Re: Ex-CJ Iftikhar says he will meet President Musharraf
In 2002, Dawn reported:
Salaries, pensions of president, judges up
By Our Staff Reporter
ISLAMABAD, Feb 27: President Pervez Musharraf increased on Wednesday the salary of the President of Pakistan by 130 per cent, raising it from Rs23,000 to Rs57,000.
The president also increased the salaries of Supreme and high court judges by an average of 30 per cent.
Besides, he has amended the President’s Pension Act, providing that he would be entitled to 85 per cent pension of the salary. Earlier, the retired president was entitled to Rs10,000 as pension.
Apart from the pension, the retired president will have free official residence for life or rent at the rate of Rs50,000 per month if the official residence is not provided or occupied.
The residence will be maintained at the government expenses, as the government will pay local rates of residence and taxes, provision of electricity to the extent of monthly consumption of 2000 units, gas to the extent of monthly consumption 10HM3 and water.
The retired president will also be entitled to car allowance at the rate of Rs20,000 per month, or such higher amount as the federal government may, keeping in view the price of motor fuel, cost of car and its maintenance, determine from time to time.
This was from 2002.... imagine what a president will get in 2007 and beyond... no wonder Mushy wanted to grab both COAS and President seats.
that package seems more suitable for a king… damn i don’t think SC judges in western countries get anything even close to that.
very well reasoned and thoughtful post :k:
the president’s salary isn’t that great when you compare it to other professions but the retirement package is pretty good. See thats why our politicians are willing to do anything to get in power because once they’r there, they’r set for life. In another 100 years, we’d have way too many past officials and their families to support if the current setup is maintained, assuming we survive another 100 years of course.
i am not as cynical as some of the folks here about ex-cj's intention. i did not agree with some of ex-cj's decisions such as on the steel mills case but overall, i thought that guy did care about pakistan unlike our political leaders like bb or ns. i also think that ex-cj could have fought the charges against him without using the crutches of people like imran khan and the lawyer community who used him to fight their own dirty battle. i think ex-cj could have earned a lot of admiration of the awam if he contested the charges in a dignified manner instead of turning his trial into one big tamasha which in the end damaged pak.
once the ex-cj became beholden to the lawyer and politicians, its hard to see how he could act in a neutral manner when deciding on cases involving govt and his supporters. ex-cj's solution was to keep both sides happy by keeping the heat on govt but not getting personally involved. given that govt's opponents were using supreme court as a political tool akin to a sledgehammer to stop the govt from functioning, govt in the end had little option but to act against the court. otherwise govt would be playing into the hands of its opponents.
its also good to see that the ex-cj is still willing to find a way out of the crises. if the govt is smart, it would take him on the offer but instead of restoring him to the court, ex-cj could be made a senator or something likewise. this way govt could steal opposition's thunder. and this compromise idea does not seem as far fetched as it sounds when you consider that musharraf made up with people like mushaid hussain who spent couple of years in jail. politics is the art of possible and when its in the interest of pak, ego should not stand in the way of a compromise.
once the ex-cj became beholden to the lawyer and politicians, its hard to see how he could act in a neutral manner when deciding on cases involving govt and his supporters. ex-cj's solution was to keep both sides happy by keeping the heat on govt but not getting personally involved. given that govt's opponents were using supreme court as a political tool akin to a sledgehammer to stop the govt from functioning, govt in the end had little option but to act against the court. otherwise govt would be playing into the hands of its opponents.
I think that is an excellent appraisal of the actual dilema's facing the ex-CJ, especially as he is in fact hinting the judges would not have necessarily ruled against the President when eh says " it was wrong to read too much into the remarks made by judges during the course of proceedings. “Supreme Court judges are no ordinary people. They proclaim a verdict only after examining all aspects of a case.”
I have always said that it was too much for him to fulfill the wish of the people who supported in the March-July period. This is especially true of the thuggish lawyers, as well as the "awam" who have so, so many issues of their own, which courts or judges cannot fulfill - only governments should.
I think that is an excellent appraisal of the actual dilema's facing the ex-CJ, especially as he is in fact hinting the judges would not have necessarily ruled against the President when eh says " it was wrong to read too much into the remarks made by judges during the course of proceedings. “Supreme Court judges are no ordinary people. They proclaim a verdict only after examining all aspects of a case.”
I have always said that it was too much for him to fulfill the wish of the people who supported in the March-July period. This is especially true of the thuggish lawyers, as well as the "awam" who have so, so many issues of their own, which courts or judges cannot fulfill - only governments should.
I think the EX CJ has learnt his lesson. If he wants to meet the President and ask him to save his pension, the the President should indeed forgive him.
I agree, and I think he should be appointed as Caretaker PM by President Musharraf to oversee the elections ,after the National assembly is dissolved in a few days. :)
^ The corrupt leader has similarly corrupt followers:
Aalsi:I think the EX CJ has learnt his lesson. If he wants to meet the President and ask him to save his pension, the the President should indeed forgive him.
Reza Pahlavi: I agree, and I think he should **be appointed as Caretaker PM **by President Musharraf to oversee the elections ,after the National assembly is dissolved in a few days. :)
Aalsi: Musharaf - Iftekhar, bhai bhai. :)
So if CJ asks for his pension and all of sudden his crimes/nepotism/taking administrative affairs become petty issues and be pardoned, then the next lover wants him to make CJ the caretaker PM .... wah wah, some love circle it is.
Musharaf - Iftekhar, bhai bhai. :)
Well that's probably why BB was knocking on Ifti's door today, mostly as part of the drama, but maybe cause she wanted to know why ex-CJ sahib was busy kissing upto the President now? :)