Gere/Shetty

Re: Gere/Shetty

Indians worship these stars like Gods and do special Pooja for them

But when a non-Indian kisses an Indian Movie Star they go bezerk

Because most Indians don't look like their movie star contemporaries and thus they believe its their treasure that is being defiled by this white devil kissing her

new business opportunity in India - supply custom made effigies of public figures

Indians worship these stars like Gods and do special Pooja for them

But when a non-Indian kisses an Indian Movie Star they go bezerk

Because most Indians don't look like their movie star contemporaries and thus they believe its their treasure that is being defiled by this white devil kissing her

Seriuosly what is ur obession ??? Any thread u make it about race and looks.. Who the hell told you that movie stars don't look like indians!! having fair skin does not make them euorpean or arab.. the features are indian... Besides rani,kajol,bipasha,konkana sen sharma,rimi sen,nandita das,koena mitra, rakhi sawant,priyanka chopra sushmita sen and so many others have average indian features and brown in color not white!! .. the only diff will be the height and well toned body.. Indian women in general don't take care of their bodies.. although these days in cities girls do tend to be figure consious. Even ashwarya rai has indian features and if u talk about aryan/north indian features then ash does not look punjabi.. round face thick lips is a highlight of south indians.. her green eyes are common in her community... Even shilpa shetty is from ashwarya rai's community and u will find many many people who look like them..

I have heard this very often in pak forums that indian movie stars don't look indian then how do they look .. they don't look arab nor do they look pakistani.. i have seen pakistani gals and their celebrities they have diff features than indian .. Like some broken record u will go on and on about how indians look as if u have gone to each and every corner of india and seen how they look..

When ur pakistani minister was hugged by a french man after a parachute flight a fatwa was issued by ur people. but that's not silly but this is ..

In india public display is not allowed.. How hard it is for people to understand.. Bolywood it is allowed it is movies not real life.. We have laws which does not allow people to kiss and cuddle in public.. Richard gere if he had hugged her it would still be okay but he kept kissing her on her face and then turning her around etc... U think it is acceptable!! shilpa is being dignified about it.. gere has done good work for india in terms of aids awareness. she does not want him to stop doing that and since he is foreign and does not know the customs of the country she is being understanding..

I missed the whole hoopla until it was covered by Jon Stewart. And I agree with Jon that, this kind of behavior would even be inappropriate for the western societies too. It was essentially a harmless peck (or pecks) on the cheek), but it seemed as if he is imposing himself on a girl. And secondly, one should assume that a person of such stature as Gere is aware of cultural sensitivities of other societies.

And how come Ms. Shetty is in the middle of all these controversies these days? Wasn't she the one who got ripped up in British Big Brother a few weeks/months ago too and got a lot of sympathy; and a big tamasha was made all over the place for that? Her press agent must be one helluva guy to get her into these publicity-heaven situations.

I wonder if you ever read what you write. What do you think, INdians watch movies and say, 'hey, this actress is so beautiful, she looks so, umm, whatchamacallit, Pakistani!' Or maybe the director gives the order to the lady, 'Miss, go do you hair again, I want you to look more non Indian!'.

I don't know how old you are, but it might surprise you that every country has it's own culture and specific preferences. There's no sole international yardstick for beauty like button noses, fair faces or Arab featurs. Grow up.

On the kiss - Gere lost control it seems. HE was trying to kiss her on the lips and she dodged, so he had to make do with her cheeks.

Jon Stewart’s take on the whole thing

Dude you have some serious superiority complex each and every post of yours has some anti India stuff.

In past i tried to correct you but now i know its useless, some people get kick by doing drugs and you i guess get kick by bash India & Indians with your imaginative theories.

BTW i dont give damn abt shilp & gere

Its true though what hes saying...if it wasnt a white guy then they would have nothing to say but like i said most third world countries would do that if the guy was a westerner...

One thing though...how long does it actually take to make an effegy and who introduced this stupid idea in the first place...who nurnt the first ever effegy?...seems like such a waste of hard work to make it and then burn it...

I think this was blown out of proportion by the Indian media as they usually do. First of all it was Richard Gere who kissed Shilpa so what could she do. She looked surprised as it but was enjoying it. I dont see why the Indian's are not up at arms with Gere.

Oh my God! What the &%^$#&#$??? I mean honestly!!! so now they have arrest warrants out for both Gere and Shetty. I wonder if I can get them to lock him up in my basement :clown:

http://movies.yahoo.com/mv/news/ap/20070426/117760068000.html

how come we didn’t get to hear any comments from Gere?

Mehnaz fine it was only kisses but do you think Shilpa had any other choice? :–(
I found that so disgusting…

seriously??? thats SAVAGE! although i dont think they can touch gere.

Err when i saw the footage of that, it was pretty rude and disgusting... I'd sure as hell be pissed and embarrassed to no end..

lol.

ok in all seriousness I think Gere shouldn't have done what he did. She wasn't expecting him to strike a pose which is why it looked like he was imposing himself on her but in one of her interviews she said something baout having asked him to show her one of his dance moves from that movie 'shall we dance' and it wasn't till later that it occured to her what he was attempting to do. Dance pose tak tau its ok but then the endless kisses, they weren't just pecks honestly, he kissed her on every square centimeter of her cheek, literally all over, thats some frickin peck! Additionally the place nor the occasion called for such a display, totally uncalled. Even then since Gere is the perpetrator he should be forgiven just for being Gere :D

ok. but WHY are they issuing an arrest warrant against SHILPA?? :confused:

cos she is defending him??? :confused:

Yeah why arrest her? Because she enjoyed his 'pecks' ?

^^ this is India's Version of the Waldrobe Malfunction during the Super Bowl Half time show...

Don’t worry too much about him. Any indian who makes headlines in western society makes his stomach burn. I will give 3 such instances:

1. When sanjaya made headlines in US, this guy went to prove that shows popularity has dropped or dropping and nobody is watch sanjaya. He even proved indian call centre workers are voting for him. Even if they did, it cannot be substantial enough to make a difference actually. He will brouse nook and cranny of the web to prove. All in all, he disliked sanjaya very much.

2)when there was a thread about most famous desi, this guy was talking about native american indian called “apu” in some family show. He was not at all willing to accept indian making headlines in US or any other gora land.

3)and this one

Dont worry…just look at his bull$hyt and enjoy…:rotfl:

LOL!! The funny thing is that Bollywood movies do not reflect the Indian culture anymore and most of the 'heroines' dress up as whores so I don't see what the problem is with Gere kissing a movie actress that had half of her tummy showing in the sari that she had on.