Dr. Aamer Liaquat Hussain

He's an MQM supporter, and that just loses my respect right there.

^ This is a highly invalid reason to dislike a person...
Besides guys come on...i mean ...he is not that bad a person....i don't think he writes the scripts for the show...i guess the writer/director/producer should share the same blame for the show as he does...He is just the presenter of a show...& his ideas are the reflection of the writer's views...

writer/director/producer should share the same blame for the show

There nothing wrong with the show. Its just him who gets on my nerves.

Dr. Shaib is now our new minister of religious affairs...

^^ Yea, man tell me about it. He is now our religious minister. With new cabinet Ejaz-ul-Haq gone and this guy in as 'Wazir-e-Mazhabi Amour.'

He is clearly gay. As i mentioned in the other thread, he was once wearing a fishnet kameez (and god knows prolly a fishnet shalwar aswell).
and hes MQM so all the more reason for ppl from karachi to hate him.

He is now the minister of religious affairs? Its too hard to digest this news.:hoonh:

Btw, I found this info about him:

Profile of Dr. Aamer Liaquat Hussain

Dr. Aamer Liaquat Hussain, M.B.B.S, PHD, has the distinction of being GEO,s first newscaster & has subsequently became the channels leading anchor and host. He is a household name and his programme Aalim Online has completely revolutionized the concept of religious programming in the region. By placing scholars from different sects of Islam on the same panel, Aalim online has gone a long way in creating an environment of sectarian harmony.

Born on July 5th, 1971 in Karachi, Dr. Aamer Liaquat Hussain belongs to a family that has been prominent in politics. He studied medicine at the University of Sindh and while still a student excelled in debates, journalism, broadcasting & campus politics.

It was during his university days that Dr. Aamir Liaquat became an icon of the debating fraternity winning the “Best Debator of Asia” award bestowed by the International Youth Congress, United Nations. In addition he was declared “Best Debator of Pakistan” {Eight Times}, Sindh {Thrice} & Karachi, {17 times}.

His interest in journalism flowered in the nineties when he joined “The Daily Percham” as its editor. Under his stewardship the newspaper attained new heights. Dr. Aamer Liaqat worked for “Radio Asia” in the UAE, as program director and was the named best Urdu Newsreader by the Government of Ras Al Khaima, United Arab Emirates.

Prior to joining Geo as a Director, Aamer Liaqat worked in the social sectors as program manager of the Teachers Resource Centre, a well known NGO devoted to education.

Aamer has the distinction of presenting a marathon National Solidarity Program which he conducted for 14 hours without a break. This was a milestone in Pakistan’s broadcast history.

Dr. Amir has a sensitive nature and his poems reflect this side of his personality. A collection of his poetry was published under the title “Sarey Zamaney Ki Sada Hai” {My voice is the voice of times}.

His thesis on “Islam and Terrorism” earned him a doctorate from Trinity College in 2001.

Dr.Amer Liaqat was elected to the National assembly in 2002 and is a legislator of distinction.

The President of Pakistan, General Parvaiz Musharaf is a self confessed fan of Dr.Liaqat and his program Aalim Online. To quote the president

“Aalim on line is doing a great service for Islam. Dr.Aamer Liaqat is amazing. I like to watch him and hear him. He is doing a great service for Islam through Geo. I am the biggest fan of Dr. Aamer Liaqat Hussain.”

Praise indeed, from the most powerful of the land. Such fulsome praise has been showered on him by fans that are from every class, every gender and every age.

======================
Mushi is a great fan of aamir.. Lagta hai Jaisa Islam mushi ka waisa aamir ka.
:smack2:

I don't watch that program alot since my satellite has signal problems with Geo; but from what I have seen of it he really does overreact at times and I'm so glad he doesn't recite Naats anymore! That was plain ole torture!

actually i dint like this guy that much before but ive been watching him recently and i think he’s quite good…

his style of praying in the end is a bit dramaayi but i think he’s not bad…

i cant believe im saying this but i actually enjoy watching that show and if he wasnt hosting it it might have been dry?

my khala is the one who brainwashed me into liking his show yaar :smack:

aaye suntay haiN, samajhtay haiN and dekhtay haiN which couplet of Iqbal evokes in my mind whenever I see this mullah on TV....

sufi ki tareeqat maiN faqat masti-e-ehwaal
mullah ki shariyat maiN faqat masti-e-goftaar

how lovely and how true...

Did anybody catch him this morning (sehri time, North America) on Geo's Iftar Transmission show? Some woman called in from New York and was praising him to the point where she broke down crying. He was just like, "o.k. what's your question?" and she kept going on and on. It was amusing.

Oh gosh…you guys are sooooooo funny.. :rotfl:
I thought he was weird also. I just got GEO recently and I was thinking to myself what a charactre he is ! I find his way of prounouncing arabic so interesting. Especially when he stresses on his arabic words. Like he’s so good at them ! :slight_smile:

Anyways, I am shocked to see so many of you dislike him.

I will remember you all while watching the sehri transmission :slight_smile:

Also, I noticed that some people call in with the most dumbest questions !!! This one woman called and said that if one shakes their keys, they are going to end up having a fight with someone, so she asked, is this islamic or not ? The ullema were then asked to respond to that question. They said their was no such refrence to it in the quran and hadith !!!???????

i just read his profile posted by Islamabd on the last page and wow! this guy is talented. i used to hate him and kind of wished to slap him for his overly made up fakish behaviour, but after a while i dont hate him that much. everyone who just starts to see him gets annoyed and for good reason :smiley: but he IS doing good service to Islam. i mean who the hell ever wanted to listen to what maulivis kept saying all day long on diff TV channels…and who ever knew how little conflicts there are between diff sects. cause of him, though at first reluctantly, everyone has started listening to the mullahs and credit goes to him for bringing in the most learned and nice maulvis and conducting the prog in a very nice manner. but his naats still give me the creeps :smack: and maybe he is a bit annyoing as he is diff.. he’s too young and he talks with such confidence on such a touchy topic; religion and has so much knowledge and the way he talks it seems he’s some old old ancient buzurg…that kills everyone i think! :smiley:

he is rite now on TV :smack: :smiley:

i think i appreciate him more every time i watch his program…i am beginning to turn into his fan :eek:

ye kya ho rha hae :smack2:

today a little girl called up and she was sooo cute she was like aap sehri aur iftari k waqt toh tv pe hotay haen phir aap sehri aur iftari kab kartay haen??? :hehe: cuuuteee :hug:

Mehnaz i think he just gets shy about the praise and then he doesnt know how to respond to girls or even guys sometimes being all mushy and prasiy to him u know thats why he just asks ‘so whats the question’ :smiley:

like today this girl called and said “Aamer bhai aap mujhay bohotttttt achay lagtay haen” :smiley: poor dude prolly got all embarrassed inside so he jus deflected the topic :smiley:

Irem we have to save you!!! :smiley:

So what did he say? when does he break his fast? :slight_smile:

Apart from his knowledge and everything he's just fake. I can't even watch that program chain se coz he's there to make me laugh at most of his expressions, that too, fake ones. Extremely fake. Gosh, these geo people have to change the hosts of Aik Din Geo Ke Saath and Alim Online.

^ They never will Des. I like the lady who hosts Uljhan Suljhan. She seems so 'suljhi hui' :D