famale circumcision in Dawoodi Bohra Community

Re: famale circumcision in Dawoodi Bohra Community

I bet they do it in their secret meetings as a part of their secret rituals, in the secret caves where they secretly meet to discuss their secrets.

Devils!

Bohari is a new name for me. Never heard about them :bummer:

yes this is very true this act is highly done in dawoodi bohra community.im married to bohri guy n i know this very wll .infact i had a very bad time regarding this whn it came to my daughters .Allhumdolillah i saved my daughters after a gr8 dispute i asked thm to conveince me but they were speechless n have nothing to say abt this barberiac act.as they have blind faith in thr syedna n they r not asked to Q abt any thing. i'm also a member of ppl against FGM that is female gentila mutilation .this act is done whn a girl reach da age of 7 .

cute gurl this is not at all crap n this is the act which they do hiddenly .u know wht  whn my daughter became 7  till the date nobody acknowledge me abt this but i had already done my homework b4 marrige like searched abt circumcision in all levels n meeting DR'S n asking abt scinetific n medical appraoch  abt circumcision .once i met bohra lady Dr u know wht she said. its as same as we muslim do wid males.but that wasn't a conveincing point for me .i said if it is true thn why its not prevailing all over the world i mean lots of jews christian  n other ppl  who accpted male  circumcision in the light of medical appraoch why its not same wid female.she said look khuch batain aesi hoti hai jo sirf hamare syedna ko pata hai is liye un ka kehna manna zaroori hai.n that was not enough for me coz i don belong to thr school of thought.so 100% this act is  a religious part of thr community n they hide it  at its peak .i was  in joined family but they never discuss this issue wid me but yes commanded me to fullfill thr desire whn my daughter became 7 .n in the answer i said ke muje conveince kerde main apna bhi kerwaloungi ;P .

thanx 4 providing us the first hand information on this subject.

^ Dude I hope it wasn’t you providing yourself firsthand information :hehe: When some matter is under discussion, all of a sudden some godly savior appears with divine light and confirms one’s point of view. I just find it funny, *not that I disagree with you *:hehe:

i totally agree with you

maverick_27 i wud like to suggest u to join FGM awareness n 2 million ppl against FGM thr in face book.n make it positive appraoch to save lil gals from this barberiac act .ask more ppl to join this group,,,,,,,,its affiliated wid unicef.

FGM is an african traditional practice. Has nothing to do with Islam. For the love of god google some decent respectable webistes like Amnesty and HRW.

CM dawoody bohra jammat is one of the muslim sect.they r not yet excluded from islam .n they r doing this practice in the name of islam .im living among thm though i dont have faith in thr school of thought n im against this act but i know this that highly qualified n educated ppl r involved in this act.lady dr's r giving thr services for this job.

Well whatever they wish to say is irrelevant. It is not an Islamic practice. If it is back it up with sources from the Quran.

i totally agree wid u that it has nothing to do wid islam nor its proved by quran n hadees...but its still going on in indo_ pak beside kenya ,sudan, nigeria n other parts of africa egypt n among arabs.

I haven't heard it happen amongst Desi Muslims but rather arabs and africans.....

I think there are some Muslims who believe it's sunnah as it's been mentioned that to remove a very very tiny part of the hood can make sex more pleasurable for a woman. I have heard tho that it's a weak narration. I'll try and dig it out. Obviously, the way female circumcision is practised now is totally haram, damaging the girl's body and leading to a life of pain and misery (that is if they don't bleed to death or die of infection whilst having it done) as well as the concept as using it as a means to 'control' her and diminish any sexual enjoyment. Nobody as far as I'm aware close to Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) inc his own daughters underwent any type of female circumcision.

Anyone wanting an insight into how it's practised in Africa should read 'Desert Flower' by Waris Dirie - v.informative book about a very personal story, had me in tears..

'Although female circumcision is not mandated, one tradition of disputed authenticity permits (but does not encourage) the removal of a minuscule segment of skin from the female prepuce, provided no harm is done:
A woman used to perform circumcision in Medina [Madîna]. The Prophet (peace be upon him) said to her: ‘Do not cut severely as that is better for a woman and more desirable for a husband.’–Sunan Abu Dawûd, Book 41, #5251. One does not want to make too much of this tradition, as it is classified as “weak” by Abu Dawud (the compiler) himself. Nonetheless, it clearly forbids severity in circumcision and bases such limitation on both the potential to harm the woman and the potential to make her less desirable to her husband. Yet, despite the restriction against severity, the Prophet did not here prohibit circumcision completely.

Permitting such a ritual constitutes an act of tolerance by Islamic law for pre-Islamic practices, and may be overruled by the Islamic prohibition against harmful acts. Consider, for example, that Islamic law protects a woman’s right to sexual enjoyment, as demonstrated by the fact that a woman has the right to divorce on the grounds that her husband does not provide sexual satisfaction.** It follows that Islamic law prohibits clitorodectomy (partial or complete removal of the clitoris) or infibulation (excision of part or all of the external genitalia and stitching/narrowing of the vaginal opening), or any genital mutilation which impairs the woman’s ability to enjoy sexual relations.** Such prohibitions are consistent with the hadithic warning against severity in female circumcision.

If the Islamic law does not mandate female genital mutilation and tolerates only the most mild form of circumcision (and that only if it produces no adverse effects in the child), then how does it come about that so many people from certain countries with large Muslim populations insist that savage acts which exceed these limits are not only permitted, but required by Islamic law? The answer becomes obvious when one realizes that Christians from many of these countries also insist that the tradition is mandated by their religion as well. People often confuse traditions rooted in local culture with religious requirements.’

Source: ISLAM AND FEMALE CIRCUMCISION

There is more info on Sunnipath for anyone who wants to look it up..

Hi all:

Just came to know about this thread here.

Just like you , I was unaware of this practice till very recently.

I thought it was only practiced by african savages.

To my shock, my wife just casually dropped this piece of info during one conversation.

It was like a bomb going off in my mind.

I was like "WTF is she talking about..." That’s when she told my about this ritual. I was totally shocked to hear this.

Upon further investigation, I found out that this practice is very much alive in bohris & to my horror, I found that it is sort of compulsory thing to be done in hush-hush kind of way by women itself .

It seems in every city, there is some female bohri doctor of who does the needful and some women even take pride in having their babies getting cut & even celebrate with a feast.

I talked to my dad about it and he admitted about the practice and afterwards I was really furious about the whole thing . I asked him why didn’t he refuse it to be carried out on my sister, he calmly replied that "there is no harm in it".

Uponeven more investigation, i found this:

it seems imams of bohris are descended from some african tribes and with them carried on the savage practice of female circumcision.

Now they argue that fgm is carried out with anesthesia and girls are not harmed and it’s good for them so that their sexual instincts are diminished so that they will not be carried away by their urges... etc..etc.. THAT’S ALL BULL****.

Some .... are arguing that Rasullulah himself mandated the practice.
But it is not so. There is NO mention of it in Quran as well as Hadith about it.
’Do NOT cut (severely)as that is better for a woman and more desirable for a husband"

Yeah! that was he said . The stress is on NOT.

Why do people twist the words?

I’ll tell you why.
They are so much brainwashed that in upcoming years, they will even ask for raza to ****.

To my shame, I was born in bohra family and lived my life not knowing .

By making this practice compulsary, what message they are giving out?

It is this:
Look you , we have not spared even you sisters and daughters , invaded their most pricate parts and all you could do is to just watch( some ignoramus’s have even rejoiced when their daughters were cut).

Look at the reach of burhanuddin:

The names of new born are selected by them.
You are made to kneel before their representatives for every minute funtions.
During weddings mullah is given more honour then groom/bride.
Even for very joyous occasions, people sing mourning matams ( I have always wondered , why I should sing marasiaya during a celebration like birthdays and weddings).
Hording off unaccounted moneys for their own goddamed perversions.
They randomly change someone’s name to make it sound more ’bohri-like’
Now they are laughin their asses off when a born again bohri gives some BS like "it’s not for common people to know and question the words of aqa moula".

With FGM, they have reached a new low.
They have proved that bohris are really impotent tribe.
The reach of these thugs extend even to the most private of the parts of womens.
Their sexual desire itself is squashed / diminished.
Maybe they have found out that the resulting childrean of susequebnt generation will be so docile that thay’ll follow them even more zealously.

Well.... what does that have to do with me?

Ofcourse, I would never let anyone touch my daughter .
Period.
If any suggest the same, I will kick his/her ass so hard , he/she will have to **** from some other hole.

Also, upon talking to several bohris.I have seen/heard ome twisted logic towards this practice. They say there are several health benefits to the practice.

BIG LOAD OF BULL.

If so, why not bring the practice in the open, why not speak about it? let mediacal fraternity analyse it. Why hush-hush?

You know what I’ll do, May Allah give me strength , I will speak/mail/write to several news channels, newspapers etc and let them know about this horror.

Come on , how can we be silent? We are muslims . We are commanded to speak out against wrong doers. Nothing can justify this savage practice.

As muslims, we recite Surattul Fatiha many times. What does it say " Ieyakka Naanbodo-Va-Ieyakka Nashtayeen"

"(Oh! Allah) we serve only you and seek strength from you alone"

Yes. Let Allah guide my hand.

Whoever reads this:

Please do the right thing.
Speak up.
Prove yourself to be good muslims.
Save your daughters and sisters from this violation.
When you do the right thing Allah backs you up no matter if the whole world is against you. burhanuddin and thugs will definately pay for all the atrocities that have comitted.
May Allah’s wrath fall on them.

Ameen.

Yearsb ago,in 1990 my father had told me that African women do it.

Oh so when it's done to boys it's all good, but when it's done to girls, the people who happen to do it become savages? LOL What hypocrites you people are. If female circumcision is genital mutilation, then so is the removal of the foreskin. And it's not against Islam either. It's not encouraged or discouraged in Islam.

And Aisha, Egyptians are Arabs.

It's also practiced in Indonesia.

And no I'm not Dawoodi or Bohra or whatever. I don't even know what that is. LOL Just talking common sense here.

It is not islamic.

Long article but it says there is no islamic teaching which condones this act. Any such ‘hadiths’ are refuted and are considered not authentic.

http://www.islamset.com/hip/health5/female.html

Gosh, i can;t believe something like this can happen in an Islamic firqa, whichever it is.

I read an artical about an african girl who went through such procedure forcefully and then, later she moved to
America and spoke up about it. she also mentioned how unwilling her mother was of her father forcing her to go through
such procedure and later her mother helped her in escape.