Forex reserves fall to $10.487bn

Musharraf was elected leader, he is/was the most democratic leader to ever grace the earth.

sharam tum ko magar nahi aati. The Khulafa-e-Rashideen were not average dogs like Musharraf, Nawaz or Bhutto, there were pious persons and the level of self-less-ness cannot even be dreamt of by the likes of Musharraf, Nawaz, Bhutto or others whereas level of selfishness in Musharraf, Nawaz, Bhutto and the likes is un-speakable in probably recent history.

Sa1eem bhaijan. Very well put. Great President Musharaf has been more democratic than the self proclaimed democratic political parties of Pakistan. :)

Sharam mujh ko tou bohut aatie hay
per halat-e-quam mujhay satatie hay
In kee mantaq samajh nahie aatie hay
her likhaie insay terhie parhie jaatie hay

Got it? :) I am surprised that whatever I write, you have to twist it, then assume things before reading. :)

I have not compared anyone with anyone in my last post. I just mentioned that whatever you decide regarding your understanding of dictatorship, make sure that if you would write that dictatorship means 'One person authoritarian rule' and then start maligning dictatorship, then you have to cope with the fact that most past Muslim and non-Muslim rule, from pre-historical time (that includes time of Prophet (SAW), Khulfa-e-Rashideen, and Khalifa Kings), until West gave present democratic concept, were all similar authoritarian rule, regardless of that rule was in the name of Religion or Kingdoms.

I could not understand that how you took that as me comparing any of present rulers with any of past rulers? It is amazing that you understood things differently and added your assumptions, then used those assumptions to work out what I mean, even though I wrote in simple English. I am simple person, so can't you keep things simple and give relevant simple answers? :)

Brother, thank you. I have same feelings as you. :).

If you are not "comparing" then why drag the khulafa-e-Rashideen with present nicompoop dictators? There was still selection/kind-of-election of first khulafa and endorsed/accepted (not sure of the right word here) by awam. They had a "shura" I believe. Present dictators just throw away a govt and take full reign, no accountability, no morals, their own justice system (may be Best of era or could be worst, or could be a mixed bag) etc.

Isn’t this what US is going thru as well? Should we blame democracy for that too?

BTW, what happened to billion and billions of investments that you (and Reza Pahlavi) were showing in thread after thread? They all disappeared after their promises!

ehtasab bhai. No you cannot blame democracy. You can blame the inactivity of the government, and for not even trying to help the individuals or businesses to help kick start the economy. The govt it appears is too busy worrying about other matters rather than governing.

With regards to investment in Pakistan by foreign countries, one cannot blame them if they now decide not to invest in a country that seems to be spiralling out of control and moving into crisis and chaos. My company has pulled back on tens of millions of dollars of investment in Pakistan, and will not invest until they believe their investment is safe, or at the very least an opportunity for growth in the mid to long term.

Pakistan is now only relying on its Foreign Reserves to survive. If it had not been for the Unprecedented Economic Growth seen in Pakistan until last year, and the Unprecedented amount of Foreign Reserves accumulated, Pakistan would have been in much much deeper crisis than it is now. :(

Time for government to govern.

It rarely happens that present day military rulers take over a country from thin air. They have a group within army, whom you can call their inner circle (or shurra). They only manage to take over a country if existing ruler becomes unpopular. Once in power, they immediately make their inner cabinet (or majlis-e-Shurra) consisting of military as well as civilians, who give them advice and guide them. They can only expect to survive during immediate period if people would accept their military rule. They can survive in long run if they have support in the country amongst army, elites as well as large number of general masses. They also keep public wishes in mind when making decisions and take advantage of public desires (just like any politicians). Obviously, they have opposition too just like any democratically elected government. Their rule gets extended not because of military behind them but because a large section of population gets behind them and opposition to them are not strong. So, you cannot blame present day military ruler as person without public support.

Even today, if you take poll regarding popularity of Musharraf, Zardari and Nawaz amongst masses (all over Pakistan), you will find that in comparison, Musharraf could be most popular. Between Zia and Bhutto, you would still find many who support Zia. So, it is not true that military rulers do not care for public supports and do not leave long lasting support amongst people. Only difference is that, they come to power using military when government is weak and people are fed-up with the government. On the other hand, many democratically elected governments in third world country also come to power, not because of their popularity, but by using unethical means, like lying, making people fool, false promises, harassment and regional influence due to their family background and control over people’s livelihood. Even then, not a single democratic government in Pakistan was formed till now that got votes of more than 15 percent of adults in the country. For instance, PPP got around 10 million votes out of over 80 million votes in 2008 election, or around 12 percent votes. So, please do not try to glamorise democratically elected government over military government, out of proportion.

Re: Forex reserves fall to $10.487bn

^ Dude, make up your mind, either you are dragging Khulafa-e-Rashideen and comparing with today's dictators or you are not.

dude india’s forex reserve is over $300 billion

India’s forex reserves at $307.107 bn- Indicators-Economy-News-The Economic Times

I do not know what mind you want me to make up? It is not me who is or was comparing khulfa-e-Rashideen with any present or past ruler, it was you who accused me wrongly of comparing them with present rulers, just because you assumed that from God know where. As for their rule being ' One person authoritarian rule', that in present classification was dictatorial rule and there is nothing to doubt that, so there is nothing to make up my mind.

To me, I do not consider dictatorial rule as anything. To me, a ruler, regardless of how that ruler came to power, could be good ruler or bad ruler. Now, if I make comment about rule of Khulfa-e-Rashideen, I would say that it was good rule.

He is talking about “budget”, no?

Talking about how khulafa-e-Rashideen come to power and how they "ruled" and then talking about how these dictators come into power, yeah thats not comparing. "Comparing" doesn't mean side-by-side, act-by-act comparison. Anyway, to you is your belief, Musharraf is greatest ruler for you while to me is another criminal/illegal-ruler.

Yaar, chalo choro. Anyhow, I did not talk about how they came to power neither I compared their coming to power or rule with anyone, nor I care. I only said that their rule was 'one person authoritarian rule' that in present day terminology could be called 'dictatorial rule'.

Post heading is forex reserve and he is talking abt budget?

He didn't start the thread, and if you read his post then it says "budget", he was responding to someone who talked about a corporate profit/loss.