*Originally posted by Rukhsarbibi: *
Nope, Junaid had a cousin who acted (or maybe still is) in dramas. I think he played Quaid in Quaid-e-Azam drama (not sure). But Humayun Saeed is not his brother.
as Rukhsar said, Humayun Saeed is not Junaid's cousin. and, Junaid's cousin is actually Shehryar Jehangir, the actor who played the Quaid in "Jinnah Say Quaid".
I don't think he's done any other plays apart from that. Apparently he prefers making music to acting.
*Originally posted by Rukhsarbibi: *
I'm with you Samby!!! The drama was pathetic and I hated it!! So damn cliched!! argh!! People watched cuz of the glitz and glamour and the fake emotions.
I didn't expect anything better from the so-called actors, writers, director of this drama.
but I will not forgive Abid Ali for stooping this low. he's gone from being a gifted and natural actor, one of Pakistan's absolute best, to just a name that sells. A case can be made against Qazi Wajid too but it was easy to see that he did his best even though he was surrounded by people who at best are nothing more than pretty faces and absolute amateurs at acting.
I repeat - of all relatively high profile dramas or ones that were heavily advertised, this is probably the worst drama ever in PTV's history.
if you look at a lot of dramas these days, they are made up of a lot of pretty faces with no storyline whatsoever! I've caught a few on ARY and they are absolutely horrible!! I've seen worse dramas than Mehndi. One a recall that was heavily advertised was Kabhi Kabhi pyar mein. What was that cr@p? I couldn't even sit thru a single episode of that one and it had names like Mahnoor Baloch and Humayun Saeed associated with it.
It is really not Abid Ali''s, Shakeel's, or Qazi Wajid's fault. The roles they are offered are that of comforting father or corrupt businessman. How many times can you do those without looking bored.
Excellent observations on the current state of dramas. The best ones are still those that are not overhyped or overbudgeted and follow the simple but interesting story lines with good acting.
just finished watching the last episode few hrs ago!
whats with the godh bharaiee rasam!! that looked like such a typical indian movie scene and since when did such events start happening in pakistan? !! woh bhi is tarha the way they showed it in this drama! uffff!! it all looked like such “show shaan”! No offense to all u ppl out there who do this kinda stuff in their families but i just thought it looked really…well…umm…cheap!!!
i still cant get over the “mehndi quiz” at the end of each episode!
the questions were soooo hilarious! couldnt stop laughing at the stupidity of them esp. the last episode one!! omg!! my brother and I laughed forever at that one!! it went something like “kia mehndi drama jaari rehna chahiye?”
My brother was like “nahi janab hum aap ke paaoun pakartey hain plz!!”
Its all good till da end! the ending is dissapointing, i loved da drama the whole way but in da end i jus hated da whole fing! so ppl its up2 u, if u wanna waste ur time n money!