It's a Nauratan ka set. I am getting one from my mom since it's one of those 'khaandani' sets that every bride gets in my mom's family.
I can give you information of our family jeweler whos at Gulf market in Karachi- he has been making these sets for us since the last 30 years or so. According to my mom, the prices are well above 3 lakhs or so.. you can call and find out.
IRA...it looks kinda those sets you get from your mother or MIL or even grandmoms....its lovely...!!...
my mother got something like this on her wedding from her MIL...and she had gotten that from her mom....
its gotta be 80 years old i guess now...and its something to die for....its gorgeous....!!!
my phuppoo wanted to get the same made on her wedding and took it to the jeweler but he said it wasn't possible to make sth like this these days because it was hand made piece....or sth like that....
shay, i would appreciate if you could give me the info for the jeweller.
chips, my mom had one of these but the jeweller didnt make it right, the gold kept breaking off so Ammi sold it and got something else for it. Now she doesnt have anything liek this at all :( Although i did get the karaas she wore on her wedding and i wore them on mine. The design is soo different for them and at first i didnt like them at all but now i love them. People ask me all the time where i got them made from. InshaAllah i will pass them on to my daughter InshaAllah.
I always told my mom I do not want any gold jewelry on my shadi so no need to spend any money on that.. but I just LOVE this set of hers. I think it's her most prized posession since she's the only daughter who it got passed onto from her grandmother while my grandma had them made for the other daughters. I'll post pics from home of my younger aunt's set which is sort of similar to this.
shay, i would totally appreciate it! My nani also had similiar jewlery with rubies but she sold hers as well. She even had hair pins with intricate designs on them, all made of gold and rubies.
Ziggy, they are a year old, bought them on my brother's shadi.
And no, i had already bought a set, so felt bad asking ammi to get me another set. :D I will tryto post a better and clearer foto later.
shay, i agree, nauratan sets are gorgeous- one of my favourite sets of mum's is a nauratan set that she gave to me, and its the same deal, my nani passed it on to her. its so lovely, and i think its a hyderabadi thing, but i could be wrong. i know the gulubund i wore on my shaadi is a hyderabadi thing.
^ Yeh, it's called jarao but don't know where to get them. I'm sure most jewelers would have them though or can bring it in to their stores if you request it.