab jamuns :(
uetian
… where were you for so long?
pelay ye bataoo :![]()
yaara I always take the normal coffee mug … i dunno how many grams that would be .. wait let me see if i can find the recipe with a video online … I will be back in a while …
buss yar i was in pak on vacations ..dats why couldn't come @ the forum...
chalo sai hai i am w8ing for ur reply dear!!!!
Uetian , see this video … I simply love this chef .. and this recipe is closest to the one that I use …
yar he says..1 cup powder milk mai 2 tsp maida but 2cup powder milk mai 4 tsp maida nai add krna…bulkay 2 tsp maida and i assume 2 tsp he suji add krni hai…to 1 cup powder milk mai kitna maida jayega 2 tsp? aur phir suji kitni hogi?
may be 1 cup powder milk,1 tsp suji and 1 tsp maida…so dat suji+maida in total makes it 2 tsp..
its so confusing:-/
Uetian
.. do this : one cup milk powder kai liye , one tbsp maida and one tbsp suji …
That will total the two tablespoons per cup . theek.
Now the reason is that some people like chewy gulab jamuns , some like the softer ones …if you want chewy taste then its 2 tablspoons maida … but if you need a softer taste , then its one each of maida and semolina … I hope i didnt confuse your further ![]()
ok u say 1 tbsp maida and 1 tbsp suji...but acc. to the video he said 1 tsp maida so is it typo mistake by u or has to be 1 tbsp?
uetian , I usally add tablespoon.. but I would recomend you stick to the recipe above and get good results so yeah go with the teaspoon … ![]()
CB i am confused with the recipe so tell me ur recipe but with GRAMSSSSSSSSSS plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz,,,,....itna b nai krsukti yar:(
uetian , grams samaj ate hote tou i would have been a scientist today
… thats why i always go for the recipes that have like cups and spoons as measurement
…
Ok , I will write this recipe for you in an easy way … but grams wrams nai ate mujko:naraz: …
Wait for my next post ![]()
Uetian , yaara i tried converting it into grams … its not making sense … let me tell you what i do … yeah?
1- Please note that Jamuns is not like baking , that you HAVE to get the ingredients in the same order … so please dont worry about the exact measurements.
2- The success of the jamun mix is in mixing the dry ingredients really well to give it a crumbly texture … the mistake is when we try to do it quick and with a spoon instead of our hands like Chef did …
Now keeping that in mind , please do the following :
Take a normal sized cup .. I always take different cups and that doesnt make a difference to the jamuns at all .. so have confidence and pick a normal sized cup … or its usually 16 heaped tablespoons in a cup … you can do that .
If you are using whole dry milk ( that includes fat ) , I always use Nido .. that gives the best results … then remember there is already some fat content in the milk , so just take one teaspoon butter .. and mix it really well into the dry milk … Then sprinkle one teaspoon of maida and mix it really well again … mix half teaspoon baking powder and mix really well again ..please use your hands for best mixing …
I also add one teaspoon of sugar in the mix and mix it really well again … to give the jamuns the blackness
… you can do that too ..
Then add the teaspoon of sooji like the chef did ( dont forget to soak it, then drain the extra water ) … and mix the stuff really well at this stage …
Now the tricky part … remember what the chef said , you have to make sure that the mixture shouldnt stick to your fingers ..if it does , that means it has too much moisture … so add liquid whole milk in drops into the mixture .. I normally just have to pour like one tablespoon little by little , mix it and set aside under a wet cloth for a 15 minutes … when you return and see that the dough is still hard .. then add a few more drops of milk …but only if its absolutely necessary.
and then do the frying bit .. the temperature of the oil is very very important. so do exactly as the chef has told us in the video.
For the syrup, its very very easy , take any cup, two of them with sugar , and then the same cup for water … and let it boil. I just normally give about one boil and then put off the flame … and warm the syrup again when i am ready for the jamuns to go into the syrup. Dont forget to add lemon juice half teaspoon to the syrup before boiling … and the rose water and cardamoms …
also one more handy trick .. dont take the jamuns straight from the frying pan into the syrup.. give them a minute or two on a plate and then add them in the hot syrup. Make sure the syrup is not on the flame anymore otherwise your jamuns will become soggy:(
The chef says to let the jamuns in for an hour and a half , but since I dont like that much sugary stuff .. so i normally dip them only for a minute or two … but when guests come I dip them for 10 minutes , drain them lightly… put them on the serving plate and sprinkle desicated coconut on them .. and keep them in the fridge … or you can serve them hot with the syrup…
I hope inshallah your jamuns will come out perfect …
Thanx for the detailed recipe.Think I can try it out too...