Kurta is a very nice and traditional idea; very apt for the occasion. However depends on your fiance - if you think he isn't the traditional type u'd rather go with something more practical e.g. shirt,cuffling or mayb an electronic gadget (since its not the first eidi anyways). For electronic gadgets you can just shop online and have it delivered to his place.
**:) Kurta Salwar hoti hay Eid 1st Day pehle k lioye 2ndly aik dress pent shirt ya jeans pent shirt,
shoes hote hayn agar size ka nahi maloom to paise dharay jatay hayn k apnay pasand ak le lein
sath main Eidi k liye cash hota hay is k ilawa body sprey yeh hota hay boys k liye aur agar kurtas ya shirt main kaf links chaiye to sath woh rkahay jatay hayn :)
thank you all for all your suggestions...
exactly these are for groom's eidi i know..but know what i think tht cufflings, perfumes, shirts are more good there, when we live in abroad, we have lotsaa varieties, except traditional one,but neways if we purchase Branded things so i think it would be good....what do you say?
branded stuff is fine but then you could choose to remain traditional i.e. Kurta. btw if you have to send a dress then look at Deepak Perwani's above-the-knee slim cut sherwaniz. they are worn with pants and OMG they look soooooooooooooooooooooper cool!contemporary as well as traditional..
my parents are getting my fiance a kurta shalwar from Pakistan for eid. What else is supposed to go in the groom's eidi? Shoes? Cologne? We want to keep it simple because we gave him presents for his birthday recently and the wedding is also coming up soon so we'll be giving more then of course.
And is the eidi usually in a decorated "thaal" or basket? Or is it just wrapped nicely with gift wrap? If anyone has pictures, that would be very helpful too!! :)
Hey there. I think since you already gave him a gift and will give more for the wedding the kurta shalwar is good enough. You can add a pair of matching shoes if you'd like but thats as far as I would go. As for gifting it to him, just wrap it as usual in a box covered with giftwrap or in a nice bag with tissue. Don't go over the top. Just keep it simple. You can do the thaal thing when the mehndi/shaadi comes up with more elaborate gifts. Hope this helps.
My family recently gave Eidi...to my fiance last Eid..i fund out what they were getting me & accordingly did the same for him. Got him a Amir Adnan Shalwar kameez, wallet & good branded Chappals to go with it...it is not necessary to be decorated. & of course some Eidi in cash!
In Pakistan, special sweets & mithai, fruits go on the first Eid to the groom's place..:S
instead of cologne, we decided to go traditional - so we sent a lovely silver attar bottle (with attar separately since the package had to be couriered) with clothes (lucknowi kurta churidaars) and salim shahis, plus dry fruits.
i'm a packaging fanatic - so everything was wrapped pretty. made a special little box for the attar bottle too since that was my favourite part.
then we put it all in a really elegant cane box with lid instead of a basket, stuck on some woven gota around the edges and a finished off with wide silver gota bow.
the IL's were very impressed. they had shipped my eidi in a huge zara bag :)
i would love to share a pic of that box - but like an idiot, in the whole rush to send it on time, i forgot to take a photograph
as soon as i realised i told the fiancé (i mean nagged) him about 500 times in 2 days to take a picture of the box before opening it. but of course.. MEN. sigh. he sent me a really blurry fuzzy hopeless BB photo… after it was unwrapped.
as a reference, it was a bit like this box - with a red and silver woven gota pasted along all four sides. looked amazingly neat and yet festive.
i do have some photos of the packing i designed for the attar bottle:
the bottle itself -
the box - the fuchsia ribbon looked much nicer in real life.
i’d also packaged some bangles we sent for his sisters as eidi.. but i guess that would be a bit out-of-place in a thread titled “groom’s eidi” ?
Re: Groom's Eidi - What to get u're fiance for Eid!
ps - i told him to keep that cane box safely (or else). so, if this topic is still open in 2 months, i'll be going over there iA and will take a good picture!
Re: Groom's Eidi - What to get u're fiance for Eid!
laadbazaar, MASHALLAH se, the packaging idea is lovely! :) just shows how much care went into the gift, hence making it more special!
i just recently got engaged almost 2 months ago to a guy introduced through my parents. He lives abroad (although still within europe!) so before we actually met, we spoke on the phone a few times, and then he came over to visit and we got engaged! :) its still sort of early stages in terms of love and romance etc lol, but after reading this thread i feel sooo ashamed! for his eidi, he just got cash (western union money transfer lol) and soon after it was his birthday too! so i ended up buying him a perfume set and a funny slogan tshirt which had a cartoon of a bride and groom, and on top it read "GAME OVER"... at the time i thought the idea was a good one, now i just feel lame ... :(
clearly i have a LOT to learn from you all!...