you are still against mush Mr Xtreme. he just declared that he is open to discuss issues but Pakistan would not submit anything to IAEA or UN. If not, can you name someone else who could've done this and saved Pakistan?
Actually you read my remark wrong. If Mushy is America's man and the western world is behind him, we have a far better chance of pushing the country forward. It's not ideal, he is a a dictator, but he's a pretty good one as far as they go with the right ideas.
*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
Did you guys listen to Mushraff this morning? (Maybe I was listening to a recording) He sounded really mad, and tried to clear up the names ... but some of the key details he missed; like why did the army didn't know about the leaks?
Yeah. He was also angry at the country's journalists for trying to talk about Army role.
I think the deal has been closed with Uncle and Gen.Sahib wants the truth to be suppressed.
My dad used to tell me that similar thing happened after the 1965 Tashkent agreement with India, when Gen.Ayub desperately tried to prevent the details of the agreement to come out.
Yeah. He was also angry at the country's journalists for trying to talk about Army role.
I think the deal has been closed with Uncle and Gen.Sahib wants the truth to be suppressed.
My dad used to tell me that similar thing happened after the 1965 Tashkent agreement with India, when Gen.Ayub desperately tried to prevent the details of the agreement to come out.
Some things never change in Pakistan, do they.
I dont think you watched all of his press conference. otherwise you'd know the reason behind his demands. And he wasn't only trying to protect the Army but the civilian govts too.
I agree with the Washington Post article that Pakistan(Mush)
must allow International authorities to monitor the Pak N
activities. I am not saying that they should roll back.
But yes there must be some sort of Intl control.
Absolutely spot on. It was these so-called Muslim countries that ratted on Pakistan, not North Korea or other non-Muslim countries, yet somehow the supporters of extremists and looters don't want to even address that point. Why?
Yes, we have a few people here (supported by Indian's) very angry not just at the skillful mastery of the Musharraf government in getting us out of this crisis, but also the fact that almost every prediction they have made in this thread has proven to be dead wrong. Such people were quite happily quoting anti-Pakistani articles from an array of mainly western sources (and they are still desperately doing it), and believing the lies being told in those papers. One can start quoting such posts, just to prove how wrong those predictions were...but why make it harder for them?
Abdul Qadeer Khan said it all his national address yesterday, trashing all the lies they have been promoting throughout this thread. If they are not satisified by that and what he has publicly said, and heed the advice he gave to all Pakistani people, then what can one do, but pray for them? :)
Hell no. No nation will comproise the control over its nuclear assests to an organization that is defunct and a waste of money. The IAEA has no right to even inspect our assets. We didnt sign the NPT or the CTBT. I dont see how the IAEA even has international legal jurisdiction.
Fraudia there is no standard control. Each country has its own standard and has to allow the IAEA in. The IAEA cant force its way in. If it could they should be checking Israeli nukes.
He bowed to American pressure. So be it. The father of our Nuke program is a free man. All ends well in my opinion.
Though i still say some Iranis and Libyans should pay the ultimate price for back-stabbing us.
*Originally posted by rehman1: *
I agree with the Washington Post article that Pakistan(Mush)
must allow International authorities to monitor the Pak N
activities. I am not saying that they should roll back.
But yes there must be some sort of Intl control.
wtf r u talking about? no way are we going to allow any foriegners to inspect our nukes. Period.
*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
I dont know if all of this was pre-planned but as I see it Pakistan govt. has played its cards very well. They've not only managed to secure Qadeer's future (A house in posh Isb sector with all facilities for the rest of his life is pretty much guranteed, since the cabinet is more than likely going to pardon Dr.Khan) but also they can say to world that they have throughly investigated the whole case, and taken it to its conclusion.
I second your observation. Dr. Khan is publicly pardoned and that is a BIG statement for the western world as well as for the internal idiots. Now Al beradi and his flock can say whatever they please but musharraf can say yes we have found the proof of leaks. Thats it.
His press conference was very impressive. He praised ZA bhutto for starting the program as well as mentioned that his daughter tried to roll it back.
CM, I think the Iranians are more to blame since they allowed the IAEA to inspect their facilities and failed to hide critical facts. I would really like to see their official reaction to this, they should be sorry for this episode. Where as the whole Libyan deal was exposed last November when one of the ships “with the material” got caught. Other wise they had it hidden for all these years.
It’s a sad ordeal for muslims and Pakistan, May Allah guide us through these difficult times.
aagay aagay daikhya hota hay kya... when would we have thought that AQ Khan of all people would be dragged through the press like this? fired from his job, confined to his house and stripped of his dignity in one fell swoop..
Well it did happen.. and everyone's beloved Musharraf is the one who did it.. If you still think the international agencies wouldn't be all over our nuclear facilities then PM me your dealer's pager please..
Originally posted by CM: *
**Fraudia there is no standard control. Each country has its own standard and has to allow the IAEA in. The IAEA cant force its way in. If it could they should be checking Israeli nukes.*
exactly.. and therefore, no to inspections on pakistani sites either.
Though i still say some Iranis and Libyans should pay the ultimate price for back-stabbing us. **
well by doing so they may have tried to shift the focus away from them, but theyhave other things to worry about.
PA willing to bet on it? The CE wont let the IAEA in. If he does it means an open revolt.
i will agree with that. He is a very sharp guy, knows the mood of the public so he will make sure that doesnt happen. Otherwis publick pressure will be too much too handle for him. He solved this AQ issue in the best way possible though.
The best part was where he lambasted the Iranians and Libyans. I wasn’t really expecting that in a Press Conference. The part where he said “those whom you (religious parties?) like to quote are on their knees, go take a look.” was classic.
The funny part was when he mentioned the Libyan program and said “Pakistani wahan per bhi…hazir hain janaab!”
Iranians gotta pay for this though. I hope we get them, and get them bad. No love for them.
*Originally posted by shawaiz: *
Musharraf has become godfather of Pakistan. It is up to him whether he pardons a criminal, expatriates him or puts him into jail. In this way the dictators restore democracy.
It is irrelvant here whether Musharraf is a dictor or not. Every Ruler would have faced a dilemma regarding AQ khan and IMHO no one could have come out with a better solution.
yeah these MMA and ‘ummah ummah’ ppl should realize that AQ khan did his job for the ummah and IRan and Libya sold him out. now it was upto govt to save Dr Kahn’s neck in face of damning evidence.
Saying that the international community will forgive and forget is wishful thinking. They might forget for a little while but whenever they need to bring it up, making up a case against Pakistan, they will not hesitate.
Also, the case is not closed because some of the key details are still not clear:
1) What was the tech/knowledge leaked? There are speculations but no concrete proof.
2) When was it leaked (it's said in the 10 year period but that's vague)
3) How much did these countries paid for it? And did they do business with anyone else? Especially, some of the European countries that were named in earlier reports?
4) What will happen to all that money? Will they freeze the assets of AQ Khan & others?
5) How can the Pakistani Govt. assure the international community that it won’t happen again and will they buy it?
Or agar knowledge phailanay ka shoq tha tou kisi or state ko day daitay, South Americans, or maybe some European countries ko. Why pick the controversial states like Iran, Libya and N. Korea?
i will agree with that. He is a very sharp guy, knows the mood of the public so he will make sure that doesnt happen. Otherwis publick pressure will be too much too handle for him. He solved this AQ issue in the best way possible though.
Yeah right.........National hero ko TV per zaleel karna is it
the "handling the situation in best way".