Euthenasia : ur point of view

thats practiced everywhere and its not controversial. if a person is too old and frail and has an advanced cancer, doctors will recomend not giving chemotherapy, as it will proplong his suffering. Rather British have gone one step further than rest of the world where doctor can withhold treatment if he feels "its not in best interest" of patient. So your physician may decide on his own if he would administer CPR if you had a cardiac arrest. If he feels your quality of life may be too poor after esusctation he can decide not to do it.

Re: Euthenasia : ur point of view

This is so hard...I mean we have extreme pain and suffering on one hand and a family who is hanging on by a thin thread of hope, a miracle...

I hope I'm never in that situation. :(

Ah Medical Ethics topic :wink:

While that may be true for people when who are religous I don’t think Athesists would hold that view :hmmm: I am talking here in a suicide context :hmmm:

If a loved one undergoing excruciating pain where they didn't have a good quality of life asked me to assist them in their passing...I really don't know what I'd do. I don't think I would be able to ignore someone I loved go through that sort of pain on a daily basis while pleading for me to end their suffering.

It's such a difficult situation to be in and like niksik said I hope I'm never put in that position.

Iis tarah ki daroni baat moo se nikaalnay ki bhi kya zaroorat hai :smack:

(Why say such a terrifying thins in the first place, a translation just for you Saira :phati: )

^ Aww my official GS translator! You could have just said it in English in the first place though :naraz:

Besides, there’s no harm in considering worst case scenarios. That being said we can never truly know what we’d do in certain situations unless, God forbid, we actually go through them.

It had a more dramatic effect in Urdu :stuck_out_tongue:

And I am so superstitous about saying bad stuff! :frowning:

Depends upon how "almost dead" that person is. That's an extreme situation. I would think that hospitals can do transfers to where a patient's needs can be accommodated.

Almost dead means who will survive only by the machine. Most body functions are taken care by life saving machine.

It is really difficult for family to decide as on one side there is hope of a miracle on the other hand they see their loved one suffering that much

philosophically how is that different from euthanasia? Lets stick with the former case rather than the physician deciding 'its not in the best interest' although one of my cousins was telling me something similar to that also happens if they decide that the patient or their family cant understand the treatment options.

but sticking with the example that you say is universal, what is the distinction between this and euthanasia?

In euthanasia you facilitate death by some intervention, like giving some poison or medication, or escalating dose of a medicine to the point that it will cause death.

Not giving a treatment which could prolong life is not euthanasia, similarly withdrawing treatment is also not euthanasia and happens all the time (though not very commenly). Such as a very ill person on ventilator who is expected to die in a few days, and doctors with consultation of family, switch off the ventilator. This is withdrawl of treatment and not euthanasia.

hmm… i suppose I am stumbling through to the definition of what this article calls ‘passive euthanasia’

Reason I raise this question is with reference to the Terry Schiavo case, where conservatives objected to withdrawing life support, and it became a debate about euthanasia.

^ i also had the same idea about euthanasia as due to terry schaivo case ...

May Allah save us all from such situation...

but according to Iconoclast, and several of my doctor friends, what the doctors did in the Schaivo case is common practice even in Muslim countries.

Actually its much more common in poorer countries where "cost" is a major issue. In Pakistan is its common for people to stop life support if likelihood of recovery is poor.

in that case the debate on the moral difference between active and passive euthanasia, as highlighted in that article, becomes relevant. i have to say, in some circumstances active euthanasia seems preferable to passive euthanasia. i am not sure though that either is Islamically justifiable, or that there is a religious distinction between the two.

a case where a moral issue has been settled by pragmatic reasons.

The debate ignores the most galring and important reality of healthcare system. The resources are limited. If you put everyone on a ventilator in an ICU, it will be filled in no time with very old frail people or those with advanced incurable cancers. And you will have young breadwinner who requires just a 2-3 days of ICU care to survive dying in emergency department.

fundamentally though are you allowed to make the decision that someone with advanced incurable cancer's life is less valuable than that of a young breadwinner's? from a religious perspective i mean. (i agree with you completely otherwise)

I dont really mind if they MURDER some 1 coz they are just a waste of space but what bothers me is the name Why euth an asia ??

sounds a bit racialist

Thats a decision that society has compelled doctors to make day in and day out, though most do not like to be in this position. However, is spending a few more days with tubes sticking into throat, bladder, needles sticks till there isnt a vein left, bedsores etc really a "life"?