For Afridi, the biggest thing that is working in his favor are the lowered expectations. Basically, thats it. We don't expect him to stick around. We don't expect him to make a 100 or even a 50. We just want a few sixes and a few fours, and then back to pavillion. And this is exactly what he is doing. The difference also is that previously he was failing to get to double digits more often than now. Right now, he is able to get to 20+ in very short time.
His bowling has improved, and he is consistently one of the most economical bowlers in our line-up. But by no stretch of imagination is he the best leg-spinner Pakistan has. But that doesn't matter, cz its the overall package that we look at. Brilliant fielding. A "Run Rate Booster" in batting. And an economical bowler. What else do you want?
And he did all by over-coming his mental problems. He is hitting cleanly. Hitting hard. And hitting over the top. In his bowling, he has more variety. Is using the varied pace intelligently. And is getting crucial wickets.
Questions is, can the same transformation occur in other talented (but previousluy exposed as brainless) players?
Imran Nazir has huge technical flaws and most of all he can't play spinners squat. Watch some of his old tapes and notice how uncomfortable he is against spin, playing idiotic sweeps and edging/top edging and getting caught.
The team is currently over-flowing with middle and late order batsmen. The problem is the opening spot. Or are you suggesting to try Asim Kamal as an opener?
I may be repeating what others have mentioned but the thing is that Afridi has different avenues to prove his utility. He is a good run-saving bowler who also gets wickets at crucial times. Thus on the basis of his bowling and fielding, he should find a spot in Pakistan ODI squad. His batting is a bonus and I would disagree that he has improved his batting. He is batting as before, but the good thing is that he is getting runs (in cricketing lingo we can say that he is in form these days ). Yes, we have learnt that he will never bat like Inzimam and we have agreed to accept Aridi as Afridi the butcher.
Now coming to Imran Nazir, first and foremost he will have to prove his worth as an opener and this is the only way that he can find a place in the ODI squad. He is a good fielder but fielding alone can’t win him a place in the 11 (he can be the best 12th man though ).
Summing up, I would dare disagree with the premise that like Afridi has “improved”, can Imran Nazir improve. Afridi has not improved as a batsman and neither will Imran Nazir. Both are instinctive hitters (Imran is the more talented and polished bat amongst the two) but I believe that Imran will remain to behave like the Imran he is.
There is no doubt Afridi has improved...not that he has more patience now...but he has more variety in his shots now. Before he used to struggle getting into double digits...and now he does it with such ease...and that too in Australia...against the mighty Aussie team. But like others have said...his main role in the team now is of a bowler...and he is doing that brilliantly...and he is by far the best Pakistani fielder in the current team.
I saw the logic behind the sending in of kamran akmal in the last game. They are’nt looking for a 100 run partnership when they send Akmal in. All they are seeking out of him is a quick fire 20 25. Some sort of a 35 - 50 run opening partnership that would allow a platform for Inzi, Youhana and Younis khan to build the innings on. Surely someone would argue that Akmal’s style of batting is more apt for late order batting, but you dont tend to miss someone like him down the order, when u having guns like Malik, Razzaq and Afridi in ur arsenal.
If I was the Selector/Captain/Coach of the side I would aquire Imran Nazir for his
Sharpest fielding Pakistan ever seen on rough and tough greens.
He was the best potential for any wannabe coach to work with him, that was all needed for his and Hasan Raza's groaming.
It was the politics that doomed both these players into the wilderness.
O bhai,Ankhay neechi kerkay aur ungli under kerkay baat kerain captaan sahab
I’m not suggesting a “Playing-11” here. aur waisay bhi “donno bachay” bohat achay front-line bats thay/hain. Fielding was a big + plus with Nazir thus the “specialist fielder”
SA had Jonty Rhowdes on the side, and he scored some valuable runs too.
Kabhi kabhi aisa bhi honna chaye. ;):k:
You call consistant failure - politics. Sometimes I don’t understand what is your point. He got the most chances and atleast 3 come backs. He failed again and again. Pybus to Miandad, nobody was succesful to make his brain work.
Drop Him!!! We have dozens of players like him under our belt. Its just the matter of filtering them and bringing to the top.
Smoothy sometimes you have to draw a conclusive meaning from a sentence away from its literal meaning, when the writer intend to leave it for the reader to understand his nearest point of view.
For Instance the word ‘Politics’ here is not directly related to any player rather a tussle of Power/domination between the Captain/Selectors/Board and the team players in some cases.
This obviously takes the attention away from the prime objectives of team rebuild.
2ndly no one suggesting to re-call or include either of these 2 gentlemen
3rdy I repeat my self again out of several hundredth time again. That Miandad was a good player but a pathetic illiterate coach. Just like our present Captain.
Speaking of Pybus,although he was a proper professional coach he was not up to the par with pak team, and his main task was to improve the Pak fielding / physical training. But there were several other choices available on the cricket scene for a coach.
The so-called Chances that we keep talking about were in Sharjah & Sharjah (Sick of it) and may be Tripoli/Bangladesh/lanka,with ICC cups in UK and then SA.
We had very few home matches and hardly any visitors.
OmiGosh , I have narrated the whole sorry state of 1997 - 2005 cricketing affaires
I thought we all had a positive general consensus of these issues at ‘Fan’ level
There is no need to open this Pandora box. :elmo::k: