expensive wedding dresses.

Weddings are wonderful occasions, but they are also very stressful. I don't think I'd want to add on to the tension by having such an expensive dress. Honestly, I think I'd feel really uncomfortable wearing something that was worth so much. But I do want something nice, delicate, pretty. Just not soooo expensive.

for a dress u have to wear once ormaybe twice... spendin more than u can afford to is crazy... yes we all wanna llook beautiful n we can, if the color is right, if the kam is bareek and different n if the jewelry is of good taste n believe me, if u look in the right places in pakistan u can find what ure lookin for for half the price, anyways bak to lookin right, ur hair makeup n everything is workin and u will stand out...the dress doesnt work the bride, the bride works the dress

i think you should do whatever makes you happy...

personally, i have no concept of how much wedding dresses are supposed to cost, etc.

I could never imagine spending thousands upons thousands of dollars for a wedding dress either.

but, i do think it is a special day for women (they need to have one exciting day before that lifetime :p) and they should be treated like princesses :)

just do your own thing

Hmm most of us don't even have the body to carry off the designer stuff posted on gs and in magazines. I want to go for something simple in colors that will suit me, especially cuz I am not planning to wear any makeup at all or get elaborate hairdos. Whatever my future husband wants to see on me works for me but something simple and understated. And if people talk and call me cheap, I don't really care. It's about personal taste and preference and mine just dont go toward the elaborate. My wedding is gonna be about starting a life together with someone, not showing off.

Moderation is the key. Key word is BALANCE, does not matter what you do try to be balanced. Not too much not too little, but balanced. Eat, sleep, pray, study, dressing, shopping, make-up, being angry, being happy,being sorry ... one word says it all BALANCE.
If it is balanced it will be look pretty and easy to afford- TRUST ME

I would say
dulhan koi baar bar nahi bantaa.....

It's a joy that comes once in life and I think dulhan bano tho kamal ki bano...

I would spend that much money...I know it's expensive but eik bar hota hai yeh baar bar tho nahi na??? ;)

I always dreamed of having a simple, decent and elegant wedding reception. One doesn’t have to spend gazillions to have a memorable time/ wedding! Both my wedding and Valima outfits came from my hubby’s side. Everybody absolutely loved them including myself. T/ wedding was a deep, dark red w/ beautiful but not too heavy gold work and Valima dress was a beautiful golden lehnga. Oh and by t/ way, they were not very xpensive @ all, under Rs. 15,000 each. And yes, t/ pix came out amazingly beautiful. Thank God they weren’t that xpensive cuz they are now collecting dust in my closet! It’s really wierd how we concentrate on t/ “wedding” but nobody ever thinks about t/ “marriage”.

Last yr my sister-in-law (daivrani) got married and her family wanted to do her dress so we just xchanged t/ Valima dress, which was a beautiful shade of pink and once again everybody loved it and guess what? less than 15,000 RS.!

And yes, everybody, specially my hubby was in awe when I walked down that ailse :blush:

i think that buying expensive clothes and jewelry from both the bride's as the bridegroom's side is actually a form of deception. I mean, the wedding is the LAST chance both have to avoid the imminent agony....and therefore i think from both sides they shud have the honesty to show themselves in their true colors so that they can use this last chance...

Haey haey, guppans are so worried :p

Surroor, I told you na, get me someone who doesn't believe in all such stuff. :D Just me and him getting nikhafied in a masjid while all the family members get a chilled glass of Roohafza. In such a situation, I can also ask both the parties to pay/chipin all those $$$ or Rs. /Rs they 've planned to spend on our joras for our sojourn to a nice place...
OR why not spend the same money as someone suggested above, to help those who cannot afford to marry their daughters off because of financial constraints.
These are all cultural malpractices...I think in our culture, the resposibility for taking such a step(i must say bold considering our ******** mentality) rests with the guy. He shld be able to convince his and her parents not to spend lavishly and be ostentasious on such occasions. This doesn't set a very good example for people who find themselves on the lower rung of the socio-economic ladder within a particular society.

Anyhow, to each his own... but I wouldnt want to spend Rs 70-80,000 on shadi ka jora... well, I just hope I am able to prevail over others

Funky Desi, glad to know that.. however, sadly thats not the norm in our family.

well said,., s sultan
u got the point:k:

*Originally posted by Chandbeti: *

I know every girl wishes for the day to be perfect. But expensive doesn't mean it will be perfect for ya. Even the simpler more elegant ones can do wonders for ya.

Wear that which fits ur budget and looks smashing on u.
ditto :-)

Thank you Hia.

$ehar ji:
Dulhan her koi sirf eik bar naheen bunta, if you know what I mean.
jiss tarha her aurat ma naheen hoti issi tarah her aurat sirf eik baar dulhan naheen bunti.

I wish the time and efforts we spend to look beautiful, we could spend some of it to become beautiful(person.)
Think about it.

Sultan

As long as it fits your budget, I don't think there's anything wrong with going with the expensive dress I say go for whatever looks good on you and if that's an expensive dress(as long as its not a ridiculous amount)so be it. And maybe the actual wedding dress may not be reusable but the dresses from the mangni, mehndi, valima can all be worn again.

Also, nowadays, the guests get dressed up to the hilt to attend a wedding and it would seem so wrong if the bride was upstaged...I've seen this happen a good number of times and all I know is that I would NEVER let that happen to me.

As for using the money for a better cause, well have you ever thought of donating the dress for a poor girl's wedding. That gesture can be even more appreciated than money, especially in places like Kashmir where they have a hard time getting quality material and finding a tailor and when they do, the prices are higher than in Karachi or Pindi.

Minerva quote: "Funky Desi, glad to know that.. however, sadly thats not the norm in our family."

Minerva nor is my family like that, but luckily my parents aren't much into showing off and trying to impress t/ pack (Thank God!!). And a few rare occassions when my mom feels t/ need to do so, t/ rest of us gang up on her questioning her why she wants to follow and impress t/ useless "parosiis and khandaan walaas"? It usually works out prtty well. Also, luckily my Mom in law has this uncanny ability to find beautiful wedding dresses @ reasonable prices, admittedly they are cheap but no body cud tell by looking @ those beautiful dresses, that's for sure.

And Mehnaz I quite agree w/ you as to why t/ need to wear something simple and elegant automatically becomes cheap and not so attractive. God knows I have seen enough ugly dresses and later when I'm quoted t/ price tag I'm really left amazed as to how sum1 cud actually wear that thing let alone @ such an xorbitant price .

It all depends what I end up liking, I don't care how expensive the dress might be.