Driving b/w Karachi n Islamabad

irem jee i loved your punjabi!, you are graduated and now have some strange plans as far as I can see on gupshup.

for khi to isb.... i havent tried it yet though i will love to do that one day from khi to china border.
but I have done deriving from lahore to kaghan.
well come to your question... No dont go for it! just for now. wait a lil situation is improving, in another 5 - 10 years there will be much faster journey from khi to lahore to isb. then you can try your deriving skills and advantureous nature ;)
until then try air or train(not alone).

Faisal bhai - LOL Allah na karay mein kabhee kisi wajha se chanda jama karoon :smiley: PIA mein job is a good idea though :smiley:

Shak Kills - Even though it should be coz its my ethnic language, my punjabi is not that good :frowning: I am trying to make it more fluent inshallah…that’s one of my aims for when I go back to Pakistan :smiley:
Which ‘strange plans’ are you talking about? :konfused:

You will improve inshallah if you arent already in punjabi.

strange plans!!! including this, driving from khi to isb, what will you do when u go back to pak, how is working env in pak, etc.

i didnt say in bad way. its natural to think like this! and I apperciate your plans and ambitions.

Its around 1600km (1000miles) long drive. In USA one can cover this much distance within 20 hours but I am sure its going to take long in Pakistan. My wild guess is around 2 days (48 hours)

More than the length of the trip I am concerned about the safty during this trip although i m dead sure this trip will be a fun of life.

SK ji OH :smiley: I thought aap mere oopar tanz/ ya mazakh ker rhay ho :smiley: So I am relieved to know that was not the case :slight_smile: Thanks for your encouraging words :k:

DC - Thanks for the info :slight_smile: I’ve dropped the idea now…but dekhein maybe one day in the future… :smiley:

Irem maybe you can get the 20% student discount on PIA?

Hey thanks Spock, I'll look into that, I didn't even know abt it :D

A lot of scary stories, and a lot of them hold true for the past decade, but now things are much much better.

Several years ago, when the situation was much much worse, my brother made the Karachi-Lahore trip on a motorbike in 36 hours, alongwith a friend, of course. That was when the GT road was in shambles.
Now the National Highway, formerly known as GT road, is splendid, compared to 10 years ago. It is patrolled across the length by the motorway police, with quick help just minutes away. A car trip from Karachi to Lahore takes no more than 18 hours, and onwards to Islamabad, takes another 4 hours. If you start early, you can make it in the same day, so long as there are at least 2 drivers.

Train travel has matured a lot as well over the past few years. Theres the Karakoram express between Karachi and Lahore, and then the Jaffar Express between Quetta and Pindi. These are newly acquired trains from China, which are fully airconditioned, and have ample security. You can easily travel alone in a 2 bed sleeper. They will make sure you either get a female companion, or no companion at all.

A drive up the national highway is a real adventure....something worth doing.

I second with Akif..it’s great fun and adventure traveling on the Pakistani roads. . Drive from Karachi to Multan is close to 900 miles. It took about 13 hours before..not sure how much now since the roads have been vastly improved, Travel on the Main highway from KHI to Mul, since there’s only one arterial highway, and then take diversion from the main route..you have numerous options:

– My favorite is the drive via Multan-Mianwali-Tarnol and to Islamabad. It’s the shortest route to Islamabad. You pass through some of the really remote places such as interior punjab along the west bank of river chenab, onto Mianwali and then there’s a really beautiful lake called Namal once you cross the Talagang pass. Definitely recommended. Distance to Islamabad about 350 miles. Average time 8-9 hrs. You also come across places with funny names such as Bagga Sher (Blonde Lion) , Sirai Karishna and many other small villages..

–The second option is to carry-on the main highway, and go through either Sahiwal-lahore-Islamabad. Much better road, longer distance- 450 miles roughly. It takes also 8-10 hrs. Or you can go towards Faisalabad, and then get on the Motorways. Best option as far as the roads go. I have not traveled on this route; so don’t know how long and how many miles.

–Lastly, you can take the Multan-Khushab-Chakwal and Islamabad route. It’s the most scenic of all, since the road passes through the heart of Kallar Kahar national park. It’s also quite short, and depending upon the current road conditions, it may take you under ten hours to get to Islamabad. Also, highly recommended for adventurous travelers. There are various places worth stopping, and great truck hotel eateries all along the way, that cater great food :k:

As far as safety is concerned, I have taken all night trips through these routes on few occasions- leaving taxila or multan in the evening and arriving at the opposite end the next early morning.

It was very safe then, especially on the Multan-Mianwali, and Multan-Khushab routes. The roads weren’t that great, but so is the traffic, these aren’t as crazily busy as the GT road or the motorways. One should travel on one of these routes at least once in their life-times, just to appreciate the landscape of the country. It’s totally worth it :slight_smile:

20 hours for 1600 km (1000 miles)? :eek:

That means an average speed of only 80 km/h (50 mph)! Oh yeah, the speed limits in the US. :mocking:

hey thanks a lot for the replies outlaw and Akif....thanks a ton :)

I actually gave up that khayali pulao of mine :D maybe in the future sometime we'll undertake this drive :D not me though, my brother might, i'll accompany him :D

I'll keep the things you mentioned in mind though, thanks again :)

Umer bhai, :D

Irem, if you want to have the experience of your life do it, not alone though, travel in a group, have atleast 2 vehicles and at least 3 males in the group. I have done it probably more than 50 times from 93 to 97, no I am not a lorry driver but I did ride a mercedeze tractor with a trailer from goThki to badin. The best I ever did was 18 hours (2 drivers continous driving with stops for food and nature calls). If you are really serious, I can give you the whole route with good road side restaurants as I am sure I still have the diary in which I made notes. The best desi food you will ever eat will be found at these truck stop chappaR hotels.

If that is not possile try the train or a bus. Train journey is more fun and there are female bogies in the trains and it is completely safe. A lot of women travel alone on trains, you wont be the only one. Khawateen digestoN wali adhi ishquia kahaniaN train kay safer maiN hi banti hain, shayed aap ki bhi chaandi ho jaaye :p .

If you are more inclined to travel by bus, I know a completely dependable person, who drives his own bus on Karachi/pindi route (used to work for me and I gave him the qarza to buy his bus, so he treats me like a brother, I get a bori of moong phali from him every season and kamalia ki khaddar time and again for my eid shalwar qameeze suits). Very nice person, he will give you the front seat and call you baji, baji all the way to pindi :D .

Let me know in advance.

Re: Driving b/w Karachi n Islamabad

Salam Ahad Khan,
I am planning to drive my Hilux in mid of december from Karachi to Islamabad. Need you help as you mentioned in you last message for the detailed route and nice resturants on the way and any landmarks as well. That will be my first trip. someone advised me from multan take the faisalabad and then motorway, for the quickest and fastet, not sure if its true. Can you share you expereice and any usefull tips/advice for the trip. My email is [email protected] . Thanks in Advance.