Fruits & Veggies.

Re: Fruits & Veggies.

Have you ever tried golden kiwi from New Zealand ? It's delicious. It's sweeter than its green cousin. :)

TS, white eggplants?

That is Sharon fruit.

I love kiwi to , sour taste :yummy:

I don’t think I have tasted that one.

Yes, we have white eggplants,white onion and black potato too.

Lippy, are you making fun of me. I know white onions, but black potatoes? I haven’t seen them in USA:bummer:.

This pure white onion

Black potato

http://img.21food.com/userimages/sino-seaon/sino-seaon$531185420.jpg

Purple potato

http://www.ineedtext.com/FoodBlog/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Purple-3.jpg

Hehe, Thanks Lippy. I've seen pure white onions but not purple or black potatoes in US.

I googled after my post of inquiring from you

Chinese people eat them ,I saw them at Chinese shop.

yesterday i saw aloe leaves in a store and i’m wondering what you make out of that? the more usage of this plant is in cosmetics.

it’s quite expensive as well…@ $1.99 a leaf.

Aloe Vera pulp / juice is supposed to be good for digestion and helping inflammatory bowel syndrome.

Are you sure those are not beets (chukandar). Beets are delicious.

Yes, they make delicious pakoraas. The taste is a little 'milkier' and the pulp is softer.

but i wondered what kinda dish you would cook with Aloe leaves...is it eaten in salads or boiled like asparagus?

I so want to have an aloe vera plant in my garden. There are so many use of it. If you apply on the skin ,it 'll help to remove pimples and acne. Aloe tablets helps in cleansing the colon. People take the jelly stuff out of it and take it with water to lose weight. Some people even cook it. Recently, I bought a tooth paste it reduces gum disease and keeps the mouth fresh. They use it in shampoos,lotion,creams and in beauty products.

beetroots are different.

yes LiPpY, i'm aware of it's exceptional medicinal properties but i was more interested in knowing it's usage as a food. have u used it as a vegetable in your diet ever or have u heard anyone talk about cooking it? i haven't :(

The skin would be too tough. :) As Lippy said, it's the pulp/jelly inside that is used. Some commercial brands sell the juice made with both the pulp and skin.

BTW, is that lehsan in your hand ?

yaar maiN poochh rahaa thaa k kia Aloe leaves ko cook bhii kar sakte haiN? isko agar ubaal liyaa jaaye to edible ho jaayegaa…Khair.

meraa haath jagannaath nahiiN hai aur jiskaa bhii haath hai uske haath meN MAHUAA naamii phool hai…it’s a modified flower…it’s succulent petals are rich in juices which are extracted to make LAPSI [a kinda Halwa] which is granular in texture and has a unique flavour…love it! it’s nectar is also used to make a very potent country liqour called “THARRA”..here is a bigger pic…in summer these flowers fall of the giant trees and is picked manually by peasants.

these are soo cute…they look like emoticons…i think those who invented emotis must have gotten the idea after looking these flowers and he/she might have been an Indian :slight_smile:

[http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f4/Mahua_Flowers_1.jpg

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f4/Mahua_Flowers_1.jpg](http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f4/Mahua_Flowers_1.jpg)

Golden kiwi :konfused: :no:

Has anyone tasted the white strawberries?

i grow them :smiley: so, naturally, i have!

have you ever tried yellow cauliflower?