Dr. M Ali Shah snatched the Flag from Shujauddin

Re: Dr. M Ali Shah snatched the Flag from Shujauddin

YOU are bringing in ethnicity in this, i was merely talking about a common practice of a political party

yar by the way, i dont find it suitable for a medical doctor being appointed as sports minister when there are lot of experienced people in managing sports and many other event managers. and this appointment was purely based on his affiliation with the party, and his action reflected the common practice of party in karachi at least, hence he was to blame. the bigger the responsibility, the more careful one should be, dr sahab itnay hee achay thay to why he joined a party with such a bad repo, and if it was only to avoid bhai tax, then it was very cheap on his part anyway.
as far as Pride of Performance and Tamgha-e-Imtiaz etc are concerned, yar recently I saw Zardari distributing several of these tamghaaz and sitaaraaz to many corrupt people like babar awan, farook naiq and even holbrooke, lets not take everything related to mqm on heart ; )

See, the flag bearer is the 'most important' athlete of a contingent and he is neither 'most important' nor athlete. The big deal is not about him wanting to come into picture but it is about snatching another person's right by force. It is shameful and we should highlight it to deter other people doing the same.

"bhai" is being used in the sense Bollywood movies use the term for thugs and mawalis who thrive on pinching other peoples' rights.

that haddiyon ka doctor is the sports minister now .. :smack:

Aceone, perhaps you don't know how long has he been involved with cricket administration in Karachi. He started and ran his own AO clinic cricket team for many many years and then has been involved with KCCA. He has a passion for cricket and used to play in his own team and spent a lot of his own money on sports. He does have a passion for sports and experienced in sports management.

He did operate on my father once and I know he is a nice fellow. Not perfect, given to self importance etc. but really a good addition to the general lot of Pakistani politicians. The speculation that he joined MQM to avoid Bhatta is without any basis. Could it be that he is really bought into the serving the masses message of MQM( right or wrong)?

Perhaps you should take your own advice and look above your opinion of MQM. He is no Altaf Hussain.

I doubt that he would have to physically wrestle the flag from Shuja and push him around. He is a minister and the head of the delegation, I am sure he simply needs to ask the athlete to give him the flag. Don't be surprised that the news reports might be spiced up a little bit for public consumption.

^ so is he the manager of cricket team? by the way, is there any cricket team in CWG???

I will call this inappropriate. National shame it would have been if he had used physical force or berated or cursed an athlete during the parade/in public. Also as I said I am sure he wouldn't have to wrestle an athlete to get the flag given that he is a minister and the head of the mission. In our culture a subordinate can't really refuse his boss's orders. The news reports must have been embellished a bit.

have you seen the news footage yourself? when the real person who was supposed to hold the flag (that is Shujauddin) tried to come to front and take the flag from dr sahab, he stopped him with hand, and did not let him come to front and lead the march.

Before you guys start jumping up and down on "haddioon ka daaaaacter" as a sports ministers, as far as I know he is a seasoned first class cricketer, owner and developer of a full scale cricket stadium and regular part of any cricket tournament in Karachi.

I think his life-long attachment to cricket and what he has done for cricket in Karachi particularly and in Sindh generally has earned him sports minister-ship and I dont think it was bad at only, only that he belonged to MQM is sort of -ive to his portfolio.

The problem with all this is that he "snatched" the flag from another top athlete who was appointed as the flag bearer long ago.. and that too when the whole world was watching! That was embarrassing for every Pakistani to say the least!

If this moron so much wanted to show himself on the front, waving our national flag, he should have given his name when the flag bearer was being decided in August or so.

Dumb A$$!

i read a blog on Dawn on this topic as well. considering that Mr. Shah is an accomplished person in his field, and by and large a respected individual, what he did seems rather surprising and even childish. his attemt at gaining probably two minutes of fame ( and a photo op) probably will turn into weeks of notoriety.

And the slide continues, there is tons of debri and damage control which is way too much to swipe under the carpets. "Sorry Pakistan"

Some one please check this guys 'doctrine Degree' or Degrees I'm pretty sure they are fake ! Hang'em High

His degrees may be fake! But since long people say about him "Apni hadian haath may lay kar jao to wo yeh bhi jor day ga". Anyway he did a very very childish thing this time.

So, who cares? Its irrelevant what he does or doesn't do. What people are talking about are his behavior at CWGs opening ceremony & that too from a minister. You don't see anything wrong with that?

This hadeeoN ka dacter is exactly what he is...despite having pretensions to and having dough to throw around, he's never played first class cricket at any level...I know this cause my dad played first class for PIA and later managed/coached PIA's team along with Hanif Mohammad, my dad had been involved with cricket in Karachi at the highest level until he moved to US in late 80s, before the pretenders/sifarshis/jiyalays/bhayas like Dr. Shah were kept away from sports/cricket inner circles...everything went downhill with the advent of jiyalaocracy in 1988...Dr. Shah even paid for his son to play for Karachi...what a travesty that was...I've been to HadeeoN kay daacter's house...he is nothing but a attention wh0re....and a prototypical non-pertinent individuals involved in given a field due to cronyism, nepotism and corruption courtesy of liberal-democratic forces of PPP and MQM...

I see everything wrong in what he did but only thing people are not talking about is the incident. they are talking about his "bhainess" his "affiliations" and other aspects including "why hadioon k dactor is a sports minister". I was merely pointing towards that.

This minister should lift the weights as well. It just makes sense. Lets make Shujauddin the sports minister.

what medals he has won or how good or bad of a doc he is or what he has done for cricket or ot done for cricket means jack
he did something absolutely idiotic and that needs to be addressed
at one time this sort of hadd haraami and dada giri was limited to their harkaar in Pakistan, sadly more and more they thing they can bring their lameness elsewhere too.

I can imagine Nadeem F Parachi writing a flaming piece if this guy sported a beard!

^^ Fasi Zaka too