I went to pakistan after more then 13 years last year for my sis’s wedding. I was helping out my uncle do some stuff when this aunty sitting with her daughter kept staring at me. By the way, I should tell you that two weeks that I was there in lahore, all these relatives, uncle and aunties were showing up with their daughter every day, sort of overdressed for the occasions for the reason that I understood when my mom told me after coming back here (that is so weird!). Anyways back to the story, so this aunty keeps staring at me. I went to my mom and I asked who this aunty is and why is she giving this freaky stare-down like she’s checking me out. Apparently, my mom knew about it and she told me to calm down and go about doing my business. Anyways, after a while, my mom calls me over and she’s sitting with same aunty and her daughter. So being a good boy that I am, I went to them and right off the bat, this aunty starting asking me questions as to what do I do, what have I studied, and joking like I’m next in the line since it was my older sis’s getting married. My mom’s smiling, the aunty’s really excited like I’ve just called her second coming of angelina jolie and her daughter is still as confused as I am. So the aunty, introduces me her daughter with such remarks as “chotey hotey huey tau tum dono bara saath kheltey they blah blah blah”, and I’m telling myself, so this aunty has been giving me a stare down to figure out who use to play with her daughter when they were young.
Now the funny part comes in. I knew that her daughter was as lost as I was, or maybe it was only me who was lost. So I turn around to the girl and say hi and shakes her hand… and that was that! aunty sort of like cuts the conversation short, tells her daughter to go find her dad from whatever reason… and while all this is going on my mom makes an excuse, gets up, pulls me aside and bluntly says, “kuch tau sharam karo, yeh canada nahi hai!”, I look at my mom for a bit and then like, the aunty has been bluntly checking me out all night and that is ok but I only shook the girls hand and its a big issue.
Out of all this, this story has become big in my family friends and cousins but I found out after, that the aunty was interested in me for her daughter but she thought I’m too “westernized” because i shook her hand at the first meeting, really?!?!? but for her to give me weird stares was quite ok.
It’s actually more Islamic view than cultural.. but yeah places like back home do consider it bazzar and westernised.. well brother you have learnt your lesson! good luck
then after dessert I looked at him and his table and he was talking to his dad and him and his dad were looking at me while TALKING and he was pointing at me
I am sorry, I was just asking my dad if its kheer or something else dripping from the nose of that girl. Now that you mentioned dessert, it must be the kheer ..
thousand apologies :(
Right.. well the dessert was gajjar halwa and cake..not kheer. sorry
I got ogled at by aunties at a funeral!!! I know, how rude! This was before my engagement; and a bunch of about 5 or 6 aunties came up to me and started asking me whose daughter I was. Then some other ladies came into the room and they also stopped to stare at my face and listen in on the interrogation. I truly felt like a zoo animal, lol. And then at the next funeral I was at, I stood there holding my 6 month old cousin and everyone swiftly moved past, that did the trick. :D
i went to a wedding a few weeks ago with my family and randomly my mom yelled at me to move to a different seat. i got really confused and asked why and my mom told me that there were guys at the table in front of us who had a clear view of me and were pretending to take pictures of each other, and pointign the camera in my direction...I felt so dumb since that's such an obvious thing to do and I hadn't evne noticed...then some idiot guy at the table looked over at me and pointed trying to make it NOT OBVIOUS and my mom saw so she like got up and went to them and asked them what their problem was...they ran off promptly...so...awkward.
I got ogled at by aunties at a funeral!!! I know, how rude! This was before my engagement; and a bunch of about 5 or 6 aunties came up to me and started asking me whose daughter I was. Then some other ladies came into the room and they also stopped to stare at my face and listen in on the interrogation. I truly felt like a zoo animal, lol. And then at the next funeral I was at, I stood there holding my 6 month old cousin and everyone swiftly moved past, that did the trick. :D